No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hope and Anchor Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
HOPE COVE , KINGSBRIDGE, TQ7 3HQ
The Hope and Anchor In is set in the popular and unique old fishing village of Hope Cove, here in the South Hams of Devon. With breathtaking scenery, you really will be spoilt for choice. Obviously, the area is renowned for it's clifftop walks and on a blustery day, there really is nothing better than a walk around the miles of unspoilt coastline and countryside to invigorate the spirit.

There are many watersports facilities on offer locally. Sailing is a popular option, but for the young, or young at heart, why not hire a powerboat or jet-ski and explore the coves and beaches of Bigbury Bay. The local beaches of Bantham and Challabrough are renowned with surfers and windsurfers alike for consistently good waves. Children will love the areas adventure parks and parents will enjoy visiting local markets, many selling fresh locally made produce.

All our bedrooms are en-suite, mostly of which have breathtaking views of Bigbury Bay. There is a lovely area outside with tables and umbrellas so you can enjoy the atmosphere of Hope Cove whilst enjoying our fine ales, lunch or an evening meal. Situated yards from the sea teeming with maritime atmosphere our friendly Inn caters for all.
Picture of The Hope and Anchor Inn, KINGSBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location, high price in school holidays as is everywhere in hope cove. Lovely atmosphere, good eating areas. Nice breakfast and good choice on the menu. Small room but good bed, good bathroom, all nicely decorated. Wonderful place to stay!

Reviewed by
V Bennett

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar service
They worked so hard. One minute there was a long queue and the next staff jumped on and cleared the queue straight away.

Reviewed by
P Davies

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival at 4pm there was only one member of staff on duty and whilst he was friendly, he was only helping out as he actually works somewhere else! He had been left totally alone to manage not only the bar but to check customers in all by himself. There was a long queue at the bar on a busy and hot afternoon, so not the most efficient welcome. He had to leave the queue to show us to our room. The hotel has been recently taken over and I understand it is due a refurb. Owing to the general lack of staff the tables were sticky and there were uncleared plates and glasses everywhere. We certainly didn't fancy having supper here, who knows what we missed! We were due to leave in the morning at 9am for a meeting and because a member of staff who had the keys turned up late we were unable to get breakfast before 8.45, making us late. However, our room was basic which we expected at the price, it was clean and the bed was comfortable, so well done housekeeping. Hope Cove is a really pretty place and The Hope and Anchor is in an enviable position. Currently I would not recommend staying here until the management pulls it's socks up.

Reviewed by
Sally L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable stay, they organised taxis for us and when we left a bag of gifts behind, they immediately forwarded them on to us. We would stay there again

Reviewed by
Penelope Bevan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 days in Hope Cove
A member of staff went out of their way to provide a map showing us the best way to get to Plymouth by car and the best place to park. He also took the trouble to ask how we got on when we returned. We were most impressed!
The food was excellent value for money and very tasty.
The only problem for us was the Duvet was too heavy and their was no alternative bedding.
This though was only a minor problem as overall the stay was most enjoyable and relaxing.

Reviewed by
jim r

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely dog friendly hotel on the beach
You can't beat this hotel, lovely rooms, great food and right on the beach. We took our dog and he loved it too

Reviewed by
h pryke

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice sea view good breakfast excellent location.

Reviewed by
Garry P

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A jewel of a find!
We have been visiting Hope Cove for about 30 years, staying in various places. Our experience of the Hope and Anchor far exceeded our expectations!
Needless to say we will be back, again and again I hope!
The room was excellent, the food exceptional and the whole experience 'gold star'.
Thank you hope and Anchor.

Reviewed by
Tricia Davies

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay @ Anchor & Hope Inn
Pub and food excellent. Accommodation basic and linen/towels could have been cleaner. Fire alarm sounded several times during the night disturbing sleep. Would come to the pub/restaurant again but not stay overnight.

Reviewed by
L Ray

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hope & Anchor, Hope Cove
Absolutely brilliant, we will definitely return. I'd booked a room at a Late rooms rate which was incorrect (too dear) & the Hope & Anchor actually rung me to correct it - a rare ocurrence nowadays.

Reviewed by
David B

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next