No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Telstar Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
75-77 St Davids Hill , Exeter, EX4 4DW
Situated in the heart of the ancient and beautiful city of Exeter, the Telstar Guest House is a charming late-Victorian guest house that has been a quality choice for accommodation in Exeter for more than two decades.

You will be within easy walking distance of the city centre and also near the University, Coach and Railway stations. The Airport and M5 are easily accessed.
Using Exeter as a base you can visit the beautiful South Hams, windswept Dartmoor, Exmoor or the splendor of East Devon's Jurassic Coastline.

We have a four star enjoyEngland rating and are continuously working to maintain and exceed that level of service.
Picture of Telstar Guest House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop
Fantastic little hotel within a 10 minute walk of the city centre. A warm welcome received on arrival. Parking is available at the rear, really useful although a bit tight for space if you drive a larger car. A superb breakfast spread, made even better since thay start serving at 07:00am, ideal when you've got a full day's work ahead. My only negative comment would be that there were a few too many cobwebs hanging from the ceiling in my room, even noticed by a bloke! Other than that I would definitley recommend.

Reviewed by
Trevor S

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm welcome
Excellant value, location and service.
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Really enjoyed my time at the Telstar guest house, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the bed was comfy. The place has a nice atmosphere as well, I liked all the old leather armchairs and other tasteful decorations that were about the place. There was a bit of traffic noise from the road at night, but that's the only real negative I can mention.
I would try and stay here again, given the price I paid and the good location.

Reviewed by
Joshua E

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed quiet stay and good breakfast
Staff was polite, food was delicious, coffee was a bit cold, room was big enough, furniture consisted of big wardrobe, desk, TV and cpl of cupboards. Toilet was clean. Nothing to complain considering the price and would definitely use it again.

Reviewed by
S Kiskis

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog and Master
The Telstar were most accommodating both to me and to my hound, Toby. The room was clean, the bathroom up-to-date, and the lounge a good basis for work while it rained outside. I enjoyed the individuality of the decor and the friendliness of the welcome.

Reviewed by
Matthew Leigh

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Great for my one day stay. Convenient location near Exeter St David's rail station & the Uni campus. Staff helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable. Only quibble was I could hear someone snoring in the next room!

Reviewed by
A McCutcheon

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely experience!
I booked my stay at the last minute as had to stay over night in Exeter and wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised right from the beginning and loved the overall experience. Everything about this B&B is just wonderful - the service and always helpful staff, very cozy, clean and warm rooms, spot clean bathrooms, lovely touches throughout the whole hotel and huge and very tasty breakfast which is included. Also the location is fab - only 5 mins from the centre of the town on foot. I enjoy my stay over here so much that I've booked 2 more nights as my work plans have changed. Definitely worth it! :)

Reviewed by
Ivana Sevcikova

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accommodation
I booked into the Telstar just hours before I arrived, I was travelling alone and wanted a place close to the train station and also close to the shops. The Telstar was perfect for both. The accommodation was lovely, tidy, warm and very very good value for money. I stayed overnight in guest houses and hotels often and I will definitely be using the Telstar again. I was in room 15 which had a massive bed and stunning full length bay windows and room was fully ensuite. This is by far one of the best places I have stayed and with the house being so quiet and warm I slept like a baby. Well done to all in the maintaince of such a lovely place.

Reviewed by
Amanda Gibbons

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great service

Reviewed by
Anastasios P

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely bed and breakfast, home cooked and sourced food, friendly staff with parking, little tight if in large vehicles but very close to town.

Reviewed by
T Ingram

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next