No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jamaica Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BOLVENTOR , LAUNCESTON, PL15 7TS

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Jamaica Inn hotel, Cornwall's legendary coaching house, immortalised in Daphne du Maurier's novel of the same name, has stood high on Bodmin Moor for over four centuries. We're still referred to by historians as Cornwall's most famous smuggling inn. These days we do welcome the more salubrious guest ... and the odd ghost!

On the A30 between Launceston and Bodmin, The Jamaica Inn is full of character with beamed ceilings, open fires and real ales. Some of the traditional rooms are in the original inn and some are in the modern annex. You will find 16 well appointed bedrooms, all en - suite, with a number of romantic four poster bedrooms.

From breakfast until late evening, you can enjoy an extensive range of home cooked food, with museum, gift shop and two bars on site.

We are a family friendly hotel and inn and offer a children's play area and beautiful gardens that overlook Bodmin Moor.
The Jamaica Inn has easy access to the Eden Project and Falmouth's National Maritime Museum.

Free WIFI and Parking are available onsite, no reservation needed.
Picture of The Jamaica Inn, LAUNCESTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 298 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy
The Jamaica Inn setting is wonderful, with walks across the Moor to Brown Willy and breath taking views. The Inn is not over commercialised and remains true to its steeped history with a excellent museum telling the story of Cornish smuggling and Daphne du Muarier life and book Jamaica Inn. We really enjoyed our visit in crispy December and certainly will book again for a summer visit.

Reviewed by
D Winn

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New lease of life
We have stayed here several times but not since the new owner has taken over. We were accidentally put in the wrong room but the manager moved us right away with his sincerest apologies. The room which we had booked (twin) was clean, comfortable and there was attention to every detail right down to bottled water for us. The food is also excellent now. Before it was ok but since it has been taken over the quality is better with fresh local ingredients and not 'plastic food pub food'.

Reviewed by
K Turner

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the jamaica Inn
The room had been freshly painted and refurbished. Apparently new owner taken over. Breakfast great too.

Reviewed by
Steven J

From Lyme Regis, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you
Fantastic venue, staff, room, bed, food, beer, breakfast and ghost stories !! Defo go again !! ;-)

Reviewed by
G Cooper

From East Looe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jamaica Inn
Enjoyed our stay we have been going there for about 10 years, we have seen some changes over the years. we have stayed in every room up until now. You have 3 new rooms which we stayed in 2 of them this time. They were very new and clean.

Reviewed by
clive p

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical.
Faultless stay here at Jamaica Inn. The friendliest staff I've come across in a long time. Perfect venue for anything, was almost tempted to book the Christmas package. No spooky stuff but the place is magical and enthralling nonetheless. Fantastic blend of modern and original features. Can't wait to return next year.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were looking forward to it but it was a real disappointment
On arrival at the hotel we were very disappointed that it was within 100yds of a fast dual carriageway and looked like a brand new building not the quaint old smugglers pub we imagined. Probably our fault for not studying the hotel information better. We were dazzled by the thought of staying at the Jamaica Inn. On entering the hotel we were greeted in a very lacklustre way and there seemed to be people and dogs just sitting around the small reception.
In the bar/restaurant, the tables were sticky and worn. My dinner was inedible. I am a committed carnivore but fancied something fresh so had the vegetarian option, Halloumi Nicoise salad. It was all cooked and hot and the Halloumi was fried. It was drizzled in oil and looked like it had been cooked, left to cool then microwaved. I thought salads had at least some uncooked ingredients. My wife had the fish and chips but suspected that it was bought in and heated.
The room was OK and they have done a good job of masking the inevitable traffic noise. We had booked two nights but we got a call early in the morning of the second day that meant we had to go home early. We went to reception to explain and ask if there was any kind of discount or refund for the second night and were told she would ask the manager. The manager said no, tough.
The breakfast was far better than the dinner the night before with freshly poached eggs.
We will not be making the same mistake again. The Hotel sounded quaint and romantic. But when we arrived it looked to us like it had been bought by a chain and turned into a plastic pub/hotel with museum and gift shop. When I asked they did say it was privately owned but it certainly didn't feel like it.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not find any fault with hotel. Sent a email to owner to thank him

Reviewed by
D Stone

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

experience
We enjoyed the stay and will stay again. The food was not too good, we hope it is better next time

Reviewed by
GEOFFREY McQUEEN

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October 2014
Enjoyable stay , Staff very helpful

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next