You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Appledown House

4

Lamerton, TAVISTOCK, PL19 8SD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (10)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Allen

  • April 2016

Appledown House

The friendliness and welcome from Jill made our stay in Devon a most pleasant experience.

She provided fresh coffee upon arrival, which after a 6hr car journey was much appreciated. We were told that if anything was needed we were only to ask, nothing was too much trouble. Even though Dave her husband was more reserved in nature he cooked a fantastic breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed. Homemade bread & yogurt was available and the sausages were locally sourced we were informed. The house is situated between Dartmoor & Bodmin moor so afforded us stunning views from our room. The only downside is the two rooms are very close so all conversation can be heard so if our friends had not been in the other accommodation could of been off putting. Would we want to stay again if in the area. Definitely, thank you Jill & Dave you work very hard.

Response from hotel

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with your friends. We note your comment regarding noise from the adjoining room where your friends were staying. The walls between the rooms, and the two interconnecting doors are insulated to reduce noise but, of course, it's impossible to sound proof the rooms completely, no more could you in a normal house. You were a lively, friendly group and could be heard quite clearly at times so we're guessing you were having fun and enjoying yourselves! Thankfully, no other reviewers seem to have experienced a problem but we are grateful to you for pointing it out and will ensure guests, particularly where both rooms are occupied by friends/relatives, are warned that some noise may be heard.

  • MATTHEW G

  • October 2015

Great place to stay!

Lovely area, really nice couple running the B & B with probably the best breakfast I've ever had - including locally-sourced sausages, egg and bacon.

Spacious room and fantastic view of the Moor (even with the mist coming down)

  • G Charles

  • July 2015

Appledown House Excellent

The accommodation was excellent and nothing too much trouble for the hosts.

The breakfast was superb. Fresh eggs, homemade bread, local bacon and sausages cooked to perfection. Thank you Gil and Dave.

  • Barbara P

  • May 2015

No complaints

Friendly, helpful hosts, nice room with excellent linen and excellent shower.

breakfast very good - and excellent coffee.

  • Belinda M

  • February 2015

Comfort away from home

Could not fault our stay even though it was only for one night in winter.

I visited with my mother, my sister, my niece and her newborn baby son - hence we booked both rooms which are adjoining. The room was more than comfortable and every need had been thought out and catered for. The hosts Gill and Dave were both very welcoming and keen to ensure our stay was comfortable.

  • Sarosh Talati

  • October 2014

Devon Break

We stayed 4 nights.We chose somewhere near Tavistock as it enabled us to easily see other parts of Devon..We were pleasantly suprised to be upgraded free to a room with a conservatory.The room was comfortable and had a large double bed and an en suite shower/toilet.There was a kettle with tea/coffee and biscuits and fresh milk daily.Also a TV.The breakfast was excellent and plentifull.In fact after the first morning we had to ask to cut down on the amount.The eggs came from the chickens kept in the garden.The bread was freshly made and the butter was hand made locally.

Dave (who cooked the breakfast) and Gil were very good hosts and very helpful.Gil took the trouble to go on the internet to get the train times for the Tamer valley railway to Plymouth.They were also very helpful with suggestions on what to see and lovely places to eat. The views fromthe conservatory and the dining room were fantastic. We had a fantastic time.

  • J Thomas

  • October 2014

Apple down Farm

accommodation very comfortable, very welcoming with beautiful setting.

  • Christian D

  • September 2014

Wonderful B&B with two lovely hosts

Upon arrival, we were treated to fresh tea/coffee with biscuits in the breakfast room, overlooking the beautiful Devon countryside.

As my wife opted for de-caf tea, they immediately offered extra de-caf tea bags for the in-room tea tray, and each day we got some fresh milk for our room – just two examples of our hosts Gil’s and Dave’s attention to detail. The outstanding breakfast is also worth mentioning: They use a lot of local food (bacon, sausages, butter) if not home-made (bread, jam, yoghurt) - not to forget the eggs from their own chicken. Unfortunately we had only booked two nights at this B&B, but we really enjoyed the time at the Appledown House B&B, not least because of Gil’s and Dave’s advice for our planned trips into the Devon countryside.

  • Marilyn G

  • September 2014

Great breakfast room quite small

We enjoyed the breakfast very much and loved the local produce, home made bread, eggs from the hens outside etc.

Our room was the one overlooking the front of the house and was small. The other looked bigger and had great views. Bathroom was fine.

  • susan blake

  • July 2014

we enjoyed our two night stay at Appledown House, we found the room small but for a short stay just fine.

It was very clean and comfy beds. I would have liked a full length mirror as I could not see my dress top to toe. We are hoping to stay again next year in the larger room and look out onto the wonderful views.