No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located, funtional hotel
Had a very comfortable stay for 1 night, hotel is very well located for St Davids station and the city centre

Reviewed by
Charles I

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
I stayed in a single room, which was small, but functional and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is old fashioned, but the room was very clean, the shower was new and I had a comfortable stay. Great value for money and a good location if you are coming to Exeter by train. Only 10 min walk into the city centre, so a good location as well.

Reviewed by
Kamilla N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought I was booking a Best Western
But it was the Great Western. Serves me right for making a panicked reservation. Reception was very efficient, all ready when you walked in. The room was pretty awful. Really dated, desk and chair were no good if you did want to do some work as the closet was right behind the chair. All four pillow cases were very creased with transparent stains on it. A couple of hairs in the linen left me wondering if it was let for day use. No lamps next to the bed so you have to get up to turn the light of. No heating control which is not a problem but another blanket would have been good as the room was cool and the duvet really skinny. Importantly shower was hot and towels etc clean as was the rest of the room. £62 bed and breakfast but I did not stay for breakfast. As I said it was my error booking but the pillow cases and linen unforgiveable in any overnighter. Pub area was fine and a trip down memory lane.

Reviewed by
James F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty and smelly!
The plaster was cracked and the paint was peeling, the hotel stank of cigarette smoke,the carpet was frayed and threadbare on the stairs. The room was so damp the plaster was bulging off the walls, the bedding was mismatched, the towels were grey and the toilet was in a cupboard.
I stayed approximately 5 minutes before getting a refund and going elsewhere. In fact, I was prepared to drive home again rather than spend any time in this dump.

Reviewed by
Kerry W

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
We stayed in Room 17 and the bathroom door needed some serious realignment on its sliders!
We needed to leave before breakfast could be served but we thought that the meal which we purchased on the evening of our stay was excellent. The party consisted of one lady and one gentleman.

Reviewed by
Madge C

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting, don't go

Reviewed by
F Meurgey

From Brussels, Belgium
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is what it is, an old hotel/pub. Ideal for what I was looking for a place to lay my head overnight

Reviewed by
T Wilkins

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why would you stay here
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in the room was dirty the paint was peeling of the ceiling the bathroom door had more holes in it than Oscar pistorius's the Lino was peeling and tiles were laying on the bathroom floor the rest of the hotel had an odour of stale beer and the full English breakfast consisted of an egg cooked in stale oil a dry half tomato 3 soggy mushrooms and a sad looking sausage Baugh a hash brown on the side truly disappointing and not to be recommended

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Wisbech, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of TLC
Very tired hotel, in need of TLC. Room was clean, but some plaster missing, no towel rail in bathroom. Staff were helpful enough. I wasn't impressed with the breakfast - I asked for scrambled eggs on toast, the toast had been burnt and then scraped.
Only okay for the price. I've stayed in better for the same price.

Reviewed by
Denise P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay in this dump
The shower cubicle ceiling was covered in mould the Lino was ripped. Wall paper grubby and bubbling from wall. Something bit me and I itched all over. Bathroom so small ithe sink was in the bedroom. It was like a room from the 1960's - no parking
I will never stay there again. Didn't attempt breakfast!

Reviewed by
Chrissy K

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next