No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crossways Tavern

3Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Station Road, Hele,, Exeter, EX5 4PW
The newly refurbished Crossways Tavern is a traditional Devonshire Inn which now boasts two self contained letting units, a double and a twin. They individually designed to a high specification, each unit has a bedroom with en-suite, a separate lounge with sofa bed, free sat LCD tv and kitchen area incorporating a fridge, microwave. They are available for one or more nights or for holiday rent. Only seven miles from Exeter Airport with a reliable local taxi service.
The Crossways caters for its customers and guests with food, drink and entertainment. You are ensured a very warm welcome, whether you want a quiet drink and a game of pool or a function for up to 150 people with ample car parking. A real fire and a comfortable seat in the friendly atmosphere of a local Devon pub. What more could you want!

Picture of Crossways Tavern, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay.
The apartment was clean, newly refurbished and well equipped. The friendly owner put a pint of milk in the fridge and there was tea and coffee supplied.Although the tv didn't seem to work at first the owner was quick to sort the problem out. It was chilly when we arrived but the heating soon warmed the place up. The sofa bed was a great idea for the kids. Our single bed mattresses were far to soft for us but each to his own. All the bed linen was clean and more than adequate. The tea towel supplied did have a fresh 'curry' residue on it but I'm sure the owner would have given us a new one if we had complained. Our only issue, which the owner couldn't have done anything about , was the fact that the apartment was dead opposite an industrial unit. Therefore there were lorries reversing in and out from quite early in the morning.

Reviewed by
Sally F

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two separate rooms and food on site. Good find!
We stayed here in mid May. Lovely 'apartment', with two separate sleeping areas (twin rooms in actual bedroom and a double sofa bed in the lounge).
It was great finding a place with 2 separate rooms so that, in theory, we could put our 2 young boys (aged 5 and 2) to bed and then have some adult time watching telly next door. There were a couple of small issues though that meant that didn't happen: the blinds on the windows were very, very thin and so didn't block out much light at all. There was no curtain rail either and so it wasn't possible to just drape towels over, as we have sometimes done before. If you are going to stay with young children, take a blackout blind....! Also, the en suite bathroom had quite a strong mould/mildew smell coming from it which my 5yr old kept complaining about! It seemed perfectly clean though.
Sheila was lovely though, as per all the reviews I had read. She was very welcoming, very aware of our need to settle the kids quickly, and brought food and wine from the bar into our apartment so that we could stay with the kids. There was a pint of milk ready in the fridge when we got there and the apartment had all the little things that help when you stay with kids (washing up liquid, tea making stuff, and salt/pepper etc).
I would stay here again, but I would take a blackout blind next time!!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice little gem
we stayed for one night over Easter to break the journey .The crossways tavern was located just off the M5 on the village edge ,there was no road noise.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean. Was useful having a separate room ,The Futon bed in the lounge was ready made on arrival, Sheila could not have been more helpful.being a good friday the food at the Pub was a limited basic menu but it did the job.
ideal place fora drop over one night stop when journeying south.
would recommend.

Reviewed by
philip b

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does what it says on the tin
clean and practical one night stop over

Reviewed by
G Lee

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean,friendly and Comfortable
Room was more like a flat than a hotel room with a complete kitchen etc so saved money by feeding ourselves. Room was bright and clean, next to the pub but the pub was quiet anyway. The locals were quite friendly in the pub as well. Hassle free stay I would recomend.

Reviewed by
Harry B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Value
Crossways Tavern has two beautiful, self contained apartments. Sitting room with large flat screen tv, Dining table, sofa [which converts into a further double bed] and kitchen etc. Beautiful, cosy, bedroom and modern, spotless, ensuite.
The place is beautifully warm and although near the motorway there is no real problem with traffic.
Absolutely perfect for a one or two night stopover and for anyone on business in Exeter and the Westpoint Exhibition Centre.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Perranporth, England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a stop over
Nice clean spacious apartments. Ideal for a stop over on the way somewhere.

Reviewed by
S Rivers

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Denota impegno da parte della cordialissima proprietaria
Piccolo caseggiato diviso in tre miniappartamenti, con cucina, camera da letto e bagno. Denota molto impegno e attenzione nell'arredamento, sembrava appena rifatto, imbiancato bene. La cucina era nuova, con diversi elettrodomestici, forno a microonde, tostapane, frigo, bollitore e stoviglie. Abbiamo trovato tutto l'occorrente per il tè (e la signora ci ha lasciato anche il latte in frigo nonostante la colazione non fosse inclusa) e le brochures del luogo. Inoltre la proprietaria è stata molto attenta a lasciarci particolarità come tovagliette e sottobicchieri.
L'appartamento si raggiunge solo in macchina, vicino passa il treno (ma non si sente).
Per la cena la signora ci ha consigliato un pub a 3 km (The Merry Harriers consigliato da Trip Advisor) dove ci hanno riaperto la cucina e abbiamo mangiato benissimo.
Unica nota negativa (soprattutto per noi italiani!) era la cura di alcuni dettagli, ossia la pulizia nel dettaglio (esempio il tappeto) e il fatto che pur avendo chiesto una tripla si trattava di una doppia con divano letto in cucina.

Reviewed by
Giovanni Michele S

From Italy
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4