No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lamb at Hindon

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Hindon, SP3 6DP
The Lamb began trading as a public house probably as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a coaching inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country.

To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. Inside you will find the Dining Room, the Bar, the Sitting Room and the Meeting Room as well as nineteen individually furnished bedrooms. Outside you'll find our heated, covered terrace where you can enjoy a fine Havana cigar or one of our 200 single malt whiskies, regardless of the weather.

The Lamb Inn sits in the middle of the charming Wiltshire village of Hindon and is only 20 minutes away from Salisbury, 25 minutes from Stonehenge and 20 minutes from Longleat safari park.
Picture of The Lamb at Hindon, Hindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lamb
Been here on our motorcycling trips for the last 17 years, and the Lamb has retained the same welcoming ambience throughout. Despite several changes of ownership, the staff have remained friendly, and the warm local feel has remained.

Reviewed by
David O

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
A very comfortable stay with pleasant bar staff. Pity we had to wait so long for our evening meal but we understood there was just one chef for the busy evening. Bit of a gloomy place; could do with a makeover. Bit of an overstodgy menu for such a hot night. Goodness knows what will be on the menu next time we go now that Youngs have taken over the pub - pies I expect.

Reviewed by
Sandra L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable accommodation in a lovely village.
The accommodation was reasonable and the staff weere friendly. There were only two negative points. One was that several of the light bulbs in our room had failed and two lights didn't work. The other was that the food at both dinner and breakfast was not very well prepared . There is currently a change of owner taking place and maybe this was the reason.

Reviewed by
M Lapworth

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected
The menu was disappointing and did not reflect the brochure or website. It was a basic lunchtime pub menu and did not have any of the quality restaurant dishes we were expecting. The pub management changed whilst we were there and the new team was not interested in ensuring that we were happy during our stay. Breakfast took 35 minutes to arrive one day and we did not get what we had ordered on another. It is a delightful location and lovely atmospheric pub. I hope that it will soon live up to its advertised AA 4 Star grading.

Reviewed by
David Summers

From Bedale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little gem in Dorset
I have stayed here on a few occasions now, the atmosphere in the pub is friendly and relaxed whilst serving a good standard of food in the restaurant. The decor of the hotel is very tartan but the standard of the rooms are good. Beds very comfortable. There can be some noise from the road and the floors are a bit creaky but it all adds to the character.

Reviewed by
Brett R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lamb is a very good place to stay-, a lovely hotel in a good location for A303.
The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful. The bar was a relaxing place to be, before we enjoyed a well prepared and enjoyable meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was good too. We have stayed here before several times, either on the way back from Devon or during Wincanton Races and will do so again. We had travelled from Henley on Thames to Newton Abbot, to the races, and then to Hindon, around 260miles in one day - rather a long round trip - so we appreciated being in such pleasant surroundings, a haven really. Even the dog (a big old Irish Water spaniel) was delighted to visit again!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Shaw

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice weekend away
The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant.
The food was good, the evening meal was excellent but my breakfast was not quite as good (the eggs were over-cooked).
The restaurant is part of the bar, so it gets very noisy when the pub is in full flow, but this didn't bother us.
The room was nicely furnished with a small but good en-suite.

Reviewed by
Chris K

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay but shame about the wake up call
My husband and I stayed here while attending a friends wedding down the road. Our room was really lovely and the presence of my favourite Neals Yard toiletries in the bathroom really was the icing on the cake!!. Downstairs a roaring fire was very welcoming and the bar area looked lovely though we were at a wedding elsewhere so didn't go in. Breakfast was good though tea/coffee was served from an urn and the tea tasted like coffee. I would definitely ask for a fresh cup next time. The only downside was that for some reason we (and friends staying in other rooms) got a wake up call at 7am even though we definitely hadn't booked one. One set of friends had stayed the Friday night as well and had 2 wake up calls in a row, despite mentioning it to staff at reception after the first night - what a shame as we had come away without our young children for the first time, so really did deserve a lie in. As long as they could fix this, I would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.

Reviewed by
Artemis Cropper

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
What a lovely place to stay. We were very looked after by the staff. Food was just delicious, thank you.

Reviewed by
M Randall

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay and hearty meal with helpful and attentive service
The only thing that let this stay down a little was the size of the bed in the room we stayed in. I am only 5'7 but I found that the sleigh type bed was not long enough and I therefore didn't get a full nights sleep. Everything else was excellent.

Reviewed by
C Peters

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next