No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dusthole /The Kings Arms

2Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
1 Cornhill Terrace Garston Street, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5LN
The Kings Arms, a unique 15th century coaching inn, once owned by the Babycham family a perfect place to stay on your journey from Stonehenge to Glastonbury. A crossing point between Avebury Stone Circles and Wells Cathedral.
Close to Longleat Safari Park, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, and Clarks Village very near to the Royal Bath and West Showground.
Known as "The Dusthole" by locals it is set in an idyllic corner of Somerset on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet standing in a muddle of weavers cottages and manor houses 15 miles from Bath and Bristol.
Unchanged but modernised, the ideal English country inn.We are just off the ancient Fosse Way. During the winter you can enjoy fine in house produced food and drink in front of a roaring log fire, whereas on balmy sunny summer days you might decide to go al fresco under a thatched umbrella on our patio or in the tranquillity of our secluded picturesque suntrapped gardens!

Picture of The Dusthole /The Kings Arms, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Dushole
An absolutely beautiful setting with a real "olde worlde" atmosphere. The rooms (between 3 of us used 2) were full of character and we had clean sheets and towels but the cleanliness really needed more attention. There was a lot of hair in the bath, the bathroom rubbish bin hadn't been emptied, we had a kettle but no cups. We still enjoyed our stay - the host was a nice fellow and Jake the dog was wonderful. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
susan j

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 go cycling in Somerset
A very nice hotel with a high standard of food. We were made welcome, and all staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
John Green

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we did not stay in the dusthole as it was double booked but the owner found us another hotel

Reviewed by
ELIZABETH H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly Landlord. Relaxed and homely atmosphere. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
chris w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't even think about it.
Dirty, cold, ash trays full of cigarette ends everywhere.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amidst a strange unlikely setting,an old gaol and disused mill the dusthole is an attractive old building. room 1 was large with interesting furnishings and a very uneven probably 400 year old floor. the bed was huge and comfortable, the main light barely attached and potentially a hazard,the en suite small and basic.despite these shortcomings the room was shabbily quite chic and i enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
russell gardner

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great family room, very kid friendly. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Laura Bell

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stop Over
A lovely place to stay with unique rooms and excellent friendly service. The homemade food was excellent.

Reviewed by
H BROOKS

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dusthole Shepton Mallett
Good location

Reviewed by
Frank Howarth

From Heckmondwike, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dusthole shepton mallet.
Looks a lovely place from the outside. However having walked through the front door the first thing that hits you is the noticeable temperature, or lack of it.
We sat in the bar for a meal on our first night and had to wear our coats as it was so cold in there.
Having been shown our room, yes it's old and rustic. But again, it was freezing.
The owner did supply an electric heater to boost the temp, however the next day we asked for an extra duvet as it was so cold in the room.
The overall decoration of the pub/hotel looks old and tired. Breakfast is good, though again the temperature in the breakfast room is freezing.
The staff are lovely, helpful and try and resolve any problems you may have.
Overall, I would say the accommodation does not match the price you pay for your stay.

Reviewed by
A Harrowing

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next