Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > North Somerset > Bs49 Hotels > DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol South - Cadbury House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol South - Cadbury House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Frost Hill, Congresbury, Bristol, BS49 5AD
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol-South Cadbury House is located only minutes from Junctions 20 & 21 of the M5 motorway, Bristol International Airport & Yatton Railway station which has direct links to Bristol City Centre and London. This Bristol hotel is set against a backdrop of woodland and the semi-rural location is complemented by wonderful views across the Bristol Channel and beyond into Wales. Our full service hotel offers a relaxed country ambiance with a warm and friendly service.Our contemporary hotel features conveniences suited to the business traveler, along with a great location and recreational amenities to please leisure guests. Spacious Guest Rooms and Suites boast a long list of guest amenities, such as generous work surfaces and the luxurious Sweet Dreams Bed Experience. Free WiFi is also available in public areas.Our guests have full use of our many amenities including:* Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill* An award winning Health Club and Spa* Well equipped fitness centre, with spinning and dance studios* Sauna and steam rooms* Indoor pool and whirlpool bath* Spa with over 80 treatments available* Hair Salon* Executive car hire onsite* Bicycles are available from the hotel to enjoy the local area* Golf is available nearbyDoubleTree by Hilton Bristol-South Cadbury House has 12 flexible Conference and Banqueting rooms to meet all your needs, including the magnificent Great Room and the equally impressive Drawing Room. All rooms offer the latest audio-visual equipment, creative catering services and professional staff to anticipate your needs and flawlessly execute your business conference, training seminar, reception, gala, wedding or social event.The DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol-South Cadbury House hotel is perfectly located for conducting business in the area or for exploring the West Country and South West. With easy access from either Junction 20 or Junction 21 off the M5, and only 10 minutes from Bristol International Airport and 1 mile from Yatton Train Station (with direct links to London Paddington), we are in close proximity to many corporate offices like Claverham Ltd, Hamilton, Sustrans, Brabantia and Bob Martin to name a few.Whether you are visiting us on business, vacation or on a weekend getaway, the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South-Cadbury House looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookie at check-in.
Picture of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol South - Cadbury House, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stuck in the nineties
A great stay in the 90's but this hotel hasn't moved with the times. The rooms are dark, the carpet thin, the furniture tired, the walls grey, the corridors like a submarine (F1 hotel look), the walls paper thin - great fun hearing others conversations though as you walk down the corridor - the room toilet like a public lavatory and the tv tough to work. Breakfast is an extra you have to pay for (we didn't expect to at £114 per night) and internet charge is £10 otherwise no wifi. Most hotels now consider free wifi and breakfast part of the package. On the plus side the staff were really helpful - we got an upgrade from our poky 'deluxe', and Harry on reception was attentive to our needs and could see that we weren't overly happy and tried his best to put things right. The major downside though is the food. It is billed as a Marco Pierre White restuarant but if Marco could see what was being offered he'd go barmy - the very cheapest value supermarket food, quite dreadful. But again, the staff were really helpful and pleasant. So, great staff, shame about the food and the hotel (at the prices they are charging). Someone needs to spend some money and get this place into the modern era.

Reviewed by
David L

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt that the room decor and paintwork was tied and not to a high standard which you would expect as the rest of the hotel was well presented. When attending breakfast I found that the booth I had been allocated had stains on the seats which was not particularly welcoming.

Reviewed by
A Thompson

From Brigg , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel let down by the detail
The hotel and room was very nice, there were some issues with cleanliness and the room could do with a bit of decorating but it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Modern, clean rooms. Excellent value for money. Will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
T Reed

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing, not the Hilton experience I was expecting.
An overall lack of attention to detail, and the inability to supervise inebriated guests somewhat tainted the Hilton experience. Paying what felt to be a premium price for a hotel room for a short break I was very disappointed. Our deluxe room had a tiny window, felt very dark and had faded decor. The furniture appeared tired. The room was clean but lacked a fridge, the TV picture was very poor quality giving the impression of not being tuned in properly and although booked for two people only one robe was provided. Our evening meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant was delicious, with excellent portions and reasonable prices. Unfortunately our breakfast experience was nowhere near as pleasant. Clearly busy due to being a weekend tables were not fully prepared - missing condiments and cutlery, and the relaxed standards of dress of some guests did not lend themselves to what I would expect from Hilton - wearing a 'onesie' for breakfast in a Marco Pierre White branded dining area (as displayed on staff aprons) really isn't appropriate. The hotel itself is a popular wedding venue, which is not a surprise given it's country surroundings. What was a surprise was a topless tattooed and blood spattered wedding guest swearing and acting aggressively and blocking the entrance to the reception. The beleaguered staff were trying to do their best to deal with the bloodied person, but are not bouncers. The evening was rounded off with a police car in attendance (I don't think the police officers were wedding guests!) the noise from the weddings on both nights could be heard from our room on the 6th floor.
Overall I feel let down by my experience. For a lot less I could have stayed in a Travelodge or Premier Inn and would have received a superior service. At no point were any apologies made for the behaviour of the disruptive guests and on check out nobody asked if we had enjoyed our stay. For me the Hilton brand has been devalued and I will not be using this particular 'hotel' again.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
I have stayed here a couple of times and the rooms are of a very high standard ideal for the business traveller. The health club is great too.

Reviewed by
Melanie Williams

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay For Early Flight -
The hotel Spa etc were fine and no surprises as we have stayed here before. The hotel has an unusual layout with numerous changes in levels. We had asked for a quiet room, so could not complain about the walk.
The restaurant however was truly awful. The service was indifferent and we had to call the waiter several times to get service. The meal we ordered (Chicken Kiev) came with what was described 'Real chips in beef dripping'. What we got was a soggy mush and when we asked what had happened to the 'real chips' we were greeted with a shrug and told the fryer had broken down. We were offered mash but then the meal would have been cold. The chicken kiev was dry with virtually no garlic sauce. Mr Marco Pierre White would have been equally unhappy with a poor dining experience. Though I don't expect he will get to read this. Never again! We will, however, try to put this on his website. It is worth mentioning that there is no other dining option on site.

Reviewed by
Charles Watson

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold room, no mobile phone signal.
Welcoming reception and all seemed fine for a 1 nights stay, got to the room on the ground floor and found it to be very cold. Tried to turn the heater up but it seemed quite inefficient, in reality the room only really warmed up by the next morning. The worst thing for me being a business traveller was I had no mobile phone signal throughout my entire stay. I'm on Orange, not sure if it would have worked for other networks. The work area in the room was at the end of one of the single beds and was very cramped, had to work on the laptop whist sitting at an angle to the desk - not great. Ordered room service and that was fine, in fact very quick in fairness. Room was fairly modern and the stay would have been ok if it wasn't for the issues I have mentioned.

Reviewed by
Andy Cain

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ladies night
Booked 3 rooms for ladies night with the girls from work. All rooms were fantastic, clean, good size and comfortable. Service at reception was great although the trainee gave us the wrong floor numbers we managed to work it out. A cookie on arrival was lovely and the food was fabulous!

Reviewed by
N Raymond

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing stay at the Cadbury hotel Bristol
Had a lovely stay as a treat for the wife's 40th birthday. We were met with a warm cookie on arrival. room was really comfortable, and would definitely visit again.
Only a couple of small observations was the carpets in the corridors were wrinkled, almost like they needed re-stretching by the carpet fitter. The other was that our room was on the first floor and appeared to be near the kitchen area, so you were often met with the smell of kitchen grease when walking to and from the room.
It didn't bother us though and our stay was nice and relaxing. Thank you Hilton hotels.

Reviewed by
T Eames

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next