No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road, Ilminster, TA19 9AR
**Hotel has 6 new built executive rooms**

The Best Western Shrubbery Hotel is south Somerset's leading Three Star hotel. You will enjoy quality food services in a modernized Victorian Manor House. The hotel has 2.5 acres of terraced south facing lawns. You can either dine in the hotel restaurant or have a light meal in the lounge bar.

Whilst being an ideal touring centre, the hotel also boasts extensive banquet and conference facilities with its Ballroom seating that accommodates up to 250 with free car parking for 100 cars. Located only 10 miles from Junction 25, M5 and half-a-mile from A303 the London/West Country major trunk roads, makes the hotel location ideal.

There are many National Trust Properties within half an hour drive. Bath, Wells, Hardy Country, Exmoor all are well within an hour.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel, Ilminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay very friendly staff
only stayed for 2 nights but enjoyed it very much, staff all very helpful

Reviewed by
Gary B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly the bed!
Everything was clean and comfortable as a generic hotel should be but the real drawback was that the bed was very hard and so were the pillows. Also I have not come across sheets and blankets for many years so my sleep was pretty patchy and frustrating in view of my prospective 40 mile bike ride the following day. I finally dropped off in the early hours when I mentally attuned myself to camping which I love. The main road just outside was very noisy all night.

Reviewed by
M Morris

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I am not usually inclined to write reviews or leave comments on hotels I have stayed in. They are normally, if run efficiently, simply a place to stay, work and move on. However in this instance what started out as simply ‘another business trip ‘was rather transformed into a very relaxing as well as a productive break. This hotel is completely without pretensions. The interiors of the common areas have retained many of the original features of the building and are scrupulously clean. The fireplaces in particular are of interest and the example in the dining room is a tour de force worthy of closer inspection. The carving and use of various types of stone is worth spending a few moments studying.

On a more practical note the hotel is run efficiently and thought has gone into ensuring everything needed to make a stay, comfortable, relaxing and productive was at hand. The bedroom was large enough and with sufficient desk space to work with books and computers without having to be constantly moving one or the other! It was also very well presented and clean, which always creates a good first impression for any stay. All members of staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and pleasant, again adding to the welcoming atmosphere created by the interiors. It is these small things and attention to detail that made the difference for me and separated this hotel form so many others. Another example of the thought gone into making the guest feel comfortable was the simple matter of the toiletries supplied in the bathroom. These were of a practical and usable size, not the usual bottles best suited to a dolls house !The bathroom itself was a decent size and had shelves to hand which were large enough to accommodate the normal range of toiletries needed to make a stay away from home comfortable. The hotel is located in the town of Ilminster which was something of a distraction in the early evening after finishing the business of the day so the only opportunity to sample the hotel food was at breakfast before leaving .Once again it did not disappoint.
Although my ‘business’ was actually in Crewkerne a few miles away from the hotel in Ilminster, I would not hesitate to use this hotel again if I needed to return to the area.

Reviewed by
P Dean

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roaring fire, great ambience
As I was travelling alone, the friendliness of staff is key to a successful stay. This was a pre-Christmas trip; and everyone, guests and staff alike, were in great spirits. A comfortable room; and a great "family feel" to the hotel. I enjoyed a dinner - the food (with just the right level of attentiveness) was excellent

Reviewed by
cathy g

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel -sadly arrived at 10pm and left the following morning at 6am so did not get to experience it fully but the room was quiet, clean, super comfortable and the rest of the hotel and the grounds looked really nice!

Reviewed by
Caron Buckingham-Rhyder

From Fontell, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant old style hotel
Nice clean well presented room in the annexe. Spotless bathroom, all fixtures working properly.
Only had breakfast the two days of our stay - good choice, cooked to order and well presented. (They were mean with the toast though - had to ask for more). We didn't eat there in the evenings, so can't comment.
Real ale was good condition, barman and other staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Thomas A

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for the money but
Excellent location we had a room that was over the entrance and the smoking area so it was noisy and smelly at times. If we had not arrived so late we may have become aware of it before bedtime and tried to move rooms.
Would not go back again because of this.

Reviewed by
Jon C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shrubbery Hotel, Ilminster
Comfortable room, extreamly clean. Excellent breakfast and dinner.

Reviewed by
G Hilton

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
not enoughg bar staff bearing in mind there was a function on . Never been to a hotel where breakfast is not served until 8.30 on a Saturday . We had to miss breakfast which we had paid for because we had to get home and the reception was not even manned .
Disappointing

Reviewed by
barbara p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel in historic Ilminster
I arrived after 8pm, probably looking shattered, and was shown to a large room, with 4-poster bed, sofa, desk and large ensuite bathroom – just for one person at a bargain rate!
Too late for dinner, but the breakfast was good, with fruit, yogurt etc, as well as full cooked options.
Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
L Williams

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next