No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crossways Tavern

3Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Station Road, Hele,, Exeter, EX5 4PW
The newly refurbished Crossways Tavern is a traditional Devonshire Inn which now boasts two self contained letting units, a double and a twin. They individually designed to a high specification, each unit has a bedroom with en-suite, a separate lounge with sofa bed, free sat LCD tv and kitchen area incorporating a fridge, microwave. They are available for one or more nights or for holiday rent. Only seven miles from Exeter Airport with a reliable local taxi service.
The Crossways caters for its customers and guests with food, drink and entertainment. You are ensured a very warm welcome, whether you want a quiet drink and a game of pool or a function for up to 150 people with ample car parking. A real fire and a comfortable seat in the friendly atmosphere of a local Devon pub. What more could you want!

Picture of Crossways Tavern, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
The accommodation was excellent for a base for our family, whilst visiting our son at the local Marines Training Centre. It gave us the freedom we needed. Would definitely use again. It was warm, welcoming and good value. The lady that owes it , was very friendly and even put some milk in the fridge. Lovely bathroom and nice clean fluffy towels,

Reviewed by
S WORLEY

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Commando Challenge 2013 guests
Me and my two mates needed something nice and simple to get a good nights sleep before we attempted the Royal Marines Commando Challenge in Devon. The little apartment style accomodation was perfect for us - even a mini kitchen area for us to have some hot rations! There was a double bed and a sofa bed that could easily sleep two as well. The owner unfortunately had to head in to hospital so wasn't able to meet us in person, but this was not a problem as they phoned me the night before and passed on all required information. I was very pleased with this as it shows the owner cares about their guests, so thank you very much!

Reviewed by
Oliver Monk

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely roomy accommodation great value for money, Sheila the owner is very friendly and welcoming
We will be booking again

Reviewed by
Lynda Lockyear

From Frome somerset, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly owner and facilities to make breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
M Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great base to explore Devon
We had a lovely stay at Crossways Tavern. It is a perfect base for visiting Devon, but you would have to drive if in need of anything as it is quite isolated! We had a meal at the Red Lion Pub in the village of Broadclyst which is 10 minutes away 2 nights in a row as the food is superb!!!
We would definitely stay at Crossways again, Sheila the owner made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Joanne A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heating
We found it to be very hot, even with the fans on. Everythig else was great. Would stay again!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth T

From West sussex, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stop over!
We booked the Crossways Tavern as a stop over point on our way to Cornwall to break the journey up for the children. Sheila the owner was very welcoming and could not do enough for us, would thoroughly recommend and will certainly stay again. Thanks Sheila x

Reviewed by
Louise Orton

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice and friendly

Reviewed by
peggy lewis

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern, clean apartment. Great location for stop-over to Cornwall
Modern,clean apartment. Great location for stop-over on way to Cornwall. Service was extra special and friendly - we arrived late and sofa bed was made up for little boy and pint of milk provided.

Reviewed by
Mike Baker

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay.
The apartment was clean, newly refurbished and well equipped. The friendly owner put a pint of milk in the fridge and there was tea and coffee supplied.Although the tv didn't seem to work at first the owner was quick to sort the problem out. It was chilly when we arrived but the heating soon warmed the place up. The sofa bed was a great idea for the kids. Our single bed mattresses were far to soft for us but each to his own. All the bed linen was clean and more than adequate. The tea towel supplied did have a fresh 'curry' residue on it but I'm sure the owner would have given us a new one if we had complained. Our only issue, which the owner couldn't have done anything about , was the fact that the apartment was dead opposite an industrial unit. Therefore there were lorries reversing in and out from quite early in the morning.

Reviewed by
Sally F

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next