No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crossways Tavern

3Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Station Road, Hele,, Exeter, EX5 4PW
The newly refurbished Crossways Tavern is a traditional Devonshire Inn which now boasts two self contained letting units, a double and a twin. They individually designed to a high specification, each unit has a bedroom with en-suite, a separate lounge with sofa bed, free sat LCD tv and kitchen area incorporating a fridge, microwave. They are available for one or more nights or for holiday rent. Only seven miles from Exeter Airport with a reliable local taxi service.
The Crossways caters for its customers and guests with food, drink and entertainment. You are ensured a very warm welcome, whether you want a quiet drink and a game of pool or a function for up to 150 people with ample car parking. A real fire and a comfortable seat in the friendly atmosphere of a local Devon pub. What more could you want!

Picture of Crossways Tavern, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accomadation
The accommodation was great an Sheila was great. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Stephen Read

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice little apartment, very nice welcome!
Originally I was concerned by the location, but it is very well soundproofed and you don't hear the noise from the road.
The apartment has everything you need and the bedding is very comfortable. The owner is very friendly as well.

Reviewed by
Nicole HU-DARMOIS

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
The owner was very welcoming and had got us some milk to go with the tea, coffee and sugar provided. The apartment was tidy and had everything we needed, including an iron and ironing board which was a godsend after travelling for 6 hours! My only slight niggle was the bed had a plastic backed mattress cover which crackled each time we moved and was very hot - just not to my personal taste, but I realise people often are not very careful in bed so it was obviously considered necessary It was a warm couple of days and the ceiling fans were great to cool us down. On leaving I locked up then realised I left my coat behind the door. I had to ring the owner and drag her back from her intended plans for the day. I felt awful, but she was brilliant and drove back to open up for me. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
E Howe

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal ??
On first impressions you think oh no, but when inside it is a perfect little apartment

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crossways Tavern
The Crossways Tavern is located 15 mins to Exeter by car between the M5 and mainline railway which you only know are there when you open the windows. Clean, well-presented contemporary accommodation at excellent value and the hostess was very friendly too. Very good afternoon/evening meals are available at the popular Merry Harriers which is a 5 minute drive away but best book at busy times of the year - would go back there again in the future

Reviewed by
Giovanna Trani-brown

From Hadlow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money!
Crossways Tavern is great for families with teenagers visiting the University. It is ideal that it has kitchen facilities for a growing lad who eats all the time! The location is near a motorway but you don't really notice it. We had a pleasant walk into the village and the owner recommended places to eat - we ate at the Red Lion at Broadclyst which was excellent! The room was extremely spacious but unfortunately there were a lot of black dog hairs, which for dog lovers like us wasn't a great problem but for those who don't have dogs it might be. We still really liked this accommodation and would definitely stay here again. The WiFi had excellent reception.

Reviewed by
K Hanson

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for exploring
We stayed at The Crossways Tavern for 3 nights whilst visiting friends in the area. Sheila was there to meet us and made us aware that if we needed anything to just contact her at the pub next door. I was initially concerned about potential noise from the road and the train line, however the rooms were well soundproofed and the pub was very quiet. The only downside for us was the uncomfortable sofa bed in the lounge area which we had to use as our children were sleeping in the twin beds. Overall a pleasent stay.

Reviewed by
Emma Sillett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Nice accomodation and really suitable for families. Clean and tidy and good facilities. Sheila kindly gave us some fresh milk too which was a thoughtful touch. Would recommend this place for families.

Reviewed by
N Hanagarth

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good room, good price, unique location

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We need more places like Crossways
The apartments have been converted beautifully and provided just the right accommodation for the three of us for an overnight stay. Although near a level crossing and not far from the M5 we were not aware of noise from them. We stayed with our teenage son, on a visit to the University, and the apartment suited us just fine.
Shelia was very welcoming and the communication with her prior to arrival was excellent. She recommended us to a good local restaurant . The kitchenette was well appointed with plenty of crockery, toaster, microwave plus the little things like tea towel, washing up liquid. We liked the independence of not having breakfast provided and being able to suit ourselves .
Shelia's route to the Park and RIde were spot on!
.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next