No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Maids Head Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
20 TOMBLAND , NORWICH, NR3 1LB
Located opposite the famous Norman Cathedral in the heart of the city centre, with free on-site parking, The Maids Head is the perfect place to stay when visiting the historical city of Norwich.

The Maids Head Hotel has been welcoming travellers to Norfolk for centuries and epitomises the very spirit of hospitality in the heart of Norwich; Located in the heartbeat of the city adjacent to the Cathedral. It is the perfect place to stay when visiting the historical city or to explore the many local attractions such as the Norfolk Broads and nearby Sandringham. The Maids Head Hotel dates back to the 13th century. Originally owned by the early Bishops in the day of William the Conqueror, it is rumoured that Elizabeth I slept here in 1587. Norwich Airport is just 5 miles away and Norwich main line station is in walking distance. The hotel has its own resident's car park which is FREE to residents.

The bedrooms are furnished in a warm welcoming contemporary style and offer modern comforts and amenities. All have en- suite bath and shower facilities, duvets, satellite TV, hair dryer and hospitality tray of teas and coffees. The character rooms are beautifully decorated and have hosted influential characters such as Queen Elizabeth I, The Black Prince and Catherine of Aragon throughout time.

The newly created WinePress@Wensum offers simply prepared, delicious comforting food, paired with unstuffy service. The restaurant is unique in offering 40 wines by the glass and an opportunity to savour expensive and rare wines in affordable portions. The Jacobean oak panelled Maids Head Bar, surveilled by Norfolk famous sons and daughters including Horatio Nelson and Edith Cavell, serves a choice of real ales, beers and lagers. The Yard Bar specialises in lighter meals matched with a glass of wine and The Snug a perfect Captain's table for a special occasion.

Centrally located in the old Tombland area of Norwich, The Maids Head Hotel is a great base for a walking tour of the historical city. The city skyline is highlighted by two cathedrals, a Norman castle, medieval churches, the grandeur of Victorian architecture, an Art Deco City Hall and the 21st century landmark, The Forum. Norwich is famous for having a Church for every Sunday in the year and a pub for every day of the year. Walking tours start and finish at the Cathedral next door.

The hotel offers FREE parking and wifi.
Picture of The Maids Head Hotel, NORWICH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful friendly hotel
The Maid's Head is a beautiful very old hotel with character and charm in abundance. Highly recommended for a special occasion visit. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was of a high standard. Located in the heart of old Norwich it is an ideal base. Due to the configuration of the hotel it may not be ideal for those with particular accessibility requirements.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The shower head in the bathroom kept falling down which was a bit annoying. Apart from that, everything was great.

Reviewed by
Kirsty E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed.
There were quite a few steps from car park to carry luggage before getting to lift. Main meal in restaurant (lamb) was very dry and when I asked for mint sauce I was told there was none. I paid extra for an executive room with a seating area but the room appeared to be a standard double. (Room 326.) The next morning no one offered to help with luggage and staff did not ask if I had enjoyed my stay. They did not seem bothered whether I had or not.

Reviewed by
Katherine Y

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value
We got this room last minute with Laterooms and needed something in the centre of Norwich. Our window looked out to a brick wall, the shower was a bit temperamental and some channels on the TV didn't really work, but if you just need a hotel to sleep in rather than luxuriate in, I think it was all fine. Given it was cheaper than others in the city centre, I think it was reasonable value for what else is available. Staff were very helpful and check in/out very efficient. Lots of parking on site as well which was handy.
NB/ We opted not to have the £12.95 breakfast here, but given the variety of excellent, well-priced cafes in Norwich we didn't regret it.

Reviewed by
Varsha G

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and excellent location
Pleasant room at rear of hotel. Some refurbishment been done recently with a few things that still need attention, door in bathroom, lampshade with holes in etc. but generally a nice, large and comfortable room. Staff friendly and helpful. Very close to all the things you need to see and do in Norwich. Cathedral next door and Timber Hill a few steps away leading into the city so lots to explore. Good car park with hotel, Did not eat in hotel but restaurant looks very nice.

Reviewed by
elizabeth t

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Near perfect
I recommend this hotel because it was almost perfect. Very clean, comfy bed, excellent food and friendly staff. The only thing that let it down was the window in my room would not shut. This was ok at first because with it being a summer night it was not cold. However due to the traffic and the noisy pub revellers me and my young daughter struggled to get to sleep. This is a shame because I thought the hotel in general was excellent throughout and will be definitely staying again.

Reviewed by
paul r

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisey and hot in room

Reviewed by
S Tama

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wellplaced by the cathedral
ideal for an overnight stay. Didn't eat in as many places nearby eg La Tasca, Zizzis

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay in a lovely part of the city

Reviewed by
Lisa J

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming
Stayed in Norwich numerous times but this was our first stay here, won't be the last. Staff very friendly and helpful, very comfortable beds and pillows and great location.

Reviewed by
Anthony K

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next