No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Muddifords Court Country House

5Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
MUDDIFORDS COURT Willand, CULLOMPTON, EX15 2QG
Muddifords Court Country House bed and breakfast is set within the attractive Culm Valley close to the edge of the Blackdown Hills. A beautifully restored Georgian country house, Muddifords Court is in an incredibly convenient but totally private rural setting within it's own 14 acres with lake, near to the village of Halberton.
The five well appointed bedrooms are spacious and stylishly furnished. Our guests can also enjoy the benefit of a private drawing room with antique furniture. We offer a choice of bedrooms including an antique tester bedroom with ensuite bathroom with Victorian claw footed bath and shower cubicle, a cottage style double bedroom with ensuite bathroom with Victorian claw footed bath with large shower rose over, a further twin/double bedroom with very large ensuite bathroom with Victorian claw footed bath and separate shower cubicle and a further lovely light twin bedroom with ensuite shower room. Our final bedroom is a wonderful suite comprising 4 poster bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom in an Art Deco theme. All bedrooms have TV with Freeview, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary toileteries, decanters of sherry, bathrobes and hairdryers. Awarded 5* AA, 5* Visit England, AA Breakfast Award 2013, Visit England Breakfast Award 2013 and Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013 and 2014
In addition, we can offer our guests the choice of two studio apartments which are self contained and located in Willand Old Village. One is configured as a super king/twin, the other a first floor double.
We can also offer a two bedroom cottage (villa) called The Roundhouse. It comprises a ground floor double bedroom with ensuite wet room with disabled access, a first floor twin bedded room with ensuite bath with shower rose over. The property can be booked on a self catering basis or bed and breakfast. There is a large kitchen with dining area (fully equipped), a separate downstairs cloakroom, and a large sitting room with seating area and table. Outside is a private walled Mediterranean style garden with seating. All linen and towels are included in the price.

Please note we charge a 2.5% surcharge for payments made with credit cards.

A selection of breakfasts are available from Full English at £8.00 per person to Continental style at £4.50 per person and everything else in between. All breakfasts include a variety of cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices, toast, teas and coffee. Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact Nicky or Pip Easby on 01884 820023.

Please note latest check in time is 21.00 hrs and no arrival later than this will be accepted
Picture of Muddifords Court Country House, CULLOMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little piece of heaven
We stayed at Muddifords Court for two nights and I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We stayed in the first floor suit which is stunning, the attention to detail is amazing and the view from the room is beautiful. During our stay we were given a tour of all the facilities and were able to view all the rooms, each one has its own individual charm, all very comfortable any of which I would be happy to stay in when (not if) we return. The breakfast was extremely good and excellent value for money. All in all an exceptional hotel, the hosts make you feel so welcome, nothing is too much trouble, book this and I can assure you, you wont be disappointed. Also an excellent venue for a wedding.

Reviewed by
David Smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little surprise!
The owners were really helpful and communicated well before we even arrived.
We didn't stay in the country house, we stayed in the Millie self catering apartment.
The apartment was really nice, beautifully kept and all the things you need for a short stay are there.
The courtyard outside is nice to sit and chat with a glass of wine or two.
The only slight downsize was the headroom, being just over 6ft it meant I only had a couple of inches headroom, my girlfriend had no issues at all, but if you are over 6ft maybe ask for the apartment above rather than the Millie apartment.
For dinner we went to the Five Bells, about 25 mins away and it was spectacular!

Reviewed by
Jonathan Wilde

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brief stop at a fantastic B&B
We stopped at Muddifords Court on our way to South Devon for a long weekend and we wished we could of stayed longer at this wonderful place. We will be back to stay at the roundhouse s/c sometime soon.

Reviewed by
Chris Harman

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
My husband and I stayed at Muddifords Court for 4 nights at the end of September. Being a first visit it is always a concern that the accommodation will not meet expectations, but it proved to be an excellent choice. On arrival, the well laid out and maintained grounds give a very good first impression. The interior is very tastefully decorated and our room was lovely (the Lilac room). I have a bad back and am always nervous when staying away from home in case the bed is uncomfortable, but it was fine and I slept well during our stay. The breakfasts were great, good quality produce, well cooked and presented. Service was good too, attentive without being overbearing. The only 'issue' I had, if you can even call it that, was that the shower pressure dropped when another guest was using the shower in their room. Muddifords Court is an older property, so perhaps it's not too easy to rectify this type of issue. All in all, we had a very relaxing time and would definitly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pitfield House: Lovely quiet quality accomodation
We stayed in Pitfield house, on a different site from the main hotel. This place was excellent, really high quality. Friendly welcome, quality accommodation and a decanter of sherry to help you relax. Loved it and will be back.

Reviewed by
Derek H

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at Pitfield House at a studio appartment.
It was fantastic , very clean ,lots of extras including a decanter of sherry!
Breakfast was left in the kitchen area included cereal , yoghurt,croissants, bread etc
The extras really made it
Only downside was there was no one to pay when we left. Rang doorbell of main house, phoned but nothing. Thankfully the gentleman at Muddifords Court sent someone over 😊

Reviewed by
Fiona S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful romantic hideway, perfect for exploring rural Devon
We were delighted to find this little hideaway, with all the comfort of a suite and all the convenience of a self-catering apartment. The welcome could not have been warmer, and the facilities were of an excellent standard. We'll definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
C Dawson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonian delight
Compared with the best hotels we've stayed at this on prvious holidays at home or abroad, was superlative, furnished to a high decorative standard, with all possible comforts provided for or considered, easy to find following the directions and well worth a detour. The setting is lovely.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Muddifords court
Excellent accomodation and customer service.

Reviewed by
Lindsay P

From Wickford, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Extremely well appointed; very clean and well serviced; beautiful grounds and peaceful, rustic environment, yet within easy reach of M5 motorway. I strongly recommend it both for short and long stays. The owners were extremely kind and helpful

Reviewed by
William Harry Titley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next