Reviews - Laburnum House Lodge Hotel


4 Sloway Lane, Highbridge, TA9 3RJ

Price From 125.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (22)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Daniel winmill

  • May 2015

Poor cleanliness of room!

I had saw the rating of this hotel and chose to ignore it, as the booking was a last minute thing and price was preferred over quality.

However, only having paid £35.00 does not justify a spiders nest growing in the room . (16)

I am sorry to write this as the owner or what appeared to be the manager perhaps is a lovely man and friendly enough.

I was also slightly miffed by on arrival it was locked and no-one was present, I had to call the number and wait for someone to allow me to come in, and triple check the cheapness of the room.

With a bit of TLC the rooms and the bar could be lovely, however this hotel has seen it's day at present and needs amending ASAP if it is to still run a business.

  • J Humphreys

  • April 2015

wedding guests weekend

It was a quiet relaxed weekend for my family and l.

For two nights . The rooms were very comfortable and clean - and surprisingly warm. The Management were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Roxana Simona U

  • December 2014

Nice people, quiet location, great country escape.

  • Richard B

  • November 2014

Not a place I'd stay again

Its a mess of a place, chalets and main building, but that's not what's the problem.

Its like going back to the early 1980's, but in a bad way. Everything very amateur, cheap and old/tacky, the whole place needs a total revamp. Room was clean enough, but things cracked, paintwork not finished properly etc.. The food menu is basic and the food, very much home cooking, but by someone that has just got in from work and chucked it together... The staff member I met was friendly helpful. It looks like its run by older middle aged men that have forgotten and style or modern quality. I was booked in for two nights, but left after one night, as just didn't like the place. As someone else has said on a review it has a feel of an Open Prison and nursing home.

  • steve Partington

  • September 2014

When dining/drinking I asked to charge the items to my room, I was suprised to find when checking out the hotel had already charged my debit card in my absence for the meals/drinks.

In my experience, most hotels add it to the room and you pay the total at the end of your stay.

  • Frank D

  • August 2014

On the levels in Somerset

Very good value for money.

We are a mobility-impaired couple , both aged 91. Our room was not fitted with specialized equipment, but we used the standard facilities with ease and particularly appreciated the ground floor level access. The comfortable beds and good heating were very welcome in the chilly August weather. Just one suggested improvement: brighter bedside lighting (if only for safety in reading medication labels. Well done, Laburnum House,


  • August 2014



Random overnight stay Xx. Don't judge by my opinion though. X. Just a weird place in a weird place. X. Cheep accommodation tho. Grin and bear it. Xxx

  • Amanda M

  • August 2014

Back to the 90's

We only needed a bed for the night as we were arriving after 10pm so we were not worried about anything too fancy.

We only had a small budget so we were thinking our room would be of a similar quality to a travellodge. Our room turned out to be a bit of a disappointment, the whole room was a bit tatty and dated. There was a full sized fridge opposite the bed with rust splashes on the front, the toilet should have been cleaner and clearer instructions for the shower.

The wall were very thin as we could hear the occupants either sides very clearly!!.

  • Dorothy Vincent

  • August 2014

Our stay at Laburnam Lodge

The Complex was easy to find.

Staff very accomadateing. Breakfast was 1st Class. Property very clean, beds made and towels changed daily. The only downside was the availablity of evening meal. Only bar snacks were available, so we only ate there on Friday Evening. We would have eaten there every evening if there was a decent choice available.

  • Richard S

  • August 2014

Such a disappointment it made my daughter cry!

Where to start.

Hunt for reception, ring a bell, begin to introduce self - cut off with 'Just a minute' - and he was gone. And remained gone. I went looking for him in the end. Offered alternative accommodation to our booking - unsuitable. The first room we opened had not been cleaned. No apology. 'Try this' - handed another key. The replacement room stank - carpet cleaning gone wrong. Pest infestation treatment. Who knows. We didn't ever eat in the restaurant: breakfast at £7.50 a head was a bit steep; you had to notify them of an intention to take an evening meal - but I never saw a menu or price list, so we didn't bother. We tried some of the facilities - we went for a swim in the pool - greasy tidemark all round and broken tiles underfoot, cold/non-working showers. We played tennis - the hard court was fine, but the fencing allowed balls to go underneath regularly. The place appeared to be deserted most of the time we were there. No wonder. As we left, I took the keys to reception. Rang the bell. No response. It could be a nice place, but they are struggling. Presumably they have no money to invest or recruit extra staff. But if it was properly clean, that would be a start - and politeness costs nothing. At some point it received a two star AA rating - not in my view. Give me a Travelodge every time. It was our only holiday this year and my daughter (11) was really looking forward to it, but for the five nights of our stay she just wanted to go home. How sad is that?