No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Laburnum House Lodge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4 Sloway Lane , Highbridge, TA9 3RJ
Set in a beautiful region of Sedgemoor, next to the Bridgwater Bay Nature reserve, between the seaside town of Burnham-on-Sea and the historic market town of Bridgwater, and only 10 minutes from the M5 motorway, Laburnum House Lodge Hotel offers comfortable accommodation and is an ideal destination for individuals, couples, families and business guests alike.

There are 60 en-suite rooms arranged in double, twin or family layouts, all with colour TV and tea & coffee making facilities, and car parking for 120 cars. Laburnum House is an ideal venue for corporate and outdoor events. With 40 acres of ground, it is suitable for club events, shows, exhibitions, conferences and many diverse sports.

Please note that our bar and restaurant is open subject to demand; and may therefore close early on some nights.

There are three good restaurants/pubs within walkingdistance of our hotel.
In the instance of our facilities beingclosed our staff will be delighted to provide
you with directions, should you require local refreshment.

Please visit our website for our Full Terms and Conditions.
Picture of Laburnum House Lodge Hotel, Highbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The manager seemed surprised when we complained after our first night that our room smelled damp and musty. He pointed out the we had booked a 'budget' room as though this could explain things.However he provided an air freshener and agreed to change our room if that failed after our second night. The freshener masked the smell somewhat but we left our clothes in our case rather than have them smelling . Despite this and the cobwebs we did not pursue the offer of a change. We did hear from the cleaner that they have been aware of the smell in both rooms 34 and 35 for some time though it would seem no action has been taken to resolve the problem. No doubt like ourselves guests are only there for a short stay.
The area around our room was like a contractors yard with a large van parked right outside our door and another almost alongside. Neither vehicle is road worthy and both are untaxed.
Guests are required to checkout by 10 am. We left shortly before 9 but had to search for the cleaner to hand the key to as reception was closed and the phone was not answered. We were told the manager was out. As our booking was made for specific dates he must have been aware that we would be checking out and should have been on hand.
Altogether a disappointing stay

Reviewed by
Joan E

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great cheap hotel not many facilities but superb pub 15 minutes walk away

Reviewed by
paul norman

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and modern accommodation.

Reviewed by
Teresa N

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its a little gem of a location ... very relaxing ... v good food ..

Reviewed by
mark r

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel, enjoyed the stay, lovely welcoming people

Reviewed by
Timothy Riddick

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, riendly and very welcoming. Nice comfortable room in spacious accomodation in lovely surroundings. I really could not ask for more at the price I paid.

Reviewed by
Ahmad R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated- reminded me of crossroads but overall good service, clean towels & bedlinen & comfy beds.

Reviewed by
alison g

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sally smith
The family room we had was very dirty there was dog hair all over the floor and on the beds sheets and we have got to small children and we just had dog hair all over us the tea and coffee cups were not clean so we where very disputed. And every think looked really run down.it looks good on the website but don't be fooled.

ManagementResponse

This guest stayed two days, but during that time did not complain to us about the issues raised in her review. In fact, I recall she said it was "very nice" here. I wish these issues had been raised with me at the time, so any shortcomings with the room could have been quickly addressed.

Reviewed by
Sally Smith

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Moved from 1st room bathroom dirty and ants were tea things were. Second room was better but also could do with a good clean . Spiders and cobwebs in places that should have been cleaned in every day cleaning don't know how they could be missed. Very disappointed no food and the reason we booked was so that if we wanted to we could eat in a hotel resturant . Pics looked good don't be fooled.

Reviewed by
S Chastney

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Had a very lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Lisa Quinn

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next