No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cimon

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
82 Abbey Road , Torquay, TQ2 5NP
The Cimon is a comfortable 15 bedroom guest house with a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation rating, set in a beautiful converted detached Victorian villa in its own grounds in the very heart of Torquay. We have a 30ft outdoor heated swimming pool, a licensed bar, lounge, free WiFi throughout and a sizeable carpark. We have a selection of double, twin and family rooms available, all with en suite bathrooms. Some of the rooms provide stunning views of the bay. All prices include breakfast, which includes a full English cooked breakfast, omelettes, fruit, cereals, tea and coffee. Vegetarian alternatives are available on request. Evening meals are available in the bar or dining room if ordered by midday. All of our food is cooked fresh to order, where possible our meat and fish fish are sourced from local fishmongers and butchers. Just 600 yards from the sea front, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Leisure Centre and the town centre, it is perfectly placed to enjoy all that the beautiful English Riviera has to offer: beaches, coastline, surrounding countryside and a wide variety of evening entertainment.
Picture of The Cimon, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family run hotel in great location,food was fantastic n the couple and staff that ran the hotel were really lovely couldn't have asked for better treatment or quality would definitely go here again

Reviewed by
t paine

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at the Cimon
Hotel manager was extremely pleasant,making us feel welcomed into his guest house.
our trip relied on space for a travel cot,which was our biggest need for being away.
rooms were clean and tidy,with plenty of fresh towels.
Breakfast was great,dining area well managed.
child friendly,lots of toys available tor explore.
very close to amenities.

Reviewed by
jason h

From northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakaway
Very well run,neat and tidy,friendly.had an enjoyable couple of days,breakfast was great,and the rooms comfortable.my parents enjoyed the hospitality,and nothing was to much trouble.all in all,an enjoyable break.Well Done!

Reviewed by
derek bull

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
When we arrived the manager offered us a map and showed us where to go to get to the town along with advice on where to eat etc. thought this was a nice touch he was extremely friendly and welcoming throughout our stay . Only thing I would say was the bed was two singles pushed together which was fine but not overly comfortable

Reviewed by
R Liddicoat

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in rainy Torquay
Nice enough hotel. Friendly owners. Good breakfast. Nice bar area. Good location. Good parking.

Reviewed by
J Dunn

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay at The Cimon, would highly recommend. Only stayed for 3 nights and was excellant accomadation for a long weekend. Very friendly owners, rooms cleaned daily, delicious breakfast and a nice little bar. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Emily H

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

low cost luxury
On our tour of the UK this was the best of the 4 hotels we stayed in. upon arrival we were greeted and shown around the hotel and shown our location on a map with all the local tourist attractions which was great as it allowed us to make the most of our time in torquay. As we were there through the week and the hotel was quiet we were given a free upgrade to a family room which was brilliant. the room had a main room, then through a curtained door was an other room with 2 bunk beds and another bathroom. the room itself was spacious enough without the extra kids room!
The the draught lager in the bar downstairs was was slightly jubious but was well stocked with bottled wines beers and ciders ( many of them local) and the owner was happy to have a drink with you (until late)
Torquay harbour and beach were 5 mins walk from the hotel as were many of the attractions.
a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
p coulson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Cimon is lovely.
A warm welcome, a spacious comfortable ground floor family room and delicious breakfasts cooked to order (the mushrooms were particularly good): this hotel was rather special. We stayed 3 nights mid-May, and would love to stay again. Excellent value for money and great, thoughful, service. Everything seemed very relaxed yet very efficient. The weather was a bit too cold for swimming, but the heated pool looked lovely.

Reviewed by
D Atulomah

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Owners and good breakfast
A small hotel with friendly owners who seemed keen to see you have a good stay. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order as well as a good selection of colditems. The bar area was cosy in evenings if you just want a quiet drink.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and homely place.
It is a very nice and homely place. The breakfast was very nice, a proper full English no just a bit of bacon and sausage. The room we stayed in was very small, we could just about walk round the edge of the bed. There was no bath in the wet room attached to the room. The hotel is a very nice am it gives you a warm feeling as soon as you walk in. I would go again only because I no what to expect, not sure I would recommend a friend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review – I’m pleased you liked the breakfast, Anita makes sure no one leaves here hungry! The room you booked is described on LateRooms as a “small double”, this is the cheapest room type we have. We have plenty of bigger rooms which are only slightly more expensive.

Reviewed by
G A

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.