No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Laburnum House Lodge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4 Sloway Lane , Highbridge, TA9 3RJ
Set in a beautiful region of Sedgemoor, next to the Bridgwater Bay Nature reserve, between the seaside town of Burnham-on-Sea and the historic market town of Bridgwater, and only 10 minutes from the M5 motorway, Laburnum House Lodge Hotel offers comfortable accommodation and is an ideal destination for individuals, couples, families and business guests alike.

There are 60 en-suite rooms arranged in double, twin or family layouts, all with colour TV and tea & coffee making facilities, and car parking for 120 cars. Laburnum House is an ideal venue for corporate and outdoor events. With 40 acres of ground, it is suitable for club events, shows, exhibitions, conferences and many diverse sports.

Please note that our bar and restaurant is open subject to demand; and may therefore close early on some nights.

There are three good restaurants/pubs within walkingdistance of our hotel.
In the instance of our facilities beingclosed our staff will be delighted to provide
you with directions, should you require local refreshment.

Please visit our website for our Full Terms and Conditions.
Picture of Laburnum House Lodge Hotel, Highbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the levels in Somerset

Very good value for money. We are a mobility-impaired couple , both aged 91. Our room was not fitted with specialized equipment, but we used the standard facilities with ease and particularly appreciated the ground floor level access. The comfortable beds and good heating were very welcome in the chilly August weather. Just one suggested improvement: brighter bedside lighting (if only for safety in reading medication labels. Well done, Laburnum House,

Reviewed by
Frank D

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to the 90's
We only needed a bed for the night as we were arriving after 10pm so we were not worried about anything too fancy. We only had a small budget so we were thinking our room would be of a similar quality to a travellodge. Our room turned out to be a bit of a disappointment, the whole room was a bit tatty and dated. There was a full sized fridge opposite the bed with rust splashes on the front, the toilet should have been cleaner and clearer instructions for the shower.
The wall were very thin as we could hear the occupants either sides very clearly!!!

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weird
Weird. Random overnight stay Xx. Don't judge by my opinion though. X. Just a weird place in a weird place. X. Cheep accommodation tho. Grin and bear it. Xxx

Reviewed by
LESLEY G

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Laburnam Lodge
The Complex was easy to find. Staff very accomadateing. Breakfast was 1st Class. Property very clean, beds made and towels changed daily. The only downside was the availablity of evening meal. Only bar snacks were available, so we only ate there on Friday Evening. We would have eaten there every evening if there was a decent choice available.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Vincent

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a disappointment it made my daughter cry!
Where to start? Hunt for reception, ring a bell, begin to introduce self - cut off with 'Just a minute' - and he was gone. And remained gone. I went looking for him in the end. Offered alternative accommodation to our booking - unsuitable. The first room we opened had not been cleaned. No apology. 'Try this' - handed another key. The replacement room stank - carpet cleaning gone wrong? Pest infestation treatment? Who knows. We didn't ever eat in the restaurant: breakfast at £7.50 a head was a bit steep; you had to notify them of an intention to take an evening meal - but I never saw a menu or price list, so we didn't bother. We tried some of the facilities - we went for a swim in the pool - greasy tidemark all round and broken tiles underfoot, cold/non-working showers. We played tennis - the hard court was fine, but the fencing allowed balls to go underneath regularly. The place appeared to be deserted most of the time we were there. No wonder. As we left, I took the keys to reception. Rang the bell. No response. It could be a nice place, but they are struggling. Presumably they have no money to invest or recruit extra staff. But if it was properly clean, that would be a start - and politeness costs nothing. At some point it received a two star AA rating - not in my view. Give me a Travelodge every time! It was our only holiday this year and my daughter (11) was really looking forward to it, but for the five nights of our stay she just wanted to go home. How sad is that?

Reviewed by
Richard S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would not recommend this place to anyone, I stayed there with my partner and 2 young children and we were woken up at 2 am by 2 people trying to get into our room which was very scary the room smelt very damp I would not go there again x

Reviewed by
Jamie Cooper

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Clean & tidy friendly Staff, food nice and Hot

Reviewed by
P Clark

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good stay
the staff at reception and in the bar and breakfast were excellent could not do enough for us ,
would put better graded hotels to shame with there excellent customer service .

Reviewed by
keith thomas

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The manager seemed surprised when we complained after our first night that our room smelled damp and musty. He pointed out the we had booked a 'budget' room as though this could explain things.However he provided an air freshener and agreed to change our room if that failed after our second night. The freshener masked the smell somewhat but we left our clothes in our case rather than have them smelling . Despite this and the cobwebs we did not pursue the offer of a change. We did hear from the cleaner that they have been aware of the smell in both rooms 34 and 35 for some time though it would seem no action has been taken to resolve the problem. No doubt like ourselves guests are only there for a short stay.
The area around our room was like a contractors yard with a large van parked right outside our door and another almost alongside. Neither vehicle is road worthy and both are untaxed.
Guests are required to checkout by 10 am. We left shortly before 9 but had to search for the cleaner to hand the key to as reception was closed and the phone was not answered. We were told the manager was out. As our booking was made for specific dates he must have been aware that we would be checking out and should have been on hand.
Altogether a disappointing stay

Reviewed by
Joan E

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel, enjoyed the stay, lovely welcoming people

Reviewed by
Timothy Riddick

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next