No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Beach Road , Woolacombe, EX34 7AB
The Royal Hotel overlooks the beautiful Devon countryside and boasts impressive views from the lounges and restaurant.

All bedrooms are ensuite and have TV and tea making facilities. The Hotel has a large heated indoor swimming pool, games room and live entertainment is provided most evenings in the Tudor bar.

The Hotel is well situated for visiting the numerous attractions of North Devon including including the southwest coastal path, the tarka trail and the Exmoor national park. This Hotel is completely non smoking.

Picture of The Royal Hotel, Woolacombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.

Reviewed by
B Gurung

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
We had a lovely weekend stay, pool was very nice, the food was amazing and would definitely book here again. 😃

Reviewed by
Alison W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay for one night
The building and room was very tired looking. There was a funny smell about the place. The shower/toilet room was very basic. The bath was stained and my children refused to get in. The toilet lock and door was faulty. It looks like the door was unfinished and needing plastering. Very basic. The car park was full and I parked on the side part in the dark as it was not very well lit. I would never tell anyone I stayed here as I could not believe how badly it smelt. I could hear the next room talking due to the thin walls. The patio door appeared unfinished and I was worried someone might come in at night. There was at least a gap.

Reviewed by
K Padda

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you expect from a two star hotel
The staff were friendly and helpful, it was clean, room was dated and the floor above creaked constantly at night and the breakfast was not worth eating but it was a base and for the price it was what you would expect

Reviewed by
L CARTER

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic sea view from room and balcony
We were allocated a sea view room from the side of the hotel facing the beach. It was very good, clean and large room but a long walk from the lift and reception area. Well worth the walk.
The dining room has a fantastic outlook over the sea and the surrounding countryside. A truly magnificent situation.

Reviewed by
Janet S

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned but was good for a cheap family break
Not the most modern and fancy place to stay. But the staff are very friendly helpfully and the hotel was very clean. The pool was lovely and and great to take my little girl in to play

Reviewed by
James Gray

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food good but basic. Overall for my wife and I it was fairly good value for money

Reviewed by
M J B

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at The Royal
We initially booked in for one night with perhaps additional nights to follow, glad we decided to do that as would not have stayed there another night, our room and all in it was dated, dirty and shabby including the bath which was quite disgusting.

Reviewed by
C Cobban

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated.
In need of refurb. People nice but very dated and beds not that comfy.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget hotel
Excellent value for money, and great location forthe beach

Reviewed by
Greg B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next