No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boringdon Hall Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ColebrookPlympton , Plymouth, PL7 4DP
Situated on the edge of the idyllic Dartmoor National Park and just ten minutes from Plymouth City Centre, Four Star Boringdon Hall Hotel is the highest rated hotel in Plymouth and provides a peaceful and tranquil refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Retaining its traditional charm and historic character to this day, Boringdon successfully combines the atmosphere of a bygone era with the luxuries of modern day living.

40 stylish en-suite bedrooms - ranging from majestic four-poster bedrooms with in the oldest part of the Hotel to contemporary modern standard rooms in the recently converted wings. There is also a Royal Suite for those looking to combine modern accommodation with the charm of a historic building.

Picture of Boringdon Hall Hotel , Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay Midweek
Comfortable well appointed hotel, enjoyed the accommodation. Fire in the Great Hall was very welcoming and warmed the Gallery Restaurant beautifully but could get a little smoky if not attended closely!

Reviewed by
david richardson

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heaven !
We spent an absolutely heavenly night at Boringdon Hall. The staff, from Reception through to housekeeping were friendly, helpful and utterly professional. The one small glitch on our bill was sorted quickly and efficiently with no trouble spared. I would stay here again tomorrow and recommend it to any traveller to Plymouth.

Reviewed by
D Jodrell

From Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange location
Great building with very good staff, however during dinner we could not hear our selfs because of a wedding party. I have no issues with this event but it could be managed better, more than twenty smokers outside of main entrance leaving little room for us to enter hotel, a smoking area would have been better.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and settings
I'm not usually one for leaving reviews, however I was so impressed with this hotel I had to make an exception.
You drive through a housing estate, thinking satnav has made a mistake, but then you spot the driveway to the hotel. As you drive up, you then spot the hotel looming on the horizon. It certainly looks like a country manor.
I've stayed in many old hotels, and the usual expectation is that as the hotel is old, so will the interior - how wrong I was. The rooms are of a high quality, with everything you would expect. I had a comfortable evening here. The slight downside for me was the evening meal menu, which I thought was limited - however I'm a fussy eater so it's more likely that my tastes limited what I could have.
I'm back in Plymouth in February, and I'll definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Tucked Away Gem
First time staying here as my normal hotel for the area is under new ownership. Has become my new favourite. Very oldy-worldy with quaint twists and turns and slit windows in the thick stone walls. We had a dove nesting in our window which just added to the magic. Rooms contemporary but in keeping with the style of the building. Food in restaurant offered good choice and was delicious. Staff could not have been more helpful in both hotel and restaurant.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A week away working in Plymouth
The hotel and staff are perfectly pleasant. the only problem is the internet access!!
I was in room 50 the hotel advertise internet access in public areas and in the rooms. I had no internet in either!
the staff offer to re boot the routers but all in vain!
A five night stay with no internet for a business user what a nightmare.
otherwise an ok hotel

Reviewed by
Bryan Leigh

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boringdon
As the name suggests a big old manor house steeped in history. Rooms very well appointed and a good size in an annex to the main house & linked by a glass corridor. I was staying on business and really needed to use the Wifi but it was a problem. I had 3 devices with me and none would connect in the room (they changed my room in an effort to resolve but to no avail) or the lobby/lounge areas. Very frustrating and although polite the hotel were unable to resolve the problem. I was given a drink voucher but what I needed was an internet connection!

Reviewed by
Stuart D

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy
impressed with the character of the building but it felt cold a bit. the road to the hotel is dark and isolated.

Reviewed by
E Smo

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a beautiful place!
We stayed for 3 nights on the stay two nights, get one night free deal. A stunning setting with far reaching views over Plympton. Boringdon Hall didn't disappoint on any levels. Our courtyard room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. We shall definitely return and would highly recommend a stay there.

Reviewed by
K Morris

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue
lovely venue,only stayed one night would liked to have been informed that we were staying in the same area as the wedding guests and maybe been given the option of a change of room as we were woken up constantly by party goers going to and from their rooms.food was great but when I told waiter or dietry needs it all seemed to much for the head chef.

Reviewed by
T Bowie-wooler

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next