No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 284 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Excellent friendly service, definitely revisit, loved the whole experience, great quality, didn't want to leave.

Reviewed by
allison c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit to welbeck manor and enjoyed it just as much as the first time

Reviewed by
m white

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This Manor House is an Unspoiled Gem
At the price we paid, our expectations were not too high. However what a surprise on first glimpses as we approached this delightful old Manor House along the narrow drive through the Golf Course. It certainly looks very photogenic and on entering, it is clearly old and unspoiled retaining all it's old charm and impressive features. The staff treated us really well on arrival and throughout our stay so we will certainly revisit again next time we are looking for a quiet weekend break.

Reviewed by
Vicki R

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best one night stop ever!!!!
Beautiful setting, excellent welcome and the room with view - amazing! Couldn't fault this place in million years.

Reviewed by
M Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in Novemnber
Amazing grounds and the building has potential to be amazing. Its a quirky place but very charming, the staff are very laid back but courteous and very helpful. The building needs a refresh and I think this is on the cards, fantastic value for money and we had a game of golf the next morning within the grounds, the golf course was very good especially for the price. Its not 5 star but i would certainly recommend , we had a lovely 24 hours here

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unusual hotel with old-fashioned charm
This is a somewhat unusual hotel - an old manor house (apparently designed by IK Brunel) within a golf course with lots of charm and clearly old-fashioned appeal. The family room we stayed in was huge, in fact a suite of two bedrooms linked together. The rooms have old-fashioned, but beautiful furniture (somewhat worn, but this adds to the character if you like that kind of thing). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar two nights - the pizzas were excellent, real ale on tap and board games available for entertainment. We would definitely go back if we visit the area again. The only things to criticise were the electricity supply (power outage for no apparent reason in our room, but not in the corridor etc) and the hit-and-miss wifi - not working in our room, but OK in the lounge.

Reviewed by
Othmar E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hosts were extremely helpful and very pleasant. They couldn't do enough for us.
The Manor is very old, with no central heating in the room, although a very efficient electric fire. There was no double glazing. The patrons were lovely and very helpful. There is a 9 hole golf course right outside the door if you so wish.

Reviewed by
Jill F

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
We only stayed for one night, but it was s great experience. Everyone was friendly and the room was lovely. Perfect for a weekend gat away

Reviewed by
Raquel A

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only saw one member of staff, fleetingly, when he gave us the room keys. Never saw anyone else, staff or guests, the whole stay. The lobby was in darkness and restaurant and bar were both closed, although we were not told this on arrival. Several attempts were made to contact staff by ringing the bell at reception for assistance were in vain. Although we booked bed and breakfast, there was no sign of breakfast as dining room was again in darkness. Same applied to checking out. No-one to be seen.

Reviewed by
ELAINE S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hmmm... not sure about this place
We stayed here for 1 night ready for a day at Dartmoor Zoo early the next morning. On arriving at the hotel there was no-one around but a bunch of very dead Iris in the fireplace. A note on the desk advised us to call a number for attention, we called several times but the number was always engaged then I tried a mobile number I found on the exterior door which was answered and a man came to give us our keys. We had breakfast included in the cost of the room and I asked what time this would be served. Breakfast was 8am until 9.15am, I asked if we might be able to get anything earlier as we had to be at the zoo for 8am and was told we would be able to get a coffee but at 7.45am the next morning there was no-one around or any sign of coffee let alone breakfast!! We paid our bill in the golf shop(!) and left hungry for our day at the zoo

Reviewed by
R Reynolds

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next