No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High St, Hindon, , Hindon, SP3 6DJ
In the heart of rural Wiltshire, minutes from the ancient mounds and henges of Salisbury Plain, close to the spires of Salisbury & Winchester, an hour from beautiful Georgian Bath, and half an hour from the beautiful gardens of Stourhead, lies The Angel at Hindon. A beautifully-restored 18th century coaching inn, The Angel was originally known as the Grosvenor Arms. Prior to its construction in 1750 a medieval inn, The Angel, existed on the site. Offering many original features, wooden floors, beams, huge stone fireplace, alongside our contemporary and elegant restaurants, The Angel has a mood for everyone, whether traditional or modern. Enjoy eclectic and inspirational menus produced from only the finest local and seasonal ingredients and a refreshing and elegant selection of fine wines from around the world. Our service is attentive, friendly,personal and professional. So, if you would like hand-pulled local real ale in genuine tradition and a relaxed dining experience, please come and join us! We have seven, beautifully appointed rooms, both doubles and twins and two for families, all en-suite. Featuring original features, and furnished in harmony with its 18th century origins as a coaching house, each room retains an individual charm, while offering the sumptuous comforts of modern living.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Hindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Arrived late evening, owners kept the kitchen open for us until we ate. Great welcome. Friendly atmosphere. Well cared for and looked after, both us and the pub.
Breakfast was superb! A wonderful start to the day.

Reviewed by
Richard King

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable room to stay in. Only one tiny criticism, I would have preferred a shower to a bath. The food was fantastic on the two night I stayed there. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
robert a

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could so easily be good
This could be a very pleasant place to stay but they don't seem to want to make the small investment it would take! The antique tiny television just won't do and why fit a shower head but without a hook to hang it on the wall? Surely the saving on hot water would cover the cost? A cheeseburger with chips and a pint cost £17.50 in the bar - a bit steep if you ask me. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great village hotel lovely area and lovely people
We stayed over night at the angel inn and we were very surprised at the size of the room and how nice it was too. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a night away from the city or a nice weekend retreat. Close to longleat safari park so was easy to get around. Many thanks for a lovely night away and a lively way to spend our weekend.

Reviewed by
S Sparks

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely accommodation called "The Angel Inn". A nice, calm, relaxing and enjoyable place to stay in
Well I really enjoyed being at The Angel Inn. It was a very calm and relaxing night, despite the fact of being at the countryside without phone connection.
I would love to go there again.

Reviewed by
J Ndombasi

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very helpful Staff. Arrived late but was looked after very well. Accommodation very nice.

Reviewed by
M Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very comfortable and breakfast first class

Reviewed by
Adrian F

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great cooked breakfast!!
The breakfast in the morning was amazing! Great cooked breakfast. The room was ok the bed was clean but the room didnt lock and the room didnt feel very homely. But for a one night stay it was fine and the owner was very accommodating and friendly.

Reviewed by
A Field

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inn in rural Wiltshire
Lovely pub to stay a night. Great location, close to Stonehenge, Salisbury, Bath, etc...Food was good, excellent customer service, free wifi, rooms are ample with ensuite facilities, though they have a shower you cannot shower standing Will definitely recommend for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
Carlos D

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful night in a lovely gastropub with rooms
Lovely village and a charming gastropub - whilst modern downstairs the bedroom was old fashioned in some respects and the shower room was a little tired but perfectly adequate and a comfortable (if rather squeaky) bed! Food was great - particularly good breakfast. All in all a good place to stay whilst visiting friends for a celebration!

Reviewed by
Jane F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next