No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Keystone Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Higher Bulstone, BRANSCOMBE, EX12 3BL , Branscombe, EX12 3BL
The Keystone Hotel at Branscombe near Sidmouth, is family run hotel. in a rural setting , Our restaurant, serves freshly cooked local produce, whenever possible. It is said, by the AA’s hotel services area manager FOR SOUTH UK AND LONDON, “The quality of food at the Keystone Hotel is well above 3 star standard, produced with loving care, complimented by an outstanding wine list”.

Close to Devon's dramatic “Jurassic Coastline”, the Keystone Hotel dates back to the 16th century, set in over 3 acres of grounds and garden. Surrounded by fields and woodland, you will find glorious beaches close by, as are many local attractions. Set in the heart of the quiet countryside, We offer you a location for a truly relaxing break. The Keystone is perfectly positioned for Pecorama with its trains and gardens, Bicton Park and Gardens, Beer Quarry Caves and the Donkey Sanctuary. Nearby villages include Lyme Regis the glorious setting of " A French Lieutenant's Woman." Also the towns Sidmouth and Honiton,not forgetting Roman Exeter. The Keystone Hotel is family run and more than a charming hotel. put simply, we provide home from home comforts in a rural setting. We endeavor to create a relaxed and caring environment,every guest matters and individual needs are met. For friendly accommodation in glorious East Devon, look no further than Keystone Hotel

Do you own your own aircraft ? Why not fly in to us, we have the exclusive use of Branscombe Airfield nearby.
Picture of Keystone Hotel, Branscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived at this hotel we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the room we were staying in, we didn't stay in the end because it was not a nice place. I would not recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Woolley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One fantastic night in deepest, darkest Devon!
Excellent! The room was comfortable, clean, warm and with TV, wash basin, hair dryer, tea and coffee etc. Unfortunately not en-suit, but at that price I didn’t really expect it. The food was great and the staff very friendly. The children’s play room looked fantastic, if my four year old granddaughter was with me we would probably still be there! My only gripe; the kettle lead went behind the shelf mounting, forcing you to either pull the plug out of the kettle,(with difficulty) or pour into your cup whilst standing on tiptoe to see how full it is. But all in all, a very nice place to stay. 10/10

Reviewed by
f gillie

From Swansea, Wales
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit.
If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay then this is ideal.
The hosts are very welcoming.
Both the quality and the quantity of the food is superb. The Dinner is restaurant standard, made using fresh, local produce. Exceptional!
If I was in the area again I would definitely stay here.

Reviewed by
Paul Hewitt

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for Wiscombe Hillclimb
Friendly place with superb food. Ideal for Wiscombe hillclimb. Good value for money. I will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wiscombe Visitor
Booked at the last minute, but very pleased we made the choice.
Our hosts made us very welcome, and the food was excellent.
We will return!

Reviewed by
Geoffrey K

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly hotel with excellent food
The duck with black cherry sauce was sublime!

Reviewed by
Andrew Sparkes

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic family getaway
Very welcoming hotel in beautiful setting, the owners couldn't have done enough for us a I would definatly recommend the hotel to any one especially if they have young children .

Reviewed by
D Veal

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and personal
We booked this guest house at the last minute in order the break a journey. It was in a very pretty spot near Branscombe and good value for money. Our hosts were very personal and friendly and we felt very welcome. The room was comfortable and the breakfast generous. I would recommend to anyone - especially welcoming to families. Only one small suggestion which would be to use known brands for the tea and coffee sachets in the bedrooms.

Reviewed by
Jenny S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Off the beaten track
Not a place you would find by passing by. Quite adequate for a 1 night stopover. floors in rooms were not as clean as they could be. Quiet location and very good evening meal. Good value at the price paid £65 in total for B&B and E/M.

Reviewed by
Michael Bristow

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal accommodation for Wiscombe hill climb events
My short stay at Keystone Lodge Hotel began with a warm welcome from Kevin and ended with a hearty breakfast from Judith.
My room was spacious and comfortable with plenty of storage space.
The room rate was very reasonable considering I had single occupancy of a family room.
As the Keystone is about 5 minutes away from Wiscombe Park it provides ideal accommodation if you're attending Wiscombe hill climb events.
Although I was a solo guest I should think this is a good family hotel. There is a large play room for children, children's teas and baby listening equipment is available.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next