No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Bell Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
42 Market Place , Warminster, BA12 9AN
The Old Bell is a 14th Century coaching Inn and is quite possibly the oldest licensed premises in Warminster. It is situated within easy reach of central Bath in the rolling Somerset countryside, and a 25 minute journey south will bring you to the Historic town of Salisbury. Please be aware that on the weekends we have a late license until 2am with a Disco. the pub does get very noisy until the disco has finished. Relax and unwind in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms comprising of 2 singles, 2 family (sleeps upto 5) and 11doubles and enjoy one of our hearty breakfasts made with fresh local produce and served in our courtyard restaurant. Enjoy the added benefit of free parking, easy access to Longleat and surrounding areas and a wealth of beautiful countryside on your doorstep! There is a separate restaurant and a busy bar. On a fine evening you can enjoy a drink and a meal al-fresco style in the courtyard - the perfect place to unwind. Private functions including weddings can be catered for upon request. The Old Bell is within easy reach of many places of interest and beauty including Longleat House, Wookey Hole, Stonehenge, Avebury, Salisbury and it''s Cathedral and the ancient city of Bath. Friendly family welcome with good home cooked food and reasonable prices. We also have a 150 Capacity Function room available for private hire's Please be aware that on the weekends we have a late license until 2am with a Disco. the pub does get very noisy until the disco has finished.
Picture of The Old Bell Inn, Warminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good value for money
Although the staff were really friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was really disappointing. No toiletries in the room, not even soap. No spare toilet roll and a toilet seat that was broken and actually hit my young daughter on the back as she sat on it. Two of the lights had no bulbs in them and the Z beds for the children were not the best either. The shower was more like a drip and you had to be He man to turn it off! On one day the room wasn't serviced which left us with a bin overflowing with dirty nappies and sanitary wear as we had no where else to put them. For £90 a room I expected a lot more than what we got. After complaining the faults got fixed and money knocked off the bill but we shouldn't have had to complain in the first place. On a positive note the food was nice and reasonably priced. Overall a very disappointing stay and not somewhere I would recommend.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wiltshire
Excellent hotel, couldn't fault it in any way

Reviewed by
Les R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderfull
our stay could not have been better,so impressed when we arrived with room and the managers wife who gave us a amazing welcome and told us everything about the old bell in .
we even booked a second night .
food was exceptional wonderful chef.
all the staff could not be more helpful.
was told that on the weekend it could be a bit noisy but did not bother us at all.
could not fault our stay ,only one blip and that was the shower could do with a bit more pressure but it sufficed us.

Reviewed by
j williams

From Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service and great breakfast

Reviewed by
Graham Hardy

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation
This is a great pub in the heart of Warminster. The service was good and the breakfast in the morning was served fast and delicious. Perfect for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Harald Bender

From 71254 Ditzingen, Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and comfortable stay
After a long journey the hotel was a welcoming place for a comfortable night sleep. The room was clean and provided all that we required and the beds were comfy. I was slightly weary about the late bar licence but we stayed on a Tuesday and were not disturbed at all And slept soundly all night, I think this may be a issue only at weekends. The breakfast was amazing 10/10 and I was pleased they did a excellent vegetarian breakfast. All in all a pleasant stay and I would stay here again

Reviewed by
R Baldwin

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

character inn
Great value for a stay with a child for proximity to longleat. Staff helpful, outside courtyard a bonus.

Reviewed by
linda m

From hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We booked The Old Bell has we were going to a wedding nearby. Staff were extremely accommodating, letting us check in early due to the wedding, making sure we got a cab etc. The room itself was relatively basic which is what we needed as we were only using it to get changed and sleep but unlike a lot of hotels they had lots of tea, coffee and biscuits which are always good after a 3 hour drive. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfy. Breakfast was delicious and they even let me order off menu. My husband had a fry up and said it was delicious. Friends had eaten there the previous lunchtime and told us that the food was great. We had been warned by the proprietors that it could be quite noisy on a Friday night but we didn't get back until gone 1am so this wasn't a problem I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central place to stay, confortable and good price.
We booked here last minute as we wanted to visit Longleat. The Inn was in a perfect location for Longleat and the surrounding area. We were warned of the late license of the Inn, so we just took ear plugs and the noise didn't really bother us. It had a nice feel to it and was situated in the centre of warminster with a pretty beer garden out the back. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was brilliant and our room was clean and comfortable. There was also a secure carpark out the back.

Reviewed by
Kate B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the old bell inn review
lovely room, good size, clean and comfy bed- the breakfast was really good and staff friendly- got free wifi which we weren't expecting also -would stay again for sure

Reviewed by
k crowe

From Llanybydder, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next