No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hunters Moon

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Hunters Moon, , , Sherborne, DT9 5QN
Welcome to Hunters Moon, a traditional mid-18th century former coaching inn.

Here you will find "an outstanding place to visit, whether for a refreshment stop, snack, leisurely meal, overnight stay or longer stay" as a base to explore the exceptional Dorset countryside and coastline.

So come down and meet the team at Hunters Moon and let us take care of you, the way only a traditional inn can.

Here at Hunter's Moon we have 8 tastefully furnished en-suite bedrooms. 4 of these are double rooms and offer shower, television and tea/coffee making facilities.

The other 4 rooms are even more spacious with a king size bed and a comfy sofa as well as shower television and tea/coffee making facilities. These can be used as either double or twin rooms. Alternatively they can be transformed into family rooms with the sofabed suitable for an adult or child.

Camp beds and travel cots are available upon request.

All of these rooms are suitable for one night stays, or longer, and can be reserved for groups.

Our location makes this accommodation an ideal base for exploring the fantastic countryside and coastline nearby. You'll also find the Cerne Abbas Giant, Sherborne, Dorchester and other local points of interest as well as nearby outdoor activities such as shooting and fishing.
Picture of The Hunters Moon, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The hotel was relatively easy to find, large well lit car park, room was warm and bed comfortable. I was impressed with the food and service and the overall 'oldy worldy' feel of the pub itself.

Reviewed by
C Fenner

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcoming family run country hotel. Excellent breakfast. Good choice for evening meal.

Reviewed by
G Davies

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Combining business with leisure
The owners and staff were welcoming and friendly. It was quiet, which for us is always a bonus.
The food was good, I had the Hunters Moon steak pie which was delicious full of good tender steak.
If in the area again I would certainly go back.

Reviewed by
Frank S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome as always and excellent food. Always enjoy staying at this hotel and will be back again

Reviewed by
Jack M

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, nice room, great atmosphere

Reviewed by
Nigel H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Made to feel welcome. Breakfast is unbeatable. Very well used restaurant on an evening, which shows the 'locals' approve. Old world proper english pub.

Reviewed by
Jane C

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great traditional pub
Traditional pub near lovely countryside that offers basic accomodation. The food both at dinner and breakfast were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
My wife and I stayed for a weekend whilst in the area for a sporting competition. We found the host (Dean) extremely friendly and professional as were all of his staff. The room was clean and in excellent order. No noise was evident from the bar / restaurant during the evening or night. Breakfast was very good quality and served in a nice relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant was pleasant and the food was of high quality with a very good choice available.
We would recommend the Hunters lodge and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
I P S

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Stayed just the one night when visiting relatives. Have stayed before and would do so again.
Room was fine and overlooked a garden. Bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was good. Shower could have been more powerful though.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
Staff are welcoming and friendly.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely !
Room was really clean and had everything we needed. Food at the inn was gorgeous and well worth trying. The staff were really friendly, really lovely place to stay. Will definitely be booking for next year !

Reviewed by
Green Debbie

From Herts, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next