No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lauriston Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
6-12 Knightstone Road , Weston-super-Mare, BS23 2AN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & Business 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Lauriston Hotel offers quality AA 3 star accommodation and is situated in the flat coastal town of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel is located on the seafront, overlooking Weston Bay with its Victorian Promenade and easily accessible long sandy beach.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome assistance dogs and good natured pet dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your North Somerset adventure with your dog*. Some rooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

Weston-super-mare boasts a large number of well known retail outlets and small boutiques within 5 minutes walking distance. The Hotel is well placed to enjoy Somerset and the nearby surrounding areas, including Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, the towns of Wells, and Glastonbury and the Roman city of Bath. Nearby is the city of Bristol with its famous Zoo and Brunel's SS Great Britain. Locally, Weston has a Sea Life Centre, the world's largest dedicated Helicopter Museum, the newly installed 40-metre high Wheel of Weston and the Marine Lake which is suitable for safe swimming.

The wide sweep of Weston Bay has miles of clean sandy beach, and a level promenade boasting superb views over the Channel. Weston beach has designated areas for wind and water sports, and there are boat trips around Weston Bay and further afield.

*Only assistance dogs are allowed in public areas of the Hotel.

free WiFi
Picture of Lauriston Hotel, Weston-super-Mare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5th July, Corona Sunsets Festival
Booked this hotel for me and a mate as we were going to the Corona Sunsets festival. On arrival the staff were very friendly & helpful.
The hotel was very clean and a lovely place, breakfast was great and again the staff were really friendly.
Top Hotel

Reviewed by
c slammon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very dog friendly
delighted to have found this hotel ! the location is on the seafront and dogs are permitted on the beach directly opposite.
we travelled with our two dogs - a beagle and a japanese chin - there were two dogs bowls in the room and a medium size dog bed with a lovely fleece cover on top.
we travel with our own bowls and beds anyway but this is only the 3rd time in 20 years of being a dog owner that i have been provided with bowls/beds for my dogs.
i was a bit hesitant re booking as it is a hotel run for lesser sighted guests and i was concerned they thought i was bringing two guide dogs - not at all ! all dogs are welcome - working and non working.
although there for 2 nights it was only on a b+b basis - breakfast was very good, haven't seen a choice like that for quite some time i.e. kippers or poached egg on smoked haddock.
the rooms were a good size, clean and tidy, windows opened easily and wide too.
only downside was lack of wi-fi, i got it in my room but my daughter didn't in hers, to be fair the hotel doesn't say it's available in bedrooms, only a lounge or two and tv room ( which was closed ).
i would very happily stay again, and i have already told two dog owning local friends as to how dog friendly it is !

Reviewed by
l fisher-payne

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded our expectations.
Excellent location on sea front with a very pleasant garden.A big plus point has to be the free parking.Our room was spotless - not even any scale in the kettle ! The breakfast was lovely & the staff were very pleasant & helpful.Perhaps the decor might be a little dated but we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Reviewed by
V Kerby

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok but a tired hotel, catering for an older customer
Television wasn't working but reception weren't concerned when I told them?? Breakfast fab, great service. Hadn't expected the older customers throughout then realised its a hotel catering for certain disabilities, not made clear on the site I used. Not a problem but some customers might not feel so comfortable. Tired facilities and in need if modernisation I think.

Reviewed by
Julie J

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super service. Brilliant hotel.
Staff fantastic. Room massive and lovely and clean. defo go back.

Reviewed by
J Newton

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, perfect location
Location is perfect just 1 min far from the beach and close to all the bars, clubs, restaurant and shops, great sea view, free parking which was very important and the staff was very friendly. will go back if I visit weston super mare again.

Reviewed by
Nima K

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in great location and very dog friendly
Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for 1 night in a double room and his mother and sister stayed together in a twin room. Both rooms were clean and had all facilities required for a 1 night stay. We also took our pet dogs with us, a Staffie and a Mastiff. The hotel catered for us all brilliantly and we had a very enjoyable stay. Being located right on the seafront, not far from the pier and other tourist attractions, I would fully recommend this hotel! We are all able bodied so did not require any specialist facilities but did notice how well equipped the hotel was for the visually impaired which we thought was fantastic. A great stay and would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Weston-Super-Mare.

Reviewed by
Joanne A

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower not working properly
The shower in the room did not work properly. The shower ran cold and hotel did little to sort out.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly comfortable hotel
I chose this hotel because of it's disabled access, it was a good choice , the staff are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is faultlessly clean, it's in a great location with it's own parking, a must in Weston. We had 2 mobility impaired elderly people in our group and with easy access into the hotel and around inside, with a lift to all floors, this old building has been sympathetically altered to still retain an elegance. Breakfast was very good, good choices, plentiful and hot. The rooms our party had were a good size with lovely bathrooms with grab rails and 2 of our rooms had walk in showers , nice hot water and quite powerful. Unfortunately we looked out of the back of the hotel which is a bit boring but for the price we paid and you don't need a view to sleep it was ok. All in all a great break and we all said we would go back again. A well deserved high rating from laterooms.

Reviewed by
Lynn Starr

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog area not nice, had not been cleaned, a lot of poo about. My 2 dog would not go in there.

Reviewed by
Steven Lloyd

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next