No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Silverton Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Fore Street, Silverton, , Exeter, EX5 4HP
The Silverton Inn is a family-run free house located in the centre of the picturesque Mid Devon village of Silverton, just a few miles from Devon's capital city, Exeter. We are ideally situated for holidays, business trips and the University of Exeter. We offer excellent homemade food, local beers and comfortable bed and breakfast. We pride ourselves on great homemade traditional British cooking. We justifiably boast about our homemade food from the chef's speciality pies to locally sourced prime steaks and we even grow our own herbs on the premises. Check out our special offers on the dining page. The Silverton Inn has seven stylish comfortable rooms, which are available all year round at very competitive rates.
Picture of The Silverton Inn, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
I stayed here for work purposes as it was central to my customer base. The Inn was lovely, my room was fantastic with its own walk in wardrobe and decorated to a high standard. The only thing that annoyed me was the lack of phone signal and internet access. The wireless is very hit or miss and for me I did consider moving to another hotel because of this as it prevented me from working in the evenings. One other slight issue was the times the food was served 6pm - 8pm. I arrived at the Inn at 7.55pm and luckily they agreed to cook me something. They did provide me with details of other pubs which served food, however a young girl on her own I wasn't comfortable to do so.
Apart from the above points it was a pleasant stay and the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Clare Roberts

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stopover
Room excellent value for money. Friendly helpful staff. Second stay and will use again when in area.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Superb Country Inn
The Silverton is a delightful country inn serving the best ales at a very competitive price.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable,and the staff most helpful

Reviewed by
David O'Neil

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant

Reviewed by
J Wiseman

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Room.
A fantastic room, 4 star, great value for money, food was superb, staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
I Goodwin

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Town, Nice Accomodation
Great room, hot powerful shower, lovely well presented breakfast and even a knock at the door at 8.45 to make sure you don't miss breakfast! Just 2 bad points, as Silverton is an old small village the parking is not too good especially if you have a big van and the wi-fi within the Inn does seem very hit and miss.
Overall a very good and pleasant stay and would certainly recommend.

Reviewed by
Thomas Fairley

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, good food and a good friendly village pub atmosphere.
Room was clean and really good value for money.
Breakfast though needs to be served earlier than 8am to allow people to get to their place of business on time, I would suggest 7am,730am at the latest.

Reviewed by
jim mayer

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly village inn with high standards of accomodation and food
Obviously opened in the last 12 months the standard of accommodation for the price was excellent,
ensuite bathroom and instead of a wardrobe a walk in dressing room with hand basin . Friendly staff, excellent breakfasts and good evening meals available at reasonable prices.
(Shown by Local villagers who were collecting take away meals )
On street parking could be a challenge but we were extremely close each night
Locals in the bar were welcoming especially as we had just walloped their club Exeter.
.
l

Reviewed by
william h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay near Exeter
We wanted a quiet spot to stay, close to Exeter as we wanted to shop and eat out. The situation of this Inn was perfect as it is situated in a pretty village where most of the buildings are thatched and seem to be very old and very pretty. It's a quiet spot but only a few minutes drive from Exeter City centre. Not sure what public transport is like as we had our car. There is no parking on-site, we had to park in a free public car park a few hundred yards away, not really a hardship for us but with children and lots of luggage, it might be a nuisance. The Silverton Inn is a pub with rooms above. It is not a hotel, nor does it claim to be. We had a friendly and efficient welcome and were shown to our room. A large family room with a large double and a single bed. The fixtures and fittings were good quality and everything was spotlessly clean. The room had obviously recently been re-done, the decor was contemporary and tasteful, the result was a very comfortable place to stay. The slightly unusual aspect was the stairs within the room, which led to another floor. This comprised of a room big enough for a double bed or a comfortable bathroom but which was totally empty. We found this a bit of a waste of space, especially as the shower room (also upstairs) was way too small. I think the space could have been used better. However, there was plenty of hot water and for a 2 day stay, it was fine. Breakfast was great, we ate dinner one night, that was also lovely and a reasonable price, as was the beer. The staff were friendly and the service was good. I would recommend staying here, we really enjoyed it and would go back.

Reviewed by
S Christensen

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Enough
Just OK. The hosts are not oozing charm are warmth. The whole experience was OK

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next