Reviews - Millers At The Anchor


Porlock Weir , ,, Porlock, TA24 8PB

Price From 168.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Charles K

  • August 2015

Pollock weir

Great location, friendly staff

  • Adele P

  • August 2015

Pit stop in Porlock

We stayed overnight at Millers at the Anchor to break up a journey to Cornwall and had a wonderful experience.

The hotel felt incredibly homely, full of antiquities and curiosities and a very warm welcome was received despite the late hour of our arrival due to heavy traffic. There is something very peaceful and timeless about the locality and we had a delicious breakfast in the morning. We are determined to return for a longer stay as soon as possible.

  • Carol D

  • August 2015

A Gem of a find

We received a very warm welcome at this lovely hotel which was in a beautiful location right on the harbour front.

Our stay was for only one night to celebrate my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary, and we were placed in a harbour view room with a four poster bed - a very comfortable room with everything you needed. There was so much of interest to look at in our room, and all over the hotel, and a million books to choose from, and there was even a small cinema room to enjoy the latest films. The decor was slightly tired in places, but quirky, sumptuous and comfortable at the same time. We had a really good meal in the lovely restaurant over-looking the harbour, from a varied menu - slightly on the pricey side, but very fresh, well cooked and well presented so we felt you got what you paid for. The waiter serving us was also very pleasant. Porlock Weir has a variety of little shops, along with a quaint pub next door, but it was very quiet and relaxing, even during July. We just wished we could have stayed longer, but we'll will definitely be returning in the near future. A really lovely place to be and I'd definitely recommend a visit.

  • Dave C

  • July 2015

Brilliant staff, amazing (quirky) decor, beautiful quiet location

So yeah, Millers @ The Anchor.

They describe it on the website as quirky. It really, really is. You could spend days poking about in the amazing array of fascinating stuff that liberally covers The Anchor. The staff are amazingly helpful, the food is delicious, the location is perfect. We had a harbour view double room - which on the website appeared to all have 4-poster beds. That ain't necessarily so, but the room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfy and the view was awesome. Only criticism, the shower didn't work very well at all. But (with more patience than I have) you eventually get a shower. Old buildings have plumbing problems. No biggy... We really enjoyed our stay and would heartily recommend The Anchor to anybody.

  • B Ttwheam

  • April 2015

Characterful hotel in a beautiful spot

Millers is a wonderful place full of quirky character.

The location is superb

and it provides as real sense of escape. The building itself is a bit rickety but

that just makes for a more unique flavour. I'll definitely return

  • Michael G

  • June 2014

Not impressed of Warwickshire

The Anchor was a great disappointment.

The web promised so much and failed to deliver. Room 1B was cramped, the wardrobe was ready for the fire. The bathroom was so small anyone of a larger stature would not be able to squeeze between the wall and the bath to reach the tiny wash basin. When using the sink one needed to be careful not to hit your head on the shelf. The toiletries were of a very poor quality. Eating in the restaurant on the first night was not a good experience and was then charged 10% service on top of rather inflated prices. For a cost of 264 pounds for 2 nights B&B we expected more quality in the accommodation and food. We have had far better rooms & food in B&B establishments. This is the worst place we have found using late rooms.

  • d cook

  • June 2014


staff excellent food super but room needs tlc lots of dust tv not working and shower head wobbly

shame because rest of stay very good

  • Martin L

  • May 2014

Excellent food and service, let down buy poor plumbing.

We stayed in a "garden view" room.

Should have been more worldly wise. The view was a back alley, room 9. The water pressure meant the shower over bath was poor at best and the cistern filled for ever until I mastered the flush. All that said the staff were excellent, attentive and "on the ball". The food was very good and everything was served piping hot. I have absolutely no problems in rating my stay at 9/10. I will return without question.

  • F Shaw

  • April 2014

Eclectic Bohemia

Fabulous location and stunning interior, stuffed full of Bohemian collectables.

The bed was unusually small however (even my feet dangled over the end at 5ft 6), the hot water seemed hotter than it should, and the over bath shower did not appear to work. The food however was excellent, as was the service-and we loved the place for its poetic licence.

  • Steve K

  • December 2013

Beautifully Quirky!

This is exactly what it says on the tin.

Very much a one off - from the eclectic range of antiques and collectables that cover just about every available the honesty bar and minima for viewing films. Within a couple of hours in this hotel you feel chilled out and the staff contribute to the relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Room very comfortable, breakfast excellent and cooked to order; we had dinner one evening and the food, again, was excellent with a good choice of wines. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay.