No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jamaica Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BOLVENTOR , LAUNCESTON, PL15 7TS

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Jamaica Inn hotel, Cornwall's legendary coaching house, immortalised in Daphne du Maurier's novel of the same name, has stood high on Bodmin Moor for over four centuries. We're still referred to by historians as Cornwall's most famous smuggling inn. These days we do welcome the more salubrious guest ... and the odd ghost!

On the A30 between Launceston and Bodmin, The Jamaica Inn is full of character with beamed ceilings, open fires and real ales. Some of the traditional rooms are in the original inn and some are in the modern annex. You will find 16 well appointed bedrooms, all en - suite, with a number of romantic four poster bedrooms.

From breakfast until late evening, you can enjoy an extensive range of home cooked food, with museum, gift shop and two bars on site.

We are a family friendly hotel and inn and offer a children's play area and beautiful gardens that overlook Bodmin Moor.
The Jamaica Inn has easy access to the Eden Project and Falmouth's National Maritime Museum.

Free WIFI and Parking are available onsite, no reservation needed.
Picture of The Jamaica Inn, LAUNCESTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 301 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
You must bear in mind this is a tourist attraction so it can be busy and is well used. For the full experience get a room in the old part of the inn, eat in the pub and have a few drinks sat by the fireplace. Then wait until a ghost appears, or not.

Reviewed by
mark j

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room
Hotel room cosy and welcoming bed was comfortable but the pillows was a disappointment. Great to have wifi and the extra channels on tv.

Reviewed by
J Gardner

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A++ Would definitely use again
Brilliant nights stay in room 1 lovely comfortable bed and very nice shower room I would definitely use again. We had food in the evening and for breakfast which was all 5 * both me and my partner thought it was beautiful, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark Hooper

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only booked for one nights accommodation, so our review is limited to that. The staff were very welcoming, and helpful.
Our room was one of the recently refurbished, and was perfectly clean, comfortable and above the norm for this type of small independent pub/ hotel.
The new owner of the hotel is in the process of improving the premises, and the bar and food area would benefit from new carpets, or a very deep clean.
The food was good,and plentiful, and the beers were well kept. Wine list was limited,but just about covered the usual options of choice.
A very pleasant stay, and we would recommend this hotel for a short stay or stop-over .
The attached museum was good fun, and informative ,albeit a bit in need of updating in its presentation, and the gift shop well stocked. All in all,worth a visit.

Reviewed by
J O'CONNOR

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellent hotel
Excellent hotel, room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Lovely surroundings and ideally situated for visiting popular tourist spots.

Reviewed by
S Hunter

From Dover, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jamaica Inn stay
Truly great experience, fantastic accommodation, very clean. Hotel and bar staff very friendly, food was excellent, reasonably priced and service was very good. Breakfast was the same. Wish I could have stayed longer. Will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Steve Pain

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
was unsure what to expect, however our room was beautiful and the food was absolutely fantastic. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
V Rostance

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
The whole stay at Jamaica In was a positive experience and I would recommend the venue to anyone. I am looking forward to a return stay later this year.

Reviewed by
Leslie C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all good in the jamaica inn

Reviewed by
BARRY ROBBINS

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
Jacqueline S

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next