No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Barton

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
543 Babbacombe Road, , , Torquay, TQ1 1HQ
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel. The hotel is light and airy and is decorated in neutral colours in a fresh modern style. Andrew & Helen will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one, being a small family run hotel means you will receive a friendly personal service with attention to detail at all times. Hotel Barton is ideally located only 300 yards from the harbour, town centre & beaches. The Mainline Station is about 1.3 miles as is the Riviera conference centre and Coach Station. The town has many bars, cafés and clubs to suit all tastes, and a wide variety of shops for those who require some retail therapy. The lovely South West coastal path is only 300 yards away for the more energetic amongst you. FREE parking and WiFi access.
Picture of Hotel Barton, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice place to stay, andy and helen really make you welcome.

Reviewed by
M Bamber

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very nice hotel with a good and personal service

Reviewed by
Anja Ö

From Germany
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality, excellent food. Convenient location close to the Harbour.

Reviewed by
E Lisi

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very clean and tidy hotel well run will be staying there again

Reviewed by
julian Quick

From Torrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly, lovely hotel
My husband and I were really happy with our stay here. Andrew & Helen are so friendly and very helpful with any questions we had about the area.
The breakfast was really nice and so was the room whic was very comfortable, clean and nice to stay in.
The hotel is a 5 min walk (if that) to the harbour and all the restaurants which was really good.
Having the loading bays for when we arrive and then a car park to use free of charge for the whole stay was really good.
Overall we really enjoyed everything about the whole stay and will be going back!

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Barton on a bad day??
Can not fault the Hotel accommodation and breakfast. Although the greeting we had left a very bad feeling on the day and added to an already very stressful day we had already had. We had spend the day in a garage 300 miles from home awaiting a fix to a broken vehicle meaning arrival could not be until later than originally planned. Last thing on my mind was to 'inform' The Hotel Barton to our detriment!!. Arrived at 'Hotel' and had actual abuse from the owner sighting, personal commitments and a bereavement which I thought was wholly inappropriate and unprofessional for an owner of a Hotel business. If an owner of a Hotel needs to spend time with their children or is in a particularly vulnerable state: 1) Don't run a hotel or 2) employ someone to check people in on specific days or 3) Advise guests that check in is at a specific time only on certain days!
Having verbal abuse at check in was not expected when booking a hotel. If I had not booked with late rooms and would have forgone the contract and gone elsewhere. Torquay has lots of lovely hotels and bed and breakfasts maybe this is one of them but on my arrival the professionalism and customer service was more akin to the Food Inspector episode of Faulty towers than what I expected from a stay at a Hotel in 2013. Also I don't think at this stage the owner even knew I am an Environmental Health Officer! A Francis MCIEH

Reviewed by
Adam F

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, we would recommend it to all our family and friends and we would stay there again well done

Reviewed by
michael irving

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel barton review
Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff and excellent value.

Reviewed by
M McCarthy

From Bexleyheath, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.