Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT STAY
A superb room, most comfortable bed ever, great facilities, food at an affordable price.

Reviewed by
DEREK JENKINS

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shakey start but o.k. in the end!
At check in although an A4 notice was on the counter our attention was not drawn to it. An office xmas doo for 100 + disco till midnight - we were right next door. Reception apologised & offered to move us but was already 10pm. We went to work half dead the next morning, as recompense we were offered breakfast in bed and a late check after our 2nd night which we found very satisfactory, the staff member who dealt with this was outstanding.

Reviewed by
A Rawlinson

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Value for Money
Smart and commfortable accommodation, excellent location and food.

Reviewed by
caroline a

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What I'd expect for the price
Nice room, helpful staff on front desk. Kept awake by an intermittent tapping noise - possibly central heating pipes.

Reviewed by
H King

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for SHOPPING
Pleasant friendly staff, clean comfortable room though kingsize bed was 2 singles put together and didn't feel like the superior room we had booked & good food & service
Great day in a good location for the town with easy busy route & a stop right outside the hotel

Reviewed by
M Perry-Smith

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect position short walk or bus ride to Exeter city centre with excellent parking. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would stay again if in Exeter.

Reviewed by
Kay N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very lovely. Will come and stay again in new year

Reviewed by
S boyce

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, nice place, shame about the price of food and drink
Really nice friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. The location is great and not far from the city centre and a taxi costs £7:00 to get you there.the gardens are well kept and looked really nice.
The room was clean and tidy (except for the mould around the bath) and was lovely and warm. The bed was comfortable, but on casters, so when we both sat up in bed it rolled away front the wall!!!
On the first night we opted to eat at the hotel, to start I had deep fried Brie, it came to the table cold, and the middle was ice cold. For the main course I had breast of chicken (it came with a bone in it, unusual for breast ) and it came on a square of rubber.my partner had Duck as the main course and was cooked beautifully and tasted lovely. However we had to share a very small bowl of veg, it came out at £47:00, overpriced for what we had. We then went to the bar and had a pint of cider and a large glass of Pinot Grigio for £10:50. Needless to say the next night we took a taxi to the Mill on the Exe pub, had a meal, three drinks and a taxi back for the same amount we spent in the hotel, and did not go to bed hungry.
In short, stay at the lodge, but eat and drink elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Bev Francis

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huddy's Points.
Spot on for what I wanted.
Very expensive for 1 rep, 1 night,£103 with breakfast.
£75 is the normal asking price.
Staff very helpful .

Reviewed by
Graham Hudson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough, not 4* though
Easy to find, easy to park. Check in & out was swift and easy. Staff were all very polite and helpful. A credit.
Room very clean except for the walls, they just appeared grubby with marks & splashes, this was not just in my room. In the corridors to the rooms also.
Bed very comfy and was warm once the heating had been switched on. Towels were large and soft which is always a big bonus.
Evening meal was ok but choices were limited to either fried or had cheese on them. Breakfast coffee was superb, toast burnt and the sausage I would have to say was the worst I have ever had. Clearly the sausage was not a cheap one but it was for me not at all nice. Seemed to be like a perfumed small sausgae.
Wifi was free and could connect to several devices, just a shame it would constantly drop in and out.
Overall the hotel did exactly what I needed for the night, may stay again if was for work but would not pay for the breakfast and go out for my evening meal.

Reviewed by
Natasha H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next