No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Telstar Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
75-77 St Davids Hill , Exeter, EX4 4DW
Situated in the heart of the ancient and beautiful city of Exeter, the Telstar Guest House is a charming late-Victorian guest house that has been a quality choice for accommodation in Exeter for more than two decades.

You will be within easy walking distance of the city centre and also near the University, Coach and Railway stations. The Airport and M5 are easily accessed.
Using Exeter as a base you can visit the beautiful South Hams, windswept Dartmoor, Exmoor or the splendor of East Devon's Jurassic Coastline.

We have a four star enjoyEngland rating and are continuously working to maintain and exceed that level of service.
Picture of Telstar Guest House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, great breakfast and parking
This is a nice place to stay - the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast stands out, freshly cooked, with touches like fruit salad, home made bread for toast, and home made jam. A major plus is the free parking!

Reviewed by
Penny K

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
I stayed here after settling my daughter into uni and I have to say the acconodation was excellant. Wish I had stayed two nights

Reviewed by
c mears

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very clean and comfortable beds.However the room needed some new curtains as they dont fit the window, and could do with brighting up. We were a little disappointed as the website bedrooms all looked lovley.
Breakfast room is lovley, and the food great, but on our first morning I think our order was forgotten and we waited over thirty minutes.

Reviewed by
J Freestone

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stop
Small with a lot of stairs, Clean and a good breakfast. Served my purpose

Reviewed by
Gunilla C

From Sweden
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Splendid breakfast, friendly staff, neat and clean room! We stayed the lowest price room, but it was more than expected, value for money. Thank you

Reviewed by
Kazuo H

From Tokyo, Japan
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
A very comfortable room in a building with character.
The Telstar is very well placed being within easy walking distance from both Exeter St David's station and the centre of Exeter.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast good.
I enjoyed my stay and will recommend the Telstar to others.

Reviewed by
S Lang

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small but fine for my purpose, staff very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was spotless, lovely to have fresh coffee in the room. A new/cleaner carpet and paintwork would have been just perfect.

Reviewed by
Jules M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable, friendly & great food
A very comfortable stay. Size and quality of room much better than anticipated. Bed very comfortable, decor tasteful and to a high finish. Nice touches in rooms, like filter coffee & cafetiere. Excellent choice of breakfast, all cooked/served to a high standard. Dining Room and downstairs spaces also tastefully decorated. Close to centre 10- 15 minutes walk. Friendly owners & staff. At first I thought the exterior looked a little dated, with hindsight I think it's probably just the overall appearance of the location of hotel. Maybe new signage would be beneficial? That said I would recommend the hotel and would use again without hesitation

Reviewed by
Beverley Foster

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked in a hurry
I booked in a hurry and found the accommodation, service and food of a much higher quality than expected at such a reasonable price. I would happily stay here again

Reviewed by
r wetton

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

james review
nice place friendly staff good food

Reviewed by
j hudgell

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next