No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Torbay Star Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
73 Avenue Road, , , Torquay, TQ2 5LL
We welcome you to the Torbay Star, a comfortable friendly Victorian Guest house. All rooms have double glacing and central heating, digital wall mounted TV's with DVD player, beverage tray, radio alarm clocks and en-suite bathrooms with shower cubicle. Free WiFi access is available. A full English breakfast is served in our ground floor dining room, for those who still enjoy a hearty breakfast. Our menu has many different lighter options, with continental breakfast always available. We have one ground floor bedroom for those who do not cope with stairs too well, this room can be a double and single or three single beds. Our family rooms sleep four double with bunk beds and three double with single bed, a cot and high chair are available on request, also a toy box for families and we have two double rooms. There is free off road parking at the front of the building with space for up to five cars. Our local bus service is very good and close to the guest house, a daily or weekly ticket can be bought at a very reasonable price which you can use this to see the sights and leave your car in the car park. There is also an open top sight seeing bus and Torquay Train station is situated on Avenue road, which can be a very good way to travel. We are situated to explore the moors, take beautiful coastal walks, enjoy the sea from a boat trip, go fishing, play golf, relax on the beach or just do a bit of shopping. Our priority is to help you have the best holiday you can in a comfortable and friendly surrounding.
Picture of Torbay Star Guest House, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Torbay Star
Good value for money

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Traditional B and B, walking distance to Torquay Harbour even with a 6 year old.
Rose and Colin were friendly and welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was excellent, our room was very clean and big enough for the 3 of us. After a 3 night stay we felt hugely relaxed and would stay again personally or recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Andrea K

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic time was had by all.
My daughters and I stayed at the Torbay Star . The room was clean and perfect for us. Rose and Colin were very welcoming and helped us to plan our days out during breakfast. The food was delicious. They even accommodated for my youngest' love of sausage sandwiches ! I would recommend this guest house.

Reviewed by
S Akhtar

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly and helpful stay
Hoteliers were very helpful with local information and the place had a nice atmosphere. The room had too much furniture in it for my taste but it was bright and clean. The food was good and vegetarians were catered for.

Reviewed by
Melanie Bell

From Warburton/Lymm, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
We only stayed a short time, but enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and of a good size, the facilities were great, and the breakfast was delicious. We found the hosts, Colin & Rose to be very friendly & helpful, and we really appreciated their advice about what to see & do in the area. All in all a good value, family friendly B&B. I would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
M Hand

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome,large clean room, great breakfast- excellent value for money

Reviewed by
M Webster

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly base.
We used the Torbay Star as a one night stop over before traveling on to our holiday destination. Rose was very friendly, showing us our rooms etc. Our room was very comfortable, what you would expect for a guest house. Breakfast was fantastic! Overall I would recommend either as a base or for stop over during travel.

Reviewed by
G Davey

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Stay At A Lovely Hotel!
After a genuinely warm welcome, we enjoyed a great week at The Torbay Star Hotel. The family room is clean and well furnished. The wine cooler is a nice touch. The breakfast menu is broad and generous, even satisfying the challenges set by a fussy ten-year old daughter! It is less than ten minute walk from the hotel to the seafront. We have stayed at quite a few hotels in Torquay and without a doubt, The Torbay Star is the best so far. Mr and Mrs Fanthorpe are a lovely couple, friendly generous and the perfect hosts.

Reviewed by
H Ackley

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Lovely stay and lovely people, couldn't fault the accomdation food and owners, will definitely use this place again

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay :-)
Very clean room, breakfast was very good, highly recommend it, thanks for a great stay our children really enjoyed it, we will be back :-)

Reviewed by
Leanne S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next