No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely not Best Western
The first mistake I made was to not check properly and assumed it was a Best Western hotel. I have used them before.
This hotel is conveniently positioned, and cheap. The breakfast meal was good with a reasonable menu and the bar is fairly well stocked with good beers including a selection of local and other real ales.
This is where the story changes because the premises are in a serious state of decay in terms decoration and furnishings. There is no guest lift and the staircase carpet is threadbare and probably dangerous. I was on the top floor so saw all of it. One of the urinals in the Gents toilet was leaking and had a bucket under it which "had been there for weeks"
The kitchen is apparently not open every day. In the evenings one person was having to run two bars and reception which meant service delays for the customers.

Reviewed by
A Blyth

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
Ideal for St David's station. Basic but clean and well priced for the location.

Reviewed by
Rosemari A

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel experience
To start with the attitude of the manager put us off on checking in, by reading riot act that we are responsible for any breakages. The room was reasonably clean, but mold etc only one socket available, shouting, banging of doors until 3.30am. About 2hours sleep. Did not bother with breakfast.

Reviewed by
Stephen Dowdall

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the hotel is in need of refurbishment, it provided everything I needed including real ales with my supper. A very convenient location.

Reviewed by
D Grimwood

From Maidstone, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some TLC
Externally in need of a repaint. Internally in need of major refurbishment, clear signs of damp ingress, chipped woodwork, dowdy colour scheme. Staff polite and rooms clean considering the general run down appearence. Good range of real ales in bar but easily beaten by a certain other well known pub chain a few minutes walk away. Served it's purpose in providing a comfortable nights sleep and breakfast at a rock bottom price. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Keith L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great western hotel, Exeter, ' shopping break
Hotel great distance from train station, but sad to say outside appearance did put me off, tired unkept, on entering the same to be said, room the same also, tatty, drawers broken when opened, on whole in.need of modernising. But room clean, lots of hot water, bed comfy. No iron!

Reviewed by
Aimee B

From westward ho, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No sleep till Sunday
I booked this hotel out of convenience as I was visiting my Son nearby. The first thing I noticed was that the few car park spaces by the hotel were a higher price than the main station car park literally a few yards away. Whether this is down to the hotel or not though, I don't know.
The whole place is in need of refurbishment and looks quite run down but my room was clean, although tatty. The bar downstairs is not the most friendly or cosy but OK as a general pub.
The trouble for me was getting to sleep, which was the main thing I needed from the place. The bed was decidedly odd and seemed to be split into two half mattresses - it was like laying on a slope. It was very warm - as it often is in Exeter - which doesn't help, but what kept me up most of the night was the continual noise of a generator or other machinery outside. The odd train was bliss by comparison. I fell asleep at some point in the early hours out of total exhaustion and awoke absolutely shattered.
The one plus point was the breakfast, which I wouldn't have opted for but it was included with the booking. A very nice meal indeed although the waitress looked so unhappy to be there I felt like hugging her.
I'm not sure I could stand another stay with so little sleep so I won't be returning.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely awful like fawlty towers
The room and everything was very very basic and smelly and dirty

Reviewed by
e taylor

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rude
My stay consisted of the owner of the hotel going into my room a few hours into my stay to then be told he could go in any time I find this shocking then he took £35 from my account as he said he smelt smoke when I said I had not smoked he told me he was taking the money and there's nothing I can do about it , I would not stay here again I recommend that you don't too it's two star for a reason .

Reviewed by
A Matthews

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient little dated
A convenient hotel for the Railway Station but could do with a bit of modernisation.
Great Real Ale bar downstairs

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next