No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jamaica Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BOLVENTOR , LAUNCESTON, PL15 7TS

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Jamaica Inn hotel, Cornwall's legendary coaching house, immortalised in Daphne du Maurier's novel of the same name, has stood high on Bodmin Moor for over four centuries. We're still referred to by historians as Cornwall's most famous smuggling inn. These days we do welcome the more salubrious guest ... and the odd ghost!

On the A30 between Launceston and Bodmin, The Jamaica Inn is full of character with beamed ceilings, open fires and real ales. Some of the traditional rooms are in the original inn and some are in the modern annex. You will find 16 well appointed bedrooms, all en - suite, with a number of romantic four poster bedrooms.

From breakfast until late evening, you can enjoy an extensive range of home cooked food, with museum, gift shop and two bars on site.

We are a family friendly hotel and inn and offer a children's play area and beautiful gardens that overlook Bodmin Moor.
The Jamaica Inn has easy access to the Eden Project and Falmouth's National Maritime Museum.

Free WIFI and Parking are available onsite, no reservation needed.
Picture of The Jamaica Inn, LAUNCESTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 301 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
was unsure what to expect, however our room was beautiful and the food was absolutely fantastic. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
V Rostance

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all good in the jamaica inn

Reviewed by
BARRY ROBBINS

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
Jacqueline S

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room and very friendly staff
From check-in to check-out our stay at Jamaica Inn was great. The staff were friendly and eager to help, the room was spotless, with a big bathroom and very comfortable bed. Food at both dinner and breakfast was nicely cooked and very tasty. No ghostly sightings but a very pleasurable stay.

Reviewed by
Jenny H

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and friendly hotel
Very comfortable room. Friendly staff and lovely food. Great full english for breakfast. Plenty of parking and large garden with play area. Dogs allowed in bar area so great place to stop for a meal after a long walk.

Reviewed by
stephen

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing place
What a great place we will be going back , room was great staff really friendly everywhere spotless . We stayed in room 11 in the new part of building and it was tastefully decorated and in keeping with the old part of the inn . The only thing I was hoping to see was a ghost in room !that didn't happen but I did see someone in corridor outside our room I moved out the way to let them go by then they vanished . When we go back we will be booking one of the rooms in old part as lots of people have had experiences with spirits . Top marks for Jamaica inn highly recommended oh and great breakfast .

Reviewed by
ian j

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uncomfortable bed, moody staff in restaurant

Reviewed by
R Haynes

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at Jamaica Inn and all that goes bump in the night!!
Friendly and helpful staff made our stay extremely enjoyable. The rooms were clean and well furnished and the food was very good. Great atmosphere enhanced by the tableaux around the inn and very interesting museum which gave an historical and some truly gruesome tales of smuggling which prepared us for a good nights sleep!! The inn has a number of events throughout the year , murder mystery, pirate swashbuckling re-enactments and a ghost trail so well worth another visit. We will be back

Reviewed by
J Chandler

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character and the staff were really friendly

Reviewed by
Geoff R

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean pleasant room and lovely staff
We stayed for one night on route to Falmouth and made a last minute booking. We arrived in the evening and the beautiful sunny day had rapidly turned into a wet and much cooler evening! However it was lovely to go into such a cosy pub and the huge fireplace was soon lit which created a very welcoming atmosphere. The staff were very efficient and friendly, the room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The only negative thing I can say is that the food we had in the evening wasn't that brilliant, seemed like the food had been cooked and kept warm for quite a while. The breakfast, however, was very nice and the waitress really lovely. I would certainly visit again.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next