Reviews - Crossways Tavern


Station Road, Hele,, Exeter, EX5 4PW

Price From 150.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (30)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris W

  • May 2014


Good room, good price, unique location

  • K Hanson

  • May 2014

Great Value for Money!

Crossways Tavern is great for families with teenagers visiting the University.

It is ideal that it has kitchen facilities for a growing lad who eats all the time. The location is near a motorway but you don't really notice it. We had a pleasant walk into the village and the owner recommended places to eat - we ate at the Red Lion at Broadclyst which was excellent. The room was extremely spacious but unfortunately there were a lot of black dog hairs, which for dog lovers like us wasn't a great problem but for those who don't have dogs it might be. We still really liked this accommodation and would definitely stay here again. The WiFi had excellent reception.

  • N Hanagarth

  • April 2014

Lovely stay

Nice accomodation and really suitable for families.

Clean and tidy and good facilities. Sheila kindly gave us some fresh milk too which was a thoughtful touch. Would recommend this place for families.

  • Emma Sillett

  • April 2014

Good base for exploring

We stayed at The Crossways Tavern for 3 nights whilst visiting friends in the area.

Sheila was there to meet us and made us aware that if we needed anything to just contact her at the pub next door. I was initially concerned about potential noise from the road and the train line, however the rooms were well soundproofed and the pub was very quiet. The only downside for us was the uncomfortable sofa bed in the lounge area which we had to use as our children were sleeping in the twin beds. Overall a pleasent stay.

  • Margaret W

  • March 2014

We need more places like Crossways

The apartments have been converted beautifully and provided just the right accommodation for the three of us for an overnight stay.

Although near a level crossing and not far from the M5 we were not aware of noise from them. We stayed with our teenage son, on a visit to the University, and the apartment suited us just fine.

Shelia was very welcoming and the communication with her prior to arrival was excellent. She recommended us to a good local restaurant . The kitchenette was well appointed with plenty of crockery, toaster, microwave plus the little things like tea towel, washing up liquid. We liked the independence of not having breakfast provided and being able to suit ourselves .

Shelia's route to the Park and RIde were spot on. .

  • S Evans

  • February 2014

Excellent value

We only stayed with Crossways for one evening, but the value for money was great.

We arrived in the evening to milk in the fridge, tea and coffee and the heating cranked up to keep us all toastie. We also went for a drink next door in the pub where the children could also have gone if they wished to. As they are older and the room was literally next door we could happily leave them to watch tv. Very friendly staff and excellent communications with Shiela. Thanks for a lovely night, would definately use this accomodation again.


  • December 2013

very good

The accommodation was excellent for a base for our family, whilst visiting our son at the local Marines Training Centre.

It gave us the freedom we needed. Would definitely use again. It was warm, welcoming and good value. The lady that owes it , was very friendly and even put some milk in the fridge. Lovely bathroom and nice clean fluffy towels,

  • Oliver Monk

  • October 2013

Commando Challenge 2013 guests

Me and my two mates needed something nice and simple to get a good nights sleep before we attempted the Royal Marines Commando Challenge in Devon.

The little apartment style accomodation was perfect for us - even a mini kitchen area for us to have some hot rations. There was a double bed and a sofa bed that could easily sleep two as well. The owner unfortunately had to head in to hospital so wasn't able to meet us in person, but this was not a problem as they phoned me the night before and passed on all required information. I was very pleased with this as it shows the owner cares about their guests, so thank you very much!