No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meeting
I was disappointed that i did not get a reasonable room for the price that i paid.
Bed very unconfortable and veiw from room overlooking a sruffy yard and bar area needs attentions ie pumps not fitted correctly

Reviewed by
J Harris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was small and in need of a total refurbishment. Despite the very warm humid weather the duvet was of Winter weight and there was no sheet beneath it. The air conditioning unit did not work, and it was sorted by a member of staff, but remained un-adjustable. We were given another room on requesting one, but this room had a broken extractor fan in the bath room, which was unacceptable given that it was a room with no window. According to the website there is a restaurant available every evening, but on arrival, after a long journey from the South of France, we were told that there was no restaurant facility that night because a large coach party was arriving. No one offered to book us a reservation elsewhere, and it was extremely difficult to get a meal in Exeter that night because of their graduation week. All in all, not a good experience.

Reviewed by
Anne Nelson

From France
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just the one night stay...reception staff excellent and very helpful.......

Reviewed by
david b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff
Lovely staff, nice place to stay. Room was hot!! As we had a flat roof outside our window, the window had a restrictor on it, so didn't open very wide!!.
Would have liked to have had breakfast in our room, but this was not available.
There were some minor issues with the room(which we did not report) extractor fan not working, light over bath not working, no 'do not disturb' sign.
On the up side the hotel is close enough to walk into the city centre.
We didn't really eat in the hotel except for breakfast, which was really good, and we had a sandwich which was nice as well.
Overall, good place to stay, close to the city centre, in a lovely quiet area.

Reviewed by
Tracy H

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Supposed superior room! I would hate to have an inferior one!!
Staff had an attitude problem.
Bed uncomfortable & pillows were small and hard.
Hotel looked tired.

Reviewed by
Pierre Henck

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
I lived in Exeter for 20 years so had no reason to stay at the hotel but having done it, I will definitely stay again. It combines the lovely grounds, quirky and characterful building with the convenience of being able to park on site and walk into the city. The room was spacious with everything I needed and a huge bed. I was very happy to be there.

Reviewed by
Sarah N

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
E Bourne

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
R Carter

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel would recommend

Reviewed by
CHRIS RIORDAN

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room required a call to House Manager who very promptly adjusted the fault...with a huge smile...Thank you...Food good as always, big thank you.Very friendly attentive staff and the versitle guests made for a good evening in the bar..

Reviewed by
Cliff R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next