No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Telstar Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
75-77 St Davids Hill , Exeter, EX4 4DW
Situated in the heart of the ancient and beautiful city of Exeter, the Telstar Guest House is a charming late-Victorian guest house that has been a quality choice for accommodation in Exeter for more than two decades.

You will be within easy walking distance of the city centre and also near the University, Coach and Railway stations. The Airport and M5 are easily accessed.
Using Exeter as a base you can visit the beautiful South Hams, windswept Dartmoor, Exmoor or the splendor of East Devon's Jurassic Coastline.

We have a four star enjoyEngland rating and are continuously working to maintain and exceed that level of service.
Picture of Telstar Guest House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
A very comfortable room in a building with character.
The Telstar is very well placed being within easy walking distance from both Exeter St David's station and the centre of Exeter.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast good.
I enjoyed my stay and will recommend the Telstar to others.

Reviewed by
S Lang

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small but fine for my purpose, staff very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was spotless, lovely to have fresh coffee in the room. A new/cleaner carpet and paintwork would have been just perfect.

Reviewed by
Jules M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable, friendly & great food
A very comfortable stay. Size and quality of room much better than anticipated. Bed very comfortable, decor tasteful and to a high finish. Nice touches in rooms, like filter coffee & cafetiere. Excellent choice of breakfast, all cooked/served to a high standard. Dining Room and downstairs spaces also tastefully decorated. Close to centre 10- 15 minutes walk. Friendly owners & staff. At first I thought the exterior looked a little dated, with hindsight I think it's probably just the overall appearance of the location of hotel. Maybe new signage would be beneficial? That said I would recommend the hotel and would use again without hesitation

Reviewed by
Beverley Foster

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked in a hurry
I booked in a hurry and found the accommodation, service and food of a much higher quality than expected at such a reasonable price. I would happily stay here again

Reviewed by
r wetton

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

james review
nice place friendly staff good food

Reviewed by
j hudgell

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly small guest house with admirable green credentials.

Reviewed by
Jennifer D

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY PLEASEANT BREAK
Enjoyed a lovely long weekend. Room fine, breakfasts lovely, situation perfect.

Reviewed by
N Cant

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont go anywhere else, stay here
I always have high expectations when i stay in a BnB and often wonder how i would do things if I were running the show.I left this place today thinking that I would do everything as these guys are doing it.
This long running family business has got nailed down, its now being run by the daughter of the original owner (apologies if i have this wrong) and everything is just right. Its modern without forgetting the classic essentials. The welcome, the ambience, the decoration, the customer service and most of all the breakfast are all spot on.
My partner and I are both in or 30s with no kids and stayed in the double en-suite room that overlooks the Exeter Countryside. We really enjoyed ours stay, would stay again and would recommend this BnB to friends and family.
Our stay did involve one problem that was out of the control of the owners and they handled it perfectly, sorted everything out in the right way and provided the right solution to the issue. Really well handled.
The rooms will always be small in a city BnB but our room had plenty enough space to be comfortable. The Wifi was excellent with full bars signal in our room and there were DvDs free to use in your room. The bathroom was small but very neat and clean with good tiling which really helps you feel as if they are making an effort, I will take this over a larger tattier bathroom any day of the week. Breakfast was great, there was too much selection and everything was tasty (and i like my breakfasts!!).
For the price your really can complain so its most probably harsh not to give it the 5 stars but as I said I always have high expectations. I'm mainly knocking a star off even though the bed was comfy and I had a great nights sleep but I would have liked a better mattress. Mine own at home is my ideal mattress so its harsh to compare but I am, sorry owners. I will say though if I find a BnB better than this for its price point I'll be very surprised.
If I were to give 1 bit of feedback it would be to change their cover photo on Laterooms. As when i first looked at the cover picture there, of just the sign and the the door, it put me off and I placed this BnB in a 'No' list as it looked tatty. When looking at Trip Advisor's cover picture of the whole building its a far better truth of the cleanliness of the property. If this BnB wasn't so far up the 'Places to stay in Exeter' list on Trip Advisor I would not have picked this place just on that photo alone!! Thank you Trip Advisor.

Reviewed by
Timothy Blackmore

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, friendly, would definitely stay again!
We loved our room, we had our own private terrace looking out onto Exeter, which was perfect being my partners birthday. Our room was clean & tidy, as was the rest of the guest house. I would most definetley stay again & recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Kimberly N

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Green and Convenient
Wonderful breakfast - and the claim is that as much as possible is locally sourced. Having home made date and walnut bread for toast was definitely a highlight for us.
We were impressed with the clean room too. Drinking water supplied in a re-usable glass bottle rather than a disposable plastic one. We were also happy to have some ground coffee provided with the kettle in our room.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next