No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Halcyon

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
2/3 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AA
Cool days, balmy days, crazy days or just plain lazy days. The Halcyon hotel is your launch pad for exploring the many faces of Georgian Bath. Whether it's dipping a toe in the waters, munching on a Sally Lunn's bun or exploring the crescents we'll make your stay something special. Conveniently located within the city's beating heart, 2 minutes walk from the station, the Abbey, the Roman Baths, Pultney Bridge, Thermae Spa and all the other excitements of buzzing Bath.

At the Halcyon we've created the kind of hotel we'd love to visit ourselves. That means more of the things you want, and less of the extras you don't. So you'll get a stunning Grade I listed Georgian townhouse in a to-die-for location, tip-top technology, luxury products, organic breakfasts, a cosy bed and o-so-soft pillows. What you won't find is a costly to run restaurant, empty ballrooms or nasty hidden costs. It all means we can serve-up heavy duty luxury at a light-on-the-wallet price.

Bath may be famed for its Roman heritage and costume drama connections, but at the Halcyon hotel you'll get the big picture on this fascinating little city. We'll point you in the direction of the tucked away alehouses and cultural gems, the top eateries and quirky shops. Hop on a Halcyon bike, jump on the boat, or simply step out, map in hand.

And really that's all there is to it. We give today's traveller the kind of hotel they actually need. 21 perfectly preened rooms and studios, ready and waiting for you to drop in. With all that to look forward to, it almost seems rude not to.
Picture of The Halcyon, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room at the Top
Offered a short contract in Bath we made a random decision to stay over for a night and get a feel for the city. Our room, originally servant's quarters at the top of the 'house' added to the fun. At 6'3" my other half moved around comfortably - watch out for the edge of the hanging rail unit! Thank you for retaining the opening windows which we kept open all night. We heard no (reported) street noise, we're frequent travellers so we expect voice and vehicle noise if we stay in a city centre. Stay outside the city if life outside your accommodation irritates you! After a night under a marshmallow duvet, a waterfall shower and breakfast to die for we were fully refreshed and will definitely stay again as soon as poss. Reviewed by Yvonne D and Layne R

Reviewed by
Layne C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath Beauty
Lovely small hotel centrally located to tour Bath. Very modern interior with a lovely bedroom though a bit small. We loved the Circo Bar which doubled up in the morning as the breakfast area. Very nice continental breakfast with plenty of choice. We also liked the outside area at the front of the hotel where you could enjoy a drink well into the evening with heaters under the huge umbrellas if it got a bit chilly.

Reviewed by
W Hooper

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sweet One Night Stay
Booked last minute for one night stay to treat my girlfriend for her birthday. Arrived at trainstation and saw hotel out the window straight away so easy to walk to and was across the road from town, couldn't ask for a better location. Was greeted by a real helpful receptionist who was quick to check us in and gave us a map of local area. All 3 members of staff we met during our stay were real nice and polite. They looked after our bags after checkout so we could explore more before catching train home.
The room
Hot water bottle and good brand of hair dryer and soaps made my girlfriends trip. Some would say the room was small but I call is cosy. Nice size TV mounted on the wall right in front the bed. No wardrobe but a hanging rail. Bath was just the right size for one and the shower built in to the ceiling was real nice with plenty of hot water.
The only bad point was that the shower screen was pointless as it had a large gap under it so by the time we had a shower the bathroom tiled floor was covered in water, dried it up with some used towels.
The room had a selection of sweets and drinks etc but they were pricey for what they were but I guess all hotels are the same. Because there were no real size corridors if anyone spoke outside your room on the stairs you could clearly hear it.
In the morning my girlfriend rolled over and said that was the best night sleep she has had in ages. Plenty of pillows and a good mattress. So good in fact she passed up on having breakfast just for an extra hours kip.
8.5/10

Reviewed by
RYAN MARTIN

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Halcyon hotel Bath
Warm/friendly staff,excellent well equipped rooms,good food,made for an excellent stay,would recommend and return when in Bath.

Reviewed by
GREG LLOYD

From Rayleigh, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Halcyon Bath
The Halcyon fitted our requirements exactly; a comfortableroom for the night well situated in Bath

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but room small, food slow and noisy at the front
Room looks amazing but quite small (although must say still very good vfm). Staff friendly and great location in central Bath. My room was at the front of the hotel and the single glazed sash window did nothing to keep out noise of pub and club kick outs (not good for a business trip). Food was good in the funky but slightly dark cocktail bar downstairs but it did take well over an hour to come (they said they were busy but there were only eight or so other diners!).

Reviewed by
David S

From Fleet, England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay at The Halcyon, the customer service was outstanding, def stay again.

Reviewed by
C Hancock

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value,good location!
Customer service, the reception were not very forthcoming with information or offers of service, but otherwise still polite and welcoming.
Our room was cute,modern and more than adequate but it was the top floor and with no heating and the window open we were baking....in the middle of December!!! Just request to not be the top floor! Definitely recommend the hotel for location and value if booked through late rooms.

Reviewed by
Vikki R

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awsome!!

Reviewed by
Nicholas Du plooy

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth a visit
nice hotel. Good room and nicely kitted out. Bit noisey near the front of the hotel but not major. Good breakfast. Great staff

Reviewed by
mike w

From Cardiff, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next