No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
48 The Quay , Clovelly, EX395TF
Idyllic, is the only way to describe the harbour-side setting of this charming 18th century inn, where this famous fishing village forms a spectacular backdrop.

Bedrooms are stylish & enjoy delightful views. All rooms have sea or harbour views, they have also been recently renovated whilst adding some luxury new bedrooms in the old Sail Loft

The hotels relaxed atmosphere is conducive to switching off from the pressures of modern life, even if the harbour comes alive with the activities of local fishermen during the day. It’s not unusual to see our chefs checking the catch off the harbour when the boats come in

Whenever you choose to come and stay, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes, you might even find some famous “Clovelly Spirit”.

All bedrooms have
• flat screen TV’s
• Tea and Coffee facilities
• Free bottled water
• Sea and harbour views
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel, Clovelly at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome and though we found the resturant booked out we had a fab fish and chip supper in the 'Snug'. Obviously had amazing views across the sea. Parking close to hotel was a real bonus. Did not fancy the walk down through Clovelley with luggage. Great stay.

Reviewed by
Mark Thornton

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful break away - loved it all!
We would not have booked this hotel without the massive discount through using LateRooms - the lower price put it into our price range and made it, I think, appropriate for the standard.

Reviewed by
E Stubbs

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel location was fantastic never slept so close to the sea, views were outstanding.

Reviewed by
Paul Lewis

From Taunton, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Beautiful hotel and view - great food. Totally relaxing from
Start to finish. We had a really lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Lyndsey P

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
We booked The Red Lion as we wanted a quiet, relaxing couple of days away. We certainly got exactly that. So peaceful at night. Stayed in the sail loft. Lovely big room with huge bed and massive wet room. (Room 14). Breakfast was superb with fantastic choice, can highly recommend the fisher mans breakfast and the eggs benedict. My husband enjoyed the countryman's breakfast so much he had it both mornings. Waitress lovely and worked so hard. The barman was a very charming and pleasant man. The receptionist was very helpful and informative. As lovely as the place is the staff really make it exceptional. We will definitely be back at the first opportunity.

Reviewed by
Joanne F

From Lynton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovelly Clovelly
We had been trying to book the Red Lion for quite a while, but had always been fully booked when we wanted to stay. So now we have, we were not disappointed, the accommodation was lovely(recommend room 12) with a harbour view. The room was very clean & tidy & the staff were very friendly & polite :)

Reviewed by
steve Withers

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most delightfull hotel
This hotel is an absolute gem! located right on the quay in Clovelly. We stayed in the Sail loft and had two adjoining rooms that linked by a corridor. The quality of the rooms were exceptional with lots of attention having been taken to detail that made the rooms exceptional. The views across the bay from the rooms was stunning. We ate in the restaurant and again the food exceeded our expectations. I had the lobster and it was the best I have ever had in a restaurant. This truly is an exceptional hotel. We also took a fishing trip with Doug ( ask for him at the hotel) for 4 hours and caught over 100 fish in that time. This is the best hotel I have stayed at in Devon.

Reviewed by
Chris Franklin

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Fun, clean, friendly, welcoming

Reviewed by
sandra c

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best setting
this hotel was rcommended to us. booked via late rooms and got a massive discount. was advised later that the hotel sells off non booked rooms about a week before, so watch out for it as im not sure its really worth the £79 - £100 per person per night otherwise.
it was lovely, best ever setting, parking on the pebbled beach! we had a sea view room, probably the best room
room, clean, comfy, well stocked, the most amazingly white fluffy towels! excellent ensuite shower (room 4) could not fault this room. plus for me was the real door key..none of this electronic key card nonsense!
staff we met were all fantastic. Bar is terrific.
restaurant let it down, overpriced, tinty portions and badly prepared food , BUT extreemly tasty dont get me wrong, very overpriced wine list too and we had terribly slow service which ruined it . However, i would eat there again just be more picky with my food choices as one of the other dishes was a much larger portion and looked lovely.
Clovelly wonderful, bring your walking boots as some fabulous walks to do. walking poles a good idea. hotel gives you free admission to visitor centre and free landrover lifts up and down the hill if you need it..brilliant value.

Reviewed by
Kim F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and full of character
The Red Lion is a characterful inn right on the harbour at Clovelly. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated in a modern style. The staff are friendly and the food in the restaurant is good with an imaginative choice. Room rates are fairly high but given the quality and the location, not overly so. To fall asleep listening to the waves lapping the beach 10 metres from the hotel is an unforgettable experience.

Reviewed by
Julie K

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next