Reviews - Telstar Guest House

4

75-77 St Davids Hill, Exeter, EX4 4DW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Loxton C

  • February 2016

Friendly staff, great value for money

In a last minute decision to stay another night in the area, my friend and I booked a room at the Telstar.

We were travelling with my two very young children so we booked a family room. We were not expecting it to be such amazing value for money. For a fraction of the price of some other hotels and guesthouses we got our own little annex complete with enclosed garden and patio. The children had their own room (a godsend believe me) so my friend and I could relax without being climbed all over while they caught up on a lot of missed sleep. The carpark around the back was easily accessible from our room, which for those who have 'baby luggage' is a huge relief. Attractive decor and spacious rooms aside, its the little things that matter most when you've had a long drive with two sick children.

I needed a glass of milk for my toddler to get him to sleep so I took my purse and went to ask. Not only did they give me enough milk for two bottles free of charge but they warmed it for me too so I wasn't going to be messing around with boiling kettles and waiting ages for it to warm with an overtired miseryguts. Yes, it's only milk but where I work and in the hotels I'm used to in West Somerset that would have cost at least a couple of pounds. Like I say, little things. Breakfast was great, good quality meats, good selection, set us up for the day.

I have recommended the Telstar to friends already and will continue to do so. I would definitely stay again in this lovely little establishment.

  • mark b

  • January 2016

Telstar Guest House

We stayed in room 22, excellent ground floor family room with separate bedrooms and a television in both.

Breakfast was fantastic, lots of places to eat within walking distance as is Exeter City Centre.

  • Roy C

  • December 2015

A little gem

Last minute decision to stay over in Exeter.

We couldn't have picked a nicer place if we tried lovely and clean, really friendly staff and the added bonus of parking which in Exeter is a premium. Not a big room but perfectly ok for us ensuite shower room very clean and functional , all in all I would have no hesitation staying there again.

  • G Palmer

  • November 2015

A well recommended stay a great family run hotel

A really good family run hotel (you can tell they have kept improving and adding things in.

Quirky. I got my recommendation from the nice lady who lives in Exeter on the high speed train who works in the buffet car. Thank you.

I would of liked a topper on my bed though as I am used to 5 star luxury as a tour operators husband. I liked the breakfast and Donna was lovely. I booked very last minute after I stepped off the train. Thank you!

  • Hannah M

  • November 2015

A really comfortable nights accommodation, staff were really helpful and friendly.

There was some noise as people moved around / returned to rooms, but no more than you would expect from any guest house, and other than that it was a really peaceful place to stay with plenty of space.

  • Kevin Tumber

  • November 2015

Laterooms to the rescue

Because of work I found myself having to spend the night in Exeter.

Laterooms.com helped me to find a room for the night quickly and easily. I booked the room from outside of the railway station and found a hotel within a 20 min walk from my location. On arrival I was greeted by a friendly and efficient member of staff who had local knowledge and could direct me to local ameneties. The room was clean and warm, and the morning the breakfast was excellent

  • M Zuber

  • November 2015

Cold

Not the best and not the worst.

Very small and cold room. No double glazing, and the tv only has radio. Service very good

  • S Barrow

  • November 2015

Information

This was a perfectly decent little guest house and was, undoubtedly, good value for money.

The breakfast was good too. My big beef with this guesthouse was that, because I arrived late and after the desk clerk had gone home, I had a terrible time parking and bringing in my suitcases. I had arrived at Exeter airport after 36 hours of travelling from Australia without sleep. I received a phone call, which was helpful, giving me the code for getting my key out of the safe box by the front door. So far, so good. I asked whether there was parking and was told yes, and how to get to it. This was a relief as I had two suitcases and was travelling alone. Unfortunately, the tiny car park was full and at no point had I been told that this was possible or where to go as an alternative. This meant that I had to drive around an unfamiliar city and then find my way back to the guest house, very late at night, travelling alone and dragging my suitcases. I felt vulnerable, as anyone would in an unfamiliar City. It would take no time at all, and be so reassuring, if supportive instructions were given to guests.

  • Janet M

  • October 2015

Telstar Guest House

I thought this little hotel was amazing value for money.

Quirky, friendly superb breakfast, absolutely everything provided in my room and parking possible. Couldn't fault it - wish I owned it!

  • Matthew R

  • October 2015

Great Hotel

Really enjoyed my stay here, friendly staff & a great price.

Breakfast was great, though room being on the road can be a little noisy when trying to sleep. Would certainly stay here again next time I am in Exeter...pleased to say the WIFI was great as well.