No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Sands Boutique Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 BOLT HEAD , SALCOMBE, TQ8 8LL
The beautifully appointed rooms and suites offer the ideal place to escape from it all...and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. And if you are looking for space, our beach suites offer some of the most spacious hotel accommodation in the country.

You can also come and sample some fantastic seafood in our restaurant overlooking the bay. Our Menu is packed with great flavours from fish caught just off the coast. Pop in for some shrimps on toast, crostini of Salcombe crab or roasted king prawns with garlic and fennel ...there is something to tempt everyone.

Alternatively, you might just like to stop by for a cocktail on the terrace. Jonathan and his team will be more than happy to mix you a sling or a fizz...
Picture of South Sands Boutique Hotel, SALCOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
We had a luxury room we could watch the sea from our bed and listen to it from the 2 juliet balconies. The restaurant provided mainly sea food which was first class. Service was excellent without being being intrusive. Wine was a little expensive. Rather busy in season but this was for my birthday.

Reviewed by
Paul Bachelor

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Perfect!
Returned for the second year -this time we booked a sea view room, instead of overlooking the car park. Room 18 was smaller than we had last time but nonetheless, very clean and had all we needed, plus a great view of the sea. The food was up to the same standard as last year (Excellent), mainly fish, which we both loved. Beautifully cooked and served by the friendly, cheerful staff.
Thank you South Sands- will be back again!

Reviewed by
Richard Jurd

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
Absolutely fantastic hotel, perfect location and really helpful staff. Only one tiny criticism, I am vegetarian and my daughter doesn't eat fish so the food choices were very limited. We ate there 2 nights of our stay, the vegetarian option (there was only one) was lovely but it was the same meal the second time.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Sands Luxury
South Sands hotel is pure luxury and secluded in a small bay. Unspoilt area and not over populated it felt like a proper holiday away from it all. The restaurant is excellent the only fault is that it was a 95% fish choice of food. No meats and no vegetarian option. The fish was good, very good but after a couple of nights its nice (if you are a meat eater), to have something different. Breakfast excellent and lots of choice.

Reviewed by
Julie T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Wonderful location and really lovely hotel. Unfortunately the attention to detail from the courtesy call to check all was ok with the room and the personal information about the room and facilities was sadly let down by the young bar man. After a 4 hr drive we asked if we could order some food, he looked pretty fed up,at the request but went to get a menu. 10 mins later thrust it at us and disappeared again without even giving us a chance to order a drink. We gave up after another 5 and walked into town. Everything else about our stay was really good. The quality of the.fittings, and decor is extremely good. Restaurant is very very expensive which is a shame but a glorious 2 days. Would come back here.

Reviewed by
Amanda S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is rather be at southsands
I've stayed here twice in the the last 2 weeks ibexes fir 2 nights and 2nd trip for 5 nights.
I was made to feel sooo welcome, the staff are great at making you feel completely comfortable and realy friendly without losing the standards of a good hotel. Our dog was made welcome in the dog rooms which where still so beautiful clean and a really high standard . Breakfast was simply the best I've ever had and I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I'll definatly be back as soon as possible ... Miss you all

Reviewed by
H Broomhead

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The J class room is of the very best standard, the view is astunning without comparison in the area.
Attention to detail is a little lacking from House Keeping.
The Restaurant is absolutley top quality with wines to reflect the quisine.
The overall atmosphere is relaxed and out of school times not stressed.
The quality of the accommodation is of the very highest level.

Reviewed by
TREVOR H

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside Comfort Despite the Rain!
We stayed at South Sands hotel for 2 nights and found it very relaxing. Our room was a disabled room (neither of us is disabled) overlooking the road (with regular passer-by's!) which meant we didn't have a bath and felt a little overlooked, but the room was comfortable throughout. We ate dinner in the restaurant on our first night due to heavy rain, which was superb (although the waiting staff took a while to come to us and our drinks arrived after our mains). Salcombe was an easy 20 minute stroll.

Reviewed by
S Carter

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Sands Hotel
Great hotel, staff and fabulous food :)

Reviewed by
James Broome

From Bristol , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
The hotel is in the most wonderfull position. The rooms on the front of the hotel give magnificient views of the bay . They offer a magnificent menus for ALL meals. The rooms are modern and well appointed. A taxi service and ferry into Salcombe is very good and accessable for almost all day at competitive prices. Although the horel caters for dogs our room did not show any evidence that an animal had stayed in it. The attendance and service was good without complaint for our second stay.

Reviewed by
TREVOR H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next