No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 282 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Booked through late room . com and got what I thought was an excellent rate for one nights accommodation. However, on arrival the room was grubby and was sure it was not usually a 'letting room' electrical wires not pinned to the wall and what I considered dangerous was the heater in the but emphasize it was very efficient but had the duvet gone on to the heater during the night it would have gone up in flames. The en-suite wad adequate but no attention had been paid to detail, toilet roll holder almost falling off the wall.

Reviewed by
I Hannaford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Based on late rooms discounted rate - good value
Easy to miss unless you spot the golf course sign. Lovely peaceful location and friendly service. The bathroom was a little tired in terms of look and shower head, with poor water pressure. It would have been nice to have a comfortable seat in the room although there is a guest lounge if you want to avoid watching TV or reading laying down. Good fresh cooked food available and great views whilst you have breakfast.

Reviewed by
Celia B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something Different
If you are interested in historic country houses set in a beautiful location then this will be for you. Welbeck Manor has the feel of visiting a property which retains the air of having been a real family home. As such there is not the polished sterility of the usual hotel-chain experience; and you would do well to go there expecting the imperfections of an old country house.
The welcome was warm, the water was hot, the bed was comfortable. Brand new tv installed the day we arrived. Tea making facilities in the room. Comfortable lounge and dining-room with a good breakfast of you choice cooked to order.
Do make sure of directions or sat-nav as the approach is through rural Devon, but not too far from the main through route.

Reviewed by
Sylvia S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Lovely old manor house, not too modernised, so the character shines through. To start with, the staff are most welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble. Room was fresh, airy and light. There was a nice view of the course. No mould or damp in the room and smelled of newly laundered sheets. All appliances worked well. Room was warm and comfortable and a good size. Shower room worked well with a good healthy stream of hot water. TV was a bit on the dodgy side, however, I do not really watch much, so this was no issue. Beds were very comfortable with enough pillows to float or sink a battleship. Lighting good and plentiful. Did not try the WiFi, so can not comment on this. Breakfast was a buffet style cerial table and a help-your-self juice selection - one thing I rant over is size of juice glasses, and yes, these were champagne flute sized. One thing I would change. Cooked breakfast was hot and fresh and a good size, and as much toast as you want. Car parking - as much as you need. Other things - bar available and the said 'good walk spoiled' game. So at the price, this was an excellent hotel with a lot to recommend it, and only a short drive from Plymouth. Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Lynton S

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired room, stained dirty carpet

Reviewed by
Tamsin A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
We had a lovely experience in a quiet, peaceful, beautifully situated grand house. The scenery from the breakfast room windows was magnificent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. Will be going back again.

Reviewed by
R Richmond

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Overall comfortable environment but could do with a little updating. The thing that let it down the most was that it was freezing and I mean freezing which is saying something for me. Second night was warmer. First night was disappointed with food choice as I had decided what to go for but then was told menu in room was only a sample! What I had was good though. Second night went for dinner and it was't open and no-one around to enquire whether they would be open! Place has real potential

Reviewed by
J Coulson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Excellent friendly service, definitely revisit, loved the whole experience, great quality, didn't want to leave.

Reviewed by
allison c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Une grande maison...
This is a lovely old house set in a quiet rural setting. This is our 3rd visit. Each time it gets better.
The house is gradually being refurbished and still has a way to go but it is comfortable and clean, lovely fresh linen and very good value. John , Julie and staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are superb! All staff are really helpful and jovial. Lovely views of golf course from some rooms but not all.We stayed for 2 weeks and felt like one of the family when we left.We will be back !! :-)

Reviewed by
Christine H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next