No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bendene

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
15 16, Richmond Road , Exeter, EX4 4JA
The Bendene is a large four star Georgian townhouse close to the City Centre. Ideal for business trips, for shopping & entertainment, with excellent travel links. We have our own private outdoor swimming pool situated in the south facing walled garden. Here you can either take a dip or just relax with a coffee and a magazine.

Our varied breakfast menu covers most requests, and our rooms are individually styled for comfort, with all the usual facilities, rooms have flat screen tvs and free WIFI access. Choose from either non-en suite twin or en suite single, twin or double rooms for a comfortable nights sleep. Our rooms are situated over 4 floors, and we do not have a lift.

There is a public car park close by, less than a minutes walk, which is well lit and free to park in overnight. from 6pm to 8am. There are also some free parking spaces in the road outside The Bendene.

If you are looking for somewhere to eat, you can choose from Indian, Chinese, Thai, English, Italian, French and more; both take-away and eat-in, all in easy walking distance, as are bars, bistros and pubs.
Picture of The Bendene, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend
Very accommodating, not fussy but helpful - breakfast locally sourced as far as possible, tasty and nicely presented. Comfy bed - blankets not duvet.

Reviewed by
S Bowers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant B&B in central Exeter
I really enjoyed my stay at the Bendene. The room was lovely, very clean and recently refurbished. At night it's incredibly quiet. Prompt service at breakfast and a nice choice is offered too. Only very minor point is that the water pressure for the shower could be greater, but it's still absolutely alright.

Reviewed by
Till K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Booked last minute to sneak away for a night as weather amazing. Found to be very comfortable and convenient with very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast set us up for the day. Pool a bonus as sun was out when we arrived. Parking easy either at rear, on roadside or opposite in a car park which is free overnight with lots spaces. Short easy walk to city centre & cathedral area.

Reviewed by
Sue F

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay in the heart of Exeter
Very friendly, excellent room & enjoyed my stay! Visiting Exeter for an event, and not sure what I was expecting - the Bendene was lovely & staff very friendly & helpful. Would happily stay again!

Reviewed by
Danielle Miller

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin Bed Room Top Floor
Comfortable twin beds in quiet room on the top floor. Long way to the bathroom and toilet on a different level.

Reviewed by
Catherine A

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and a brilliant location.
I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
F Yakubu

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Lovely quiet room, very help owner / staff. Will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Mary P

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright for one night
The Bendene was ok to stay at for a night, but I would choose another hotel in Exeter the next time. The big advantage is the location and that it is reasonably priced. However, except for the lady we talked to us at breakfast, it was not the most customer friendly experience. The room we stayed in was clean and alright, however quite outdated and did not make us feel comfortable. Especially the woollen blankets on the bed need updating.

Reviewed by
Julia K

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review of The Bendene
I enjoyed my stay at the Bendene. It is ideally situated close to Exeter city centre and the two train stations. The room was comfortable, clean and was nice to relax in after being out and about in Exeter. The hospitality of the owner was greatly appreciated and the breakfast offered was good value for money and nicely presented. If I was to visit Exeter again I would have no hesitation but to book again.

Reviewed by
Thomas R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Latest stay
Staff were once again so helpful. Only need to ring the bell once!

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next