No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Beach Road , Woolacombe, EX34 7AB
The Royal Hotel overlooks the beautiful Devon countryside and boasts impressive views from the lounges and restaurant.

All bedrooms are ensuite and have TV and tea making facilities. The Hotel has a large heated indoor swimming pool, games room and live entertainment is provided most evenings in the Tudor bar.

The Hotel is well situated for visiting the numerous attractions of North Devon including including the southwest coastal path, the tarka trail and the Exmoor national park. This Hotel is completely non smoking.

Picture of The Royal Hotel, Woolacombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned but was good for a cheap family break
Not the most modern and fancy place to stay. But the staff are very friendly helpfully and the hotel was very clean. The pool was lovely and and great to take my little girl in to play

Reviewed by
James Gray

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food good but basic. Overall for my wife and I it was fairly good value for money

Reviewed by
M J B

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at The Royal
We initially booked in for one night with perhaps additional nights to follow, glad we decided to do that as would not have stayed there another night, our room and all in it was dated, dirty and shabby including the bath which was quite disgusting.

Reviewed by
C Cobban

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated.
In need of refurb. People nice but very dated and beds not that comfy.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget hotel
Excellent value for money, and great location forthe beach

Reviewed by
Greg B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not wheelchair friendly
I booked this hotel on the understanding that our room would be wheelchair friendly.sadly this was not the case. late rooms actually telephoned the hotel on my behalf to secure a wheelchair friendly room.we were given room no 12,badly let down by the royal hotel and will not be using it again

Reviewed by
will s

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

plenty of parking. not the most modern hotel i have stayed in but very good value for money .

Reviewed by
Graham A

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close the beautiful beach
It's within walking distance of the beach and we paid £50 a night so perfect for what we wanted. Would definitely recommend if you're not too bothered about the room - it's clean but dated.

Reviewed by
Danielle H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent value, not posh a bit tired and showing its age, but clen comfortable, and good value. Very well equiped for those with mobility issues.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the not so royal hotel
third time we have stayed at this hotel. same old carpets, same old furniture, check in delayed by 45 mins. was hoping for improvement this time, but not to be.

Reviewed by
gerald n

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next