Reviews - The Pack Horse


The Pack Horse, 1 Plymouth Road,, South Brent, TQ10 9BH

Price From 135.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen W

  • August 2015

The Pack Horse

This was our 2nd stay at The Pack Horse and we had the same room as last year which as a lovely view of the Dartmoor hills, Room was spacious and clean, a good variety of cereals and fresh fruit was available for breakfast, and the full English was excellent.

Thanks to the proprietor's for another very enjoyable stay.

  • Denise Taylor

  • May 2015

Lovely friendly place to stay.

Great service on arrival, bags taken to my room.

Lovely room, bright and clean. Dinner was good and was served promptly. Locals friendly and enjoyed a bit of banter with them. Had a great sleep experience, top quality linen on beds. Good breakfast too, would stay again if working in the area.

  • Eleanor L

  • February 2015

Nice Room, odd food

We had a very nice stay at the Pack Horse, lovely room, friendly staff but unfortunately the food was a little poor.

Edible and an effort was made but standard pub grub at best. The culinary technique is obviously there but maybe reduce the quantity of the menu options and concentrate on produce and a few great options. Room was lovely though, well cleaned and loads of tea coffee etc. I'd stay again of food was improved.

  • julie futcher

  • January 2015

Overnight stay after a Tango new year party

The room in this 18th century Inn was very warm and welcoming with a lovely comfortable bed.

The bathroom was as warm as toast which, on a December night, is a major plus. As it was new years eve when we stayed, we weren't given a strict time for breakfast and ambled downstairs when we were ready to a lovely full English. I am happy to say that I think we have found somewhere that we will use in the future when we travel up from Cornwall to dance events in the area.

  • K Gubb

  • November 2014

Lovely stay, would definitely recommend

We booked last minute and we were only there for one night, but we would stay again if we are in the area.

We had travelled for 4 hours to get there and were tired and hungry. We were looked after brilliantly and the food was lovely. It was especially good to sit with our drinks next to the roaring fire. The room was perhaps a little dated but we weren't at all bothered. It was clean and very comfortable. I could have stayed in bed all day it was so comfy. The breakfast was very good and we definitely felt the whole stay was brilliant value for money.

  • T Ashman-Halpin

  • November 2014

Thank you chef!

I was travelling alone and sat by the fire in the bar working which was really comfortable.

Room was very good value for money, clean with extra finishing touches for added luxury. The chef really stood out, he was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble at breakfast. Highly recommend staying here

  • S Baldwin

  • September 2014

Excellent Hosts

We stayed just a few days and had a great experience - the rooms were clean and well kept and the hosts were all friendly and extremely helpful - food was excellent - we would stay again.

  • J Rye

  • September 2014

Very friendly

We were greeted by a warm welcome, a good spacious bedroom with lovely furnishings.

Pleasant surroundings, enjoyable stay.

  • Les R

  • August 2014

Devon Cream

Excellent hotel, great food

  • Janet H

  • August 2014

The room was big and clean with comfortable beds.

The people were friendly. Breakfast was excellent.