No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF
The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 271 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Hotel and car parks in great need of improvement. Our room and bathroom was very dark( very low wattage bulbs), I opened the curtains to get some light, only to see staffolding and a dingy back yard. Hairdryer didn't work (which they knew!) Shower was either hot or cold! My husband couldn't use it as he has a heart condition. But the 2 guys who run it are very nice and helpful! The bed was comfortable and the bedding nice and clean. We went out to have something to eat as the whole set up didn't look or sound very inspiring.

Reviewed by
T Lawrence

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find!
We booked Welbeck Manor as it was fairly cheap but were blown away by the quality. Very friendly and helpful. We will be back!

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic as always
Everyone is always very kind and polite at all times. You are always made to feel very welcome and nothing is any trouble. This is not the first time we have stayed there and we will be certainly visiting again. Thank you to everyone at Welbeck Manor.

Reviewed by
A English

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful setting
No designated Reception, and it was a bit difficult to locate a very small bell which we rang without result. After spotting a notice on the wall with phone number, lucky that my phone was fully charged, a friendly voice told us to go along the passage under the stairs to a door leading to the Golf Shop. Our room was very nice, though not boutique, so some might be disappointed, very restful and lovely to hear the wildlife very faintly. We saw lots of Squirrels before Breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant with our Host and Hostess serving and taking orders. Our Hosts were charming and attentive and we were fortunate to meet their very adorable Pug, Alfie.

Reviewed by
robert hunter

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with character
we booked a two night stay at Welbeck Manor with a teenager. Host was very welcoming and obliging and the breakfast was excellent. I am a vegetarian and had a veggie cooked breakfast which was very good. The chef was able to provide a supper of sanwhiches and salad despite it being a Sunday and his evening off. Welbeck is having renovations done and no doubt it will be lovely when finished. We stayed in the bridal suite and the room space was great. Our teenager had his own room and enjoyed his stay too.

Reviewed by
D Cooper

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
We have stayed at this Hotel on numerous occasions and would recommend to everyone.

Reviewed by
G Dunphy

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
R Richmond

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprise Location
We were skeptical on arrival as building work in progress outside, but totally unfounded
once settled in our room. Very friendly and comfortable feel to the Hotel, a very interesting old manor house very clean and excellent food. Also a bonus if you are a golfer splendid
nine hole course with a great view from the dining room.We were there in mid Feb,so would be terrific in summer.

Reviewed by
T Villiers

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sadly disapointed
having stayed before and left review i was sadly disappointed I've been in 3 rooms now bridal suite see last review ( dec 2015 different ) was put in room 6 which as no wi-fi so was moved to room 8 where wi-fi was weak . the rooms where very drab and badly maintained . floorboards were loose and had not been nailed back down properly .wardrobe was held back by a large wedge and top didn't open carpet was badly worn and felt dirty the bathroom wasn't any better toilet seat was loose and cheaply and badly decorated . the whole room had the feel of a cheap bed sit . this place needs major investment and tlc and rooms need major updating . cant fault the staff they are helpful and polite and breakfast is good as is the dining room and lounge area and the view from the dining area is beautiful ideal place if your looking for basic accommodation and get it at the right price and not looking for any kind of luxury really hope welbeck manor gets the tlc and investment it needs as this could be a beautiful place to stay

Reviewed by
p lowry

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Fantastic hosts and beautiful hotel. Would recommend to all.

Reviewed by
kim newitt

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next