You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

2

Beach Road, Woolacombe, EX34 7AB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (65)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jayson D

  • August 2016

Weekend away

Hotel clean and staff very good but dated.

  • Charlotte L

  • July 2016

Find somewhere else.

Short and simple, you'll be better off sleeping in a tent.

Had one night here and was awful.

  • David C

  • June 2016

Pleasant Stay in a Family Friendly Hotel

We arrived at The Royal for a one night stay before moving onto our weekend break in Woolacombe Bay itself.

The hotel itself although very dated was comfortable and considerate. The decor was sympathetic of the age of the building (I rather liked the old fashioned wallpaper and flowered curtains - it took me back to when I used to go and stay at my Grandparents as a little girl during the early seventies). We had a family room and the kids beds were in a separate part of the room to the main room. The bathroom was clean and the standard of linen was good. The room was also clean and with adequate tea and coffee in the room for the duration of our stay. There were a couple of coach parties staying there and everyone seemed quite happy. We went for a swim in the indoor swimming pool (which was being cleaned while we were there) and the facilities were more than adequate with towels supplied. And as for the breakfast, well what can I say. You won't be disappointed in the food one little bit. It was very well organised and laid out buffet style. As a former Hotel Manager, I know standards when I see them. This hotel was a clean and comfortable place to stay, and although it could probably do with some redecoration, it is a nice place to spend the night. The only downside was that the lift was out of order. The staff were all courteous and polite and the entertainment in the evening was also quite pleasant. All in all a very pleasant stay was enjoyed by all.

  • Jamie F

  • June 2016

The place is knackered.

The girls on reception were helpful.

  • Selina S

  • May 2016

Good value for money

Good sized room, clean and close to the beach for a very reasonable price.

Yes it is dated and the balconies look like they might collapse at any minute but for the price and location you can not complain. Friendly staff and plenty of parking.

  • David P

  • May 2016

Great location

Our double-bedded room with ensuite bathroom was comfortable and very large with a lovely view of the hills and Woolacombe Bay.

  • C Lidstone

  • April 2016

Great staff

Great staff great stay Read the previous reports and yes decor is a little dated but hey staff were great helpful and well informed .

food was plentiful and hot

Excellent value for money and can't fault it 100%

  • K Brown

  • April 2016

lovely family friendly hotel

Lovely hotel this is our second stay.

Great for children we used the pool every day. Food excellent with a great range of foods. Relaxing lounge with games for children. Drinks not too over priced in the bar. Entertainment more aimed for the elderly but they were the majority of the guests so can't grumble at all. Would recommend to families ☺

  • R Harris

  • April 2016

Lovely place

The hotel was a bit out dated however, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the views fantastic.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely visit again

  • m hazell

  • February 2016

Our Valentine's stay at the Royal hotel

The hotels cleanliness was of a very high standard it needs some repairs or window frames and balconys but this didn't impact on our stay the food and service in the restaurant was excellent the bar staff were friendly I felt the reception staff could have been a bit more welcoming and more approachable when asking for advice but overall a very nice stay and I would return the hotel is very 1930s style with the furniture in the reception area the views from our room was excellent