No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mulberry House

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Mulberry House, 1 Scarborough Road , Torquay, TQ2 5UJ
Mulberry House is a Victorian grade 2 listed property built in 1860, retaining much of its original charm and charactor from this bygone age.
This unique guest house is located on a quiet street in the heart of the English Riviera. Close to the main shopping centre, restaurants, beach and attractions of Torquay.
At Mulberry House we believe small is beautiful. Due to our size, (four bedrooms), we are able to offer a more personalized friendly service which is often lacking in larger establishments and hotel chains.
After a busy day in the resort, relax with a fresh tea/coffee in the guest lounge.
All rooms are fully en-suite with modern flat screen televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and FREE internet access.
PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept hen or stag groups or simular bookings i.e football/rugby events, all such bookings will be cancelled immediately.
Picture of Mulberry House, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly located, perfectly hosted
Great to see that you can still find quality, friendly accomodation at a reasonable price. Brian does a fantastic job at hi B&B. Would definitely reommend.

Reviewed by
P King

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
We had a lovely weekend break at Mulberry House. The location was central but peaceful, the room was comfortable and tastefully decorated, the cooked breakfast was delicious!

Reviewed by
Helena C

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night visit
we could not believe how lovely our accommodation was for the price,very reasonable for this time of the year.brian was a lovely man ,and made us feel very welcome,

Reviewed by
diane bayley

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

19 July 2014 our 8 day stay
What a great place to stay the rooms were lovely and clean and tidy, a lovely old Victorian house with lots of character, The owner Brian was a smashing guy,and made sure our stay was perfect, and was very helpful about were to go and places of interest, and a special mention about the full English breakfast which was amazing,we could not wish for any better treatment, My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mulberry House and would highly recommend a stay there.

Reviewed by
Graham Newitt

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful bed and breakfast
The room was beautiful, very well co-ordinated and designed and absolutely spotless, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was great and the owner, Brian, was very friendly and willing to help - he went above and beyond by leaving us two wine glasses in our room, upon noticing we had purchased a bottle of wine! We had a great stay and would absolutely recommend it, great value for money and a lovely bed and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Hannah M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing value for money in a very lovely house.
To be honest not expecting anything more than an average room & average breakfast for the price.
Last minute decision to go away with hot weather forecast, therefore only looking for a last minute cheap deal.
What we found was the best B&B I have stayed in for a very long time - Brian, the owner, couldn't do enough, everywhere was immaculate & breakfast was fab.
Will not be going anywhere else when in Devon. Just booking 2 nights in Aug as I type!

Reviewed by
Lucy Lingley

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and service.
Our second stay at Mulberry House and again excellent service and a nice comfortable room.Brian is a very attentive host and cooks an excellent breakfast. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
C Towner

From Folestone kent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best stay in torquay
my wife and I stayed at mulberry house for 4 nights.
Brian Jones the owner could not do any more for us from the time I phoned him the time we would arrive to when we departed, mulberry house was very clean and tidy, bedroom a good size and comfortable, the food was well cooked warm and plenty of it 10 out of 10.
Brian would always ask if there was any preference we would like to a full English breakfast.
I would highly recommend the mulburry house to any one thinking of staying in torquay.
we will be booking with Brian the next time we holiday there.

Reviewed by
p adderley

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Breakfast.
Brian [the owner] was a great host nothing was to much trouble to do!The rooms were clean and tidy, The Breakfast was more the enough,the rest of the b/b was also very clean and tidy.I would'nt think twice about staying there again .GREAT !

Reviewed by
BARRY WICKS

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A November Spree in Torquay
Didn't we have a lovely time on that long weekend in Torquay & the following ditty tells a story of our winter spree.We stayed at the Mulberry Tree G.House in an ideal part of Torquay,owned & run by Brian Jones definitely a 1st class B & B.On our arrival at Scarboro' Rd. Brian was there to meet us with a welcoming smile in a friendly style the perfect way to greet us.He showed us our room gave advice on the best area & route to find restaurants for an evening meal in places that could suit. Later & sure enough after a stroll by the marina & sea we enjoyed a good meal at a restaurant down on the quay. After a long busy day,satisfied & feeling tired we returned to our digs & very soon retired. It was comfortable so we soon nodded off & had a good nights sleep till waking next day to the sound of seagulls out on the street. At 8.30 we started the day with Brian's Big Breakfast surely the best, not just in Torbay but the whole south west.He gave good advice on places to go & things to do & on our daily return the room's so clean it almost looked brand new. Thank you Brian for making our stay memorable with great affection,highly recommended,great customer care,in fact almost perfection! So anyone reaching their energy gap & feeling they need a break go online & click on LateRooms.com it will definitely not be a mistake.

Reviewed by
David Bennett

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next