No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Townstal Farmhouse

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Townstal Road , Dartmouth, TQ6 9HY
A warm welcome awaits you at our family run guest accommodation, set in the picturesque town of Dartmouth. This 16th century farmhouse (no longer a working farm) was mentioned in the Doomsday book. It has been tastefully extended and improved over the past thirty years so as to give the visitor a touch of olde worlde charm whilst relaxing in today’s comforts. Our 17 en suite bedrooms are all furnished to a high standard. All have colour TV, clock radio alarm, hairdryer, beverage tray and direct dial telephone.

Facilities are available for disabled guests. In addition we are able to offer four poster bedrooms which add that special touch to your stay whether it is for an anniversary or just a quiet night away from home. You can sit and relax in our lounge in front of a real log fire with a drink from our licensed bar. An á la carte breakfast is served in our oak beamed dining room and a three course home cooked evening meal is available on request. We pride ourselves with our reputation for good home cooking and friendly service with a smile. We have a large private car park. We are a ten minute walk to the town centre and harbour area. The buses run regularly almost to our door. Pets are welcome.
Picture of Townstal Farmhouse , Dartmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

autumn break
Excellent in every way - easy to find as farmhouse well-lit. Room very pleasant and all comforts provided. Very welcoming hosts.

Reviewed by
G Michell

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yet another satisfied customer.
Full of old world charm,excellent reception,food and hospitality.
Definitely on my list for further visits being within easy walking distance of Dartmouth.

Reviewed by
A HOBLEY

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Generally requires re-decoration and face lift, especially in the dining area.
One hand towel per person for use in both the shower/bath & whb is totally inadequate.
Suspect cleansing arrangements for crockery etc.
Generally poor value for money.

Reviewed by
D Ludbrook

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I booked the Townstal Farmhouse for a 4 night stay for my wife and I to visit Dartmouth and the surrounding area and to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is easy to get to, being on the main road before entering the town and has plenty of car parking space. This is a bonus in Dartmouth as you can't park anywhere near the town. There is a 10 minute walk down the hill to the town along very pleasant lanes and paths or there is a bus stop very close by and there are also taxis available.
The Farmhouse has some interesting history but has been converted very tastefully, retaining its old world charm but with all the comforts and facilities one would expect from bigger, more expensive hotels. Our room was delightful, perfectly combining that old fashioned charm with modern amenities such as tasteful lighting options, great tv, excellent en-suite with large walk-in shower and a modern four poster bed which is absolutely the best hotel bed I have ever stayed in.
There is a good choice of food for breakfast to suit all tastes and you can have a combination of anything and more. It is freshly cooked to order and was very good as was the service. The proprietors and staff clearly work very hard to make it so good. Our thanks to them for a great stay and we will, without doubt, stay here again when visiting this area.

Reviewed by
Nicholas H

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top bed and breakfast
An excellent small hotel/guest house. The bed was especially comfortable, the location was quiet but convenient and the breakfast - Oh! the breakfast; better than most hotels provide. It was hot, perfectly cooked and the produce was of a very high quality.

Reviewed by
D Habberjam

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at The Townstal Farmhouse
Our welcome was excellent, and we were updated on transport links into Dartmouth, as well as the walking route. The bedroom was lovely, very useful to have a fridge. The ensuite was excellent, the shower particularly so. The bed was comfortable, and we had everything we needed. The owners were very friendly, without being effusive. The dining room was a bit cramped, and if you were only a couple, you might get shunted around a bit after you'd sat down to accommodate larger groups. perhaps this could be solved by allocating tables?? But breakfast was excellent, and at a civilised time. Carparking was fine as long as you parked sensibly.

Reviewed by
David L

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming home from home.
Definately will stay again.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Wyatt

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
Family room comfortable
Breakfast excellent we had grandchildren agef two and four with us staff very accommodating to children's food choice. Excellent position.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant accomodation with friendly and attentive owners.

Reviewed by
david a

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I couldn't fault this hotel at all, I think it can not be recommended enough to anyone wanting to visit the area, I had the 4-poster bed room, which is £100 a night, but don't be put off by that, it's well worth the extra for the great clean room, the service and the friendliness of the staff
A* recommendation from me

Reviewed by
Michael O

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next