Reviews - The Malt Shovel Inn


Blackmore Lane , ,, Cannington, TA5 2NE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • October 2015

The Malt Shovel Inn

A lovely "Out of the way" pub.

A wonderful cheery welcome. Food was plain but very tasty. Breakfast set us up for the day.

  • Carole M

  • October 2015

Autumn get away

We stayed here on our way back home after a short autumn break in North Devon.

The Malt Shoval gave us a warm welcome, comfortable and quiet nights rest. We enjoyed a beautifully cooked evening meal and the cheesecake was in my husbands words "the best he's ever tasted". Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • T Wiggins

  • August 2015

The Malt Shovel Inn

the staff were very friendly and location was great

the only downside was that we were told that our food order would be 20 minutes and 1 hour later we had to ask where it was we eventually ate 70 minutes after placing the order

but the food was good,

  • C Fenton

  • July 2015

4 stars

Lovely old pub and accomadation, good food.

  • M Farrell

  • June 2015

Very good

Great value and clean

  • Philip C

  • June 2015

Good value, great room, great food

The Malt Shovel is in a quiet setting down a narrow, peaceful lane The rooms are in an annex on the side of the inn and ours was very clean and functional.

The food and ales in the inn were very enjoyable

Thoroughly recommended. We will definitely return the next time we are in the area

  • Michael T

  • March 2015

Never again

On the first day of our stay at the Malt Shovel, we were just falling off to sleep late afternoon after a long journey and were awoken by a chambermaid entering the room to bring in clean towels but that was nothing compared to the second night when we were awoken at 3am by another female guest screaming and shouting at the top of her voice and using vile and filthy language with presumably her partner.

This went on for a good quarter of an hour, when eventually the police arrived and stayed til 5.30 in the morning and arrested the boyfriend on a charge of assault and criminal damage. Its the worst night I've had at any hotel I've stayed at, though did feel sorry for the proprietors.

  • Matthew Day

  • March 2015

Very good

  • j bolt

  • February 2015

Our views of accommodation and views.

Room / ensuite in ideal situation, room size good only thing let it down was bathroom could have been freshened up.

Food and service excellent. Thanks

  • Giles Walker

  • January 2015

Made me feel at home

Arriving in the darkness the lit up pub and hotel were a welcome sight in the dark December night.just trust your sat nav as the dark narrow lane gives no hint in the darkness of this jewel of a inn it has on it.

I can whole heartedly recommend the Malt Shovel. I stay in hotels all over the UK and abroad. They do not give you the warmth of welcome and friendliness found here. The room was warm and spotless - large comfy bed. Large safe car park to rear

The food was excellent both evening meal and the full English breakfast. The beers are very well kept.

Open log fires and a very friendly resident Labrador dog .

I will definitely stay here again.