No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill End Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chagford , Dartmoor National Park, TQ13 8JN
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth for which the Mill End Hotel and Restaurant is renowned.

Perched on the banks of the majestic River Teign, on the outskirts of the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford, Mill End is a perfect country hotel for a break on Dartmoor. Miles of local walks, great fishing right outside, and the spectacular high moors just a short drive away. The cathedral city of Exeter is less than 25 minutes away, and Devon's coasts are also within easy reach.

Relax with a cream tea in the hotel's spacious gardens, or put your feet up in front of a crackling log fire. Perfect peace and relaxation.

The hotel's restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and evening meals. In the evening, the hotel offers a flexible and well-priced menu - everything from a simple (but excellent) steak to a full three-course meal. Either way, the emphasis is on local, seasonal produce, prepared with care and presented with care.

The hotel offers free parking right outside, and complimentary wi-fi in most of the public areas (also available in some rooms).

Dogs are welcome at Mill End, and a small charge of £8 per dog, per night, applies.

Picture of Mill End Hotel, Dartmoor National Park at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not up to usual standards
Having stayed at this lovely hotel many times Before I found the standards have dropped. The usual complimentary canapés were not available and having to pay for bread with the first course I find astonishing at such an establishment. There are many other such hotels that do not do this. I was very disappointed.

Reviewed by
S Harper

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Delightful!
This is excellent Hotel with Great Service, others hotels can only learn from them :) Clean room, large bed, spotless bathroom, lovely décor. Very impressed with service in the restaurant ! Very professional. Breakfast to die for :) Superb !

Reviewed by
Dagmara T

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Dartmoor Foodie retreat
Mill End House is a lovely country hotel. Excellent dinner and good value. My only complaint was the poor shower in the en-suite bathroom.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mill End.The service we got was fantastic wonderful food and nothing too much trouble .One of the most relaxing hotels we have stayed at .Would certainly recommend to any one thinking of going there

Reviewed by
KEITH U

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

September 2013
Delightful location and thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
K Littlefair

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing atmosphere. Excellent, spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast menu, but 'standard' dinner menu - a fairly good choice, but no daily variation

Reviewed by
James H

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing weekend break
We loved Mill End, it was quiet and relaxing and the restaurant was outstanding for dinner. Service was excellent in all areas. Our only concern was the slight dampness that we experienced in both rooms we had taken for the stay, it didn't really have a negative impact on the weekend but was still something of note. Otherwise, very nice. The common lounge area was really enjoyable and we spent a lot of time in the there, not our usual thing!

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, relaxed stay
Lovely place with great service and friendly welcome. Great food and beautiful gardens - very peaceful.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tranquil spot
Beautiful setting right on the river with walks to do straight from the doorstep! Our room was lovely, very spacious bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic. Would be nice to be shown to your table or have a sign saying please seat yourself, as we were not sure what to do. Staff we very welcoming and we were shown to our room on arrival which was nice. All in all a very relaxing break!

Reviewed by
Rachael B

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Hotel
Very friendly and professional staff, a comfortable room and a lovely garden. The dinner menu was modest, quite well presented but not particularly good value or extra special. Breakfast was fine and there were particularly delicious croissants. The location is beautiful and reasonably peaceful, despite the Hotel's proximity to a busy country road.

Reviewed by
Angela B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next