No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wookey Hole Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WOOKEY HOLE CAVES, WOOKEY HOLE , WELLS, BA5 1BB

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..!

Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection, An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment.

All 58 newly appointed/equipped bedrooms have been designed and fitted to a high standard, keeping the needs of our guests as the main focus. Double/Twin Rooms, Family Rooms, Superior Family Rooms, Luxury Family Rooms, VIP Tower Suite. What’s Included: A 22” Flat Screen LCD TV / DVD, FREE DVD Library, FREE WI-FI Internet Access, Telephone, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer, En-Suite Bathroom with Bath and Shower, Adjoining rooms available – separate charges will apply, Travel cots available on request, Local photographers work on display, 24 hour Reception Service, Key Card access, Disabled Rooms.
Picture of Wookey Hole Hotel, WELLS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great !!
Loved the hotel. Only stayed for 1 night. Me and partner were happy and so we're the children especially cause they got to rent sponge bob for the night.
didn't think much of the captains jack restaurant

Reviewed by
K Crombie

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel would be perfect for a family with young children, but our girls are a little old for the whole witch theme - they're 11 and 14. The room (which was a premium room) was cramped for a family of four travelling for three weeks and therefore with a substantial amount of luggage. The room was, however, clean and perfectly servicable for a one-night stay to break up the drive between Penzance and Cheltenham, and a good location for accessing the medieval town of Wells and its cathedral and bishop's palace and gardens.

Reviewed by
P Rintoul

From Woodbridge, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Premier Inn style room
The room was of great quality and reminded us of a Premier Inn in design.
A great nights sleep.
We did not eat at the hotel so cannot rate this.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not call Captain Jacks a restaurant, more like a food hall, but the food & service was good. Felt sory for the couple who dressed up for a romantic meal when everyone else wore shorts & t-shirts. If i wanted a romantic break i would recommend the wookey Hole Inn.

Reviewed by
Nigel Ellis

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service is a thing of the past!
A lovely building and resource let down by the staff and systems. On arrival the lady who saw us in was drunk, with a half pint of beer in her hand.
Later on when I asked for a couple of tea bags and milk carton for the room I was told there was no milk so I should come back later for it. When i went back at the requested time there was still no milk, this happened a couple of time sand in the end we didnt get and little cartons. Poor service as there staff around.
We decided not to have breakfast there as it was so expensive!
A quirky experience to say the least.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value on a Sunday night discount
Good value on a Sunday night discount. Clean and comfortable. The shower was especially good. The room was a good size. Liked the art work by the local camera group, a very nice touch and a beautiful photo. Plenty of info on the local area. A little strange having to walk down to the tourist attraction eating area, which was huge and very touristy, for breakfast and didn't really appreciate the noisy machine switched on to encourage spending £2 and a prize every time at 7 in the morning! Overall we were happy with what we got for the money. I wouldn't have been impressed if we had paid the full price.

Reviewed by
Diana R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with excellent customer service

Reviewed by
M Sargeant

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Closest hotel to wookey hole caves
This hotel is fairly basic but comfortable. Similar quality to that of a travelodge. Has everything you need for a short stay. Is located right next to wookey hole caves and is themed accordingly. Rooms have tea/coffee, hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom. Our room had a sofa which converts to a bed too for families or extra guests. The rooms are pretty spacious too. Rooms also have french doors that fully open to a juliette balcony. There is a bar and restaurant onsite and a traditional inn walking distance. Gardens with picnic benches surround the hotel, as do beautiful views of the hills. Its peaceful at night and busy in the day. Only 10 minutes drive from Wells, the film location of Hot Fuzz and 30 minutes drive from Cheddar Gorge. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
C Brocksom

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice to stay when doing the attraction
We stayed 2 nights, was ideal for staying if doing the wookey hole caves. would stay again if doing the caves again.

Reviewed by
S Bushell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
A great room that was quiet, clean and modern. We found the hotel easily and it was very convenient for Glastonbury and cheddar gorge. Staff were helpful when we arrived We paid just under £100 for the room for two nights and I think this was superb value for money, I would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Jennifer H

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next