No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Gate Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1, Iron Bridge , Exeter, EX4 3RB
In the heart of Exeter, The City Gate offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi and a beer garden. Exeter Central Station is nearby and the M5 motorway is within easy reach.

Each en suite room at The City Gate Hotel features a TV, tea/coffee and air conditioning. A Full English Breakfast is included in the rate, unless Room only.
The City Gate Hotel features real ales and a traditional food menu, using fine local produce. Guests can dine either in the restaurant, main bar area, the spacious conservatory or even our fantastic garden.
Picture of The City Gate Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay - Good Value and Comfortable
Just stayed the one night. Room was very comfortable with a surprisingly powerful shower. Ate in the bar in the evening and the food was very good and staff polite. A comfortable, value for money hotel in a convenient location and I would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Nicholas H

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location
As the title. Also good hotel for just a relax in the bar, restaurant or garden before going into city etc.
Parking was very close. I had to wait though as my vehicle is 2.09m tall. But still parked close.

Reviewed by
B Twiddy

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and great value or money
We stayed as a group of friends, after arriving late on a Friday evening the staff where very helpful although very busy on arrival. Rooms were clean and tidy, I would most defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
Daniel Thyer

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Great room, no cleanliness problems, bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and nice and large. The bar and massive beer garden were really nice, had a lovely atmosphere. The bar staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Andrea L

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
We had a family room which was spacious. The one thing that let the accommodation down was the mouldy shower curtain. Other than that we were satisfied with our stay. We opted to have breakfast which was very good.

Reviewed by
Julie L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The quality is good, just don't expect it quickly
The rromwas okay, although lacking in plug sockets. The hot water was constantly not working. Breakfast and dinners was totally adequate, although there was a large delay mainly in orering. I waited 25 minutes to order breakfast when there was only one other table in - another table who arrived 20 minutes after me got their order taken first. The system for ordering food on an evening needs some work, I never knew if one ordered at the bar or at the table?

Reviewed by
J Pennells

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel/Pub close to Exeter City Centre
Adequate Room for my needs, but overall not that impressive.
The Pub part was rather too trendy for my taste and bar food/drinks over priced.
Hotel part was comfortable if a bit noisy from the road outside.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not impressed
We arrived at 8pm on friday night, shower was cold, place was noisy all night (with people in next room playing loud music until we complained at 11.30pm), ridiculously loud loo flush that would actually shake the floor in the process, and had to hop over a hoover when leaving the next day - doesn't really feel properly set up to look after guests - more like they have rooms above so why not just rent them out? To be fair, the room on first impressions is nicely decorated, but the bed mattress was pretty thin. Maybe I shouldn't of picked a hotel above a pub - but it wasn't that that caused us any trouble (clientele at that pub seem very nice). Think about what sort of stay you want before choosing this place. Good point - very central.

Reviewed by
r burrows

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel easy reach of town centre,staff helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
R Beasley

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't judge the hotel from the outside
I was a little worried as we walked up the road, but I shouldn't have been. Excellent staff and welcome, comfortable rooms, good food. If booking on Late Rooms - they do supply breakfast at an extra cost to what is shows on Late rooms website. We will visit again - and take the train as the hotel is only minutes from Central station and 10 minutes from Exeter St Davids.

Reviewed by
K Apperley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next