No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay @ Gt. Western Exeter City Centre.
Because of delays, M6 J11/10, of which still to receive reasons, did not arrive until 6am.18th, Feb.
Nobody attending reception and did not get anybody until 6.30am when night porter finally put in an appearance.
I had rung Hotel on many occasions to update on My likely arrival and to say I was disappointed to have to hang about for 30 mins. is an understatement.
I was pointed to My room, no lift, and climbed in total exhaustion to the 3rd floor, room 6. Disgusted with lack of help from night porter, who I think was in an empty room, sleeping. Hence, 30 mins to wake Him and finally get to My room.
As I had business meeting @ 11am., 5 miles away, I had no sleep and only used bathroom to shower, prior to having an early breakfast which was reasonable. Self service, which doesn't bother Me, but as only 2 other residents there, felt more attention was possible.
The Hotel is "tired" and requires total update and redecoration. No Neo Sign so can be missed as, despite close proximity to Main Station, it was in almost total darkness. Review stated Car Parking, which there was, but this had to be paid for.
Spoke to couple guests who where on way to work, both builders, and there comments were not good and they were staying for 6 weeks whilst they were working on a school, nearby.
Price is only reason to stay here and if My experience is the norm, which it appears to be, I feel £45 for 3 hrs. stay was overpriced.
Even on checking out, service disgraceful as no one appeared to know how I was to pay.
Do I write to Gt. Western General Manager, as was not able to speak to Manager at Hotel, re. the foregoing or do You do that?
I await Your reply .

Reviewed by
Michael Heeligan

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for a two star.
Our room was clean, quite basic. The door leading to bathroom needs replacing because someone has put two dents in it. Vinyl on bathroom floor was ripped and some missing, could be dangerous if someone tripped. On the whole for a two star, good. Breakfast was good.
Would come again as very handy near train station.

Reviewed by
R Wey

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The staff were friendly, helpful, polite. The premises were clean but shabby, dark, old-fashioned in need of major redecoration in all areas. The communal areas were not welcoming and looked unloved. The bed was soft, the duvet was too small for the bed. The wall mounted TV didn't quite face the bed and couldn't be adjusted because of the socket in the wall with multiple plugs connected. This also meant you had to get out of the bed to use the remote control for the TV. Not good...

Reviewed by
david b

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
very helpful staff

Reviewed by
B Bradford

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accommodation
The room was clean, warm, reasonably well equipped with everything necessary. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked, there was a kettle. The shower was strong with plenty of hot water and good pressure. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Value for Money Stay that's 2 minutes walk from St David's Station
A good value overnight stay at the Great Western. Very polite and effective reception staff and the room was nice enough with a hot shower, bath and 32" LCD TV. My room was on the top floor and was warm and comfortable. This place is not The Ritz so please don't expect it, but overall, it did the job. Cooked breakfast was included and for the price I paid, this made my stay what I'd say was absolutely value for money.

Reviewed by
Darren O

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs updating
perfect location for Exeter st David's station, but they need to update the inside and outside of the hotel. walked into a pub with strong smell of beer is not always the best greeting. room comfortable food fine, just needs some money spent on new carpets and extraction fans to alleviate the smells of the pub and toilets in the morning.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bloody cold! Nice beer
Mainly friendly, helpful staff. Good food, excellent beer, Very cold everywhere in building, on the coldest night of the year so far. No car parking included-just public pay spaces at front of hotel and on station car park. Would use again in warmer weather

Reviewed by
steve s

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
It is not exactly the Ritz, but it is right next to the station, it is straightforward and it is very good value for money. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, but overall the place does its job well.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located, funtional hotel
Had a very comfortable stay for 1 night, hotel is very well located for St Davids station and the city centre

Reviewed by
Charles I

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next