No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Appledown House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lamerton , TAVISTOCK, PL19 8SD
Appledown House Country Bed and Breakfast is set in a lovely rural location in the heart of the Devon countryside, just about as far away from the every day stresses and strains of your normal life as you want to be, yet less than 10 minutes drive from Tavistock and Dartmoor. Inspected by the Dartmoor Partnership, their assessor David Farrant, said: "Appledown House is a 1st class addition to our membership and is thoroughly recommended. Rooms are comfortable, light and airy, and well-furnished''. The two bedrooms (both en-suite with showers) form the detached ground floor annexe and can be interconnected via an adjoining door (useful for families/friends) and the superior twin/superking has its own conservatory overlooking the heated outdoor pool and fabulous views towards Dartmoor. The double room with its tiny patio garden overlooks the front of the property. Well -behaved children are most welcome. We have ample off road parking for all our guests, together with secure bicycle storage and a drying area. Our heated outdoor swimming pool (open during the summer) is set in its own terrace within the south facing grounds of just under 3 acres. The northeast paddock is home to our free-range chickens who provide you daily with wholesome fresh eggs for your breakfast. There are several inns within 0.5m and a variety of different eating experiences are available in nearby Tavistock. Dartmoor is virtually on the doorstep, yet our country retreat is only 3.5 miles from the Stannary town of Tavistock.

The City of Plymouth, which boasts its own airport and ferry port, lies just 14 miles to the South whilst the M5 motorway and the Cathedral City of Exeter, with its international airport, can easily be accessed via the A30 dual carriageway. Tavistock is in a uniquely central position making visits to the rest of Devon and to most of Cornwall easy e.g Eden, Heligan,Truro and St Austell, Bideford, Bude and Newquay in under an hour, Plymouth and Looe less than 30 mins.

Picture of Appledown House, TAVISTOCK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apple down Farm
accommodation very comfortable, very welcoming with beautiful setting.

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful B&B with two lovely hosts
Upon arrival, we were treated to fresh tea/coffee with biscuits in the breakfast room, overlooking the beautiful Devon countryside. As my wife opted for de-caf tea, they immediately offered extra de-caf tea bags for the in-room tea tray, and each day we got some fresh milk for our room – just two examples of our hosts Gil’s and Dave’s attention to detail.
The outstanding breakfast is also worth mentioning: They use a lot of local food (bacon, sausages, butter) if not home-made (bread, jam, yoghurt) - not to forget the eggs from their own chicken.
Unfortunately we had only booked two nights at this B&B, but we really enjoyed the time at the Appledown House B&B, not least because of Gil’s and Dave’s advice for our planned trips into the Devon countryside.

Reviewed by
Christian D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast room quite small
We enjoyed the breakfast very much and loved the local produce, home made bread, eggs from the hens outside etc.
Our room was the one overlooking the front of the house and was small. The other looked bigger and had great views. Bathroom was fine.

Reviewed by
Marilyn G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we enjoyed our two night stay at Appledown House, we found the room small but for a short stay just fine. It was very clean and comfy beds. I would have liked a full length mirror as I could not see my dress top to toe.
We are hoping to stay again next year in the larger room and look out onto the wonderful views.

Reviewed by
susan blake

From Thames Ditton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location. Terrific hospitality. Great value for money. Highly recommend
Very enjoyable stay. Owners very helpful and friendly and full of useful local information. Locally grown produce at breakfast delicious and substantial. Terrific views if the Devon countryside.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, warm welcome
Perfect for a quick stop over, accommodating owners. Room spacious and clean, great shower. Vodafone customer so signal patchy as out in the sticks.
Thank you for a comfortable night.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!

Reviewed by
Y Karrer

From Switzerland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Lovely stay a lovely host a nice place to stay the superior room had fantastic views on a nice day
The only thing I would say negatively, and its NOT a game changer. The superior room has an extension sunroom divided off from bed area by a curtain and when it rained one night the rain on the polycarb roof kept us awake, but to sit in it with the views in the evening with a cuppa and the papers with the view.....Fantastic

Reviewed by
T Osgood

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT!
We booked this B&B at the last minute, as this was a trip to visit a very sick dear friend. It was absolutely lovely, the room was excellent, the bathroom was very modern and very clean, as was the whole of the accommodation. The breakfast was also first class and the host informed us that the bacon was local, and the yogurt and bread was homemade and very delicious. We had full use of the outdoor pool and the hosts were very attentive whilst giving us our privacy. They recommended a fantastic pub/restaurant where we ate that evening. we couldn't wish for more and would recommend to our friends and family. Our stresses and strains were put to one side as soon as we arrived by the hosts who offered us coffee and biscuits on the patio overlooking the pool just to wind down from our long journey, then informed us it was their pool party and would we like to join them and their friends and other guests to drinks around the pool, it was first class. The hosts were very friendly and professional hosts. Would definitely recommend this B&B. Will be booking again soon.

Reviewed by
A Ziarati

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, helpful owners; good, tasty and varied choice breakfasts; bedroom comfortable rather small
We enjoyed our four night stay there. The adjoining bedroom was left open for us to read at the conservatory end when the other guests had left. Bathroom facilities good with good hot shower.

Reviewed by
I Wilson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next