No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Langstone Cliff Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mount Pleasant Road Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, EX7 0NA
The Langstone Cliff hotel is magnificently situated, set in 19 acres of sheltered wooded grounds with spectacular views of the sea and estuary with a direct footpath to one of the best beaches in the West Country.

The hotel is still owned and managed by the Rogers family (generations two and three) who welcomed their first guests in 1947. Emphasis at the Langstone Cliff is on tradition and comfort coupled with with an abundance of facilities and entertainment.

Picture of The Langstone Cliff Hotel, Dawlish at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable and pleasant stay
This family-run hotel is a fine example of what an English hotel should be. Comfortable in all areas from the room to the lounge. The attitude of the staff was the best I have known, and I do travel for work many times a year.

Reviewed by
Derek Copley

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a Warm Welcome
Whenever we stay at the Langstone Hotel we're always given a very warm welcome. We love staying here.

Reviewed by
Caroline B

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely Hotel and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. Enjoyed many aspects of this Hotel. It is private and in an secluded coastal position. The facilities were good the food excellent. The staff are friendly and attentive.
The Hotel only has two floors but people with mobility problems should be aware of long corridors and stairs to different levels.

Reviewed by
John Bowers

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A note from Langston's Cliff.
Very average room (4), but that said I got a big discount so was OK for the price. Hotel perfectly located between Dawlish and Dawlish Warren. I went B&B and got my own, reserved table for (an excellent) breakfast in the dining room. Service excellent, especially in the bar... Really enjoyed the whole 'experience'.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family hotel
Can't fault it apart from the "family room" was actually a double room where they had squeezed another 2 single beds in. Felt like sardines with the 4 of us and luggage. If we go again we will book a suite but that's quite a bit extra on top of a pretty hefty price tag anyway.

Reviewed by
Tim Jackson

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Langstone Hotel
I was politely greeted by reception upon arrival . I really enjoyed my one night stay after having booked this through Laterooms. The restaurant carvery was really nice and a good selection of meals . A great wine selection and good value . Overall a good choice for somewhere to stay.

Reviewed by
paul f

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely nice hotel

Reviewed by
Frank P

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to a perfect Hotel
We first visited 17 years ago and returned for the first time after nearly 6 years to find familiar faces who remembered us and a very warm welcome. The Hotel has facilities far better than the 3 stars it has, covering food and bar, swimming pool, wonderful lounge, and often free entertainment.
The secret is that it is though a large Hotel, it is family run with various direct and indirect members working in various roles with an invested interest, as well as long standing staff who are just as much part of the 'family'.
It keeps its old charm mixed in with up to date facilities from wi-fi to sun loungers, well kept grounds to swimming pool. Also close to the sea and beach. So much for the very young to very old to enjoy .

Reviewed by
David CRACKNELL

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent service, the hotel and grounds live up to the previous reviews.

Reviewed by
James Woods

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 2014 Holiday
Hotel set in lovely grounds. Reception area excellent with very helpful receptionists and all staff brilliant. Food very good and plenty to choose from.
We had a lovely view from our room over looking the sea.
Room quiet small as it was a family room, plus could of done with a upgrade as still paid the going rate.
Swimming pool a bit on the small side and the changing rooms only has one shower plus one separate changing room.
On the whole we had a very pleasant stay and made the most of our week even though the weather wasn't brilliant.

Reviewed by
James D

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next