Reviews - Potters Mooring Hotel


30 The Green, Shaldon,, Teignmouth, TQ14 0DN

Price From 157.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (14)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Bridget H

  • September 2015

A super place to stay in Shaldon.

We stayed for a couple of nights to take some nostalgic walks around the area of my husband's youth.

Potters Mooring was a superb base, very comfortable with excellent breakfasts and lovely hosts. The weather was fantastic and it was great to take the ferry across to Teignmouth and leave the car behind. Would recommend The London Inn and The Ferry Boat Inn for evening meals especially for their fish dishes.

  • Sue F

  • June 2015

Slightly old-fashioned

This B & B enjoys a stunning location on a quintessentially English village green, with a lovely pub next door.

it is a family business and they were all really kind and attentive. I feel what I am about to say next might be a bit mean as my comments are purely subjective and we all have different tastes, but the cottage we stayed in seemed to be in a bit of a time warp, with overly-fussy furnishings and ornaments, and a huge amount of space wasted on vast wardrobes, whilst the bathroom was tiny. There was an empty TV bracket on the bedroom wall, which seemed a bit mean, and the downstairs sofa had a tatty throw on it, which was slightly offensive - guests paying this kind of money are not normally dirty. It could so easily have been fabulous, and at £120 for the night I was hoping to be 'wowed'. I would stay here again but would try another room or aim to source a cheaper price.

  • s jeffries

  • April 2015

we stayed for the weekend, hosts were brilliant, food was excellent, nothing would have been too much trouble.

  • phil g

  • April 2015

Potters Mooring

We have stayed here before and intend to do so in the future.

It is a very well appointed and spotlessly clean comfortable hotel in a lovely location with nice owners.

  • Kath Maguire

  • April 2015


Would say again at the drop of a hat!

  • S Collyer

  • March 2015

Fantastic Value for Money

I booked the room at Potters Mooring as I was working in the area.

The hotel is tucked away in a very pretty area and the parking on the forecourt was snug as the hotel was full. I hadn't expected too much as I was only paying £45 for a room and breakfast but what a surprise I had. There was a warm welcome and a lovely clean and spacious room and en-suite bathroom. There was also the special touch of providing fresh milk for tea in the room. Luckily, there is a great pub next door serving beautiful food and, as a woman travelling alone, it was great not having to walk strange streets at night to find somewhere to eat and to find my way back to the hotel afterwards. I enjoyed a really comfortable night's sleep and got down to breakfast at 8 the next morning. Again, service was warm and friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again next time I am working in this area and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • john irving

  • January 2015

What a lovely place!

We quite often visit Dawlish to see family and have stayed at other B&B's in the area.But after discovering the Potters Mooring,we will definitely be staying there again.

We received a warm welcome on arrival,the rooms were lovely and comfortable and spotlessly clean.And the breakfasts were very tasty and filling.... Top marks all round.

  • Richard Moore

  • December 2014

Excellent and friendly

A wonderfully friendly, clean, warm, stay was enjoyed by my wife and me.

Thoroughly recommended

  • Sonia H

  • November 2014

A Nautical Gem

This was to be my first step on a journey of discovery.

I plan to relocate from the Cotswolds with my business. I arrived early at Potters Mooring and hoped I might park my car and go for a coastal walk after the long journey. However, I was greeted by Bob who welcomed me to the hotel and assured me that since my room was ready, I could unload the car and make myself at home. My room was extremely comfortable and a mini home-from-home. Bob recommended The London Inn and my supper there, despite being alone, was a great experience. The food delicious and value for money and the locals are friendly and chatty. Breakfast at Potters Mooring was also delicious and the other guests and I were all well looked after. Shaldon is a beautiful little village and the walks along the estuary path and the beach were wonderful. Now, to win the lottery.

  • D Lincoln

  • July 2014


A lovely little place to stay.