Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 293 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room let down by noise
In most respects I have no complaints about the accommodation and would have been very comfortable but for the noise of night time deliveries to the hotel which completely spoiled a good night. The problem started at about 3 am when what sounded like a large delivery truck arrived with much beeping as it reversed. Thereafter, for about 20 minutes, noisy trolleys were wheeled back and forth between the truck and the hotel building, immediately below the windows of a number of guest rooms, ensuring that anyone trying to sleep would be wide awake and irritated. I have mentioned this in a previous review but obviously no notice was taken of it. Surely it cannot be impossible to organise deliveries at a time when people are not trying to get some rest.

Reviewed by
Gerry H

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Air Con
Like the other two Wetherspoons Hotels I've stayed in, (Weston-S-Mare and Monmouth),
there is no air conditioning.
The rooms are lovely, but stiflingly hot.
Breathing is a chore if you don't keep the windows open, but then you have to suffer road noise.
Come on wetherspoons, sort yourselves out and become a real player in the hotel stakes.
Get Air Con and really shake up the competition.

Reviewed by
Marc W

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in minehead
Would recommend to friends

Reviewed by
Janice Paterson

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal place to stay...
Visited Minehead on business and it was a perfect place to stay. Good location, good food and very nice staff. Thoroughly recommended...

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No night service
During our second night some fool left his bath running which sent water cascading through our bathroom light! (Not the hotel's fault) However, when looking for help, apparently there is no receptionist or hotel manager after 9.00pm and it took a while before a young waiter was able to get the assistance of the bar manager. He arranged for an alternative (bigger) room and free breakfast. However, my wife got very little sleep as this room's double bed had all the springs in the mattress on her side broken. Did get discount from the hotel manager next day though. Thanks. The "fool upstairs" really spoilt our couple of days away but we will stay with Wetherspoons again.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A "well used" hotel in need of some slight cosmetic treatment. and a new lift.
Being an elderly disabled person I contacted the hotel direct after booking for two nights on line with you and was assured that my condition would be catered for. When we arrived we found we were allocated a second floor room with only a rickety chairlift from ground to first. After a problematical first night in a decent room we asked for a refund readily given and found alternative accomodation close by for the second night. The bar good and is the life and soul of the town but it needs a few bob spending on it.It should be made clear that it haas no lift and no car parking..

Reviewed by
Jim Hogan

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very easy to find, staff very polite
Happy with my over night stay

Reviewed by
Maria D

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant location for my needs
I booked the room as i had a interview with Butlins, i did call the hotel to see where the location was and it was 10 minutes up the road for Butlins, they also told me they could not beat the price i had using late rooms so i saved myself £10. it was a nice hotel staff friendly and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Jordan L

From March, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
K Burr

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initial greet friendly, shame about duty night porter
Informative friendly greet at hotel but no on site parking so recommend drop bags first and then park 5 minutes away at long stay NCP. Room ok but humid but fans were provided which helped. Room clean with good shower. Senior manager had good customer front of house skills, but his night porter could be better placed back of house away from public. It spoiled my stay at the hotel as overall it's not a bad place. Better staff would have received a better review, but I was apologised to by the manger and he assured that duty night porter incident would be addressed. I doubt I will see the matter addressed personally, but I hope other future customers are dealt with a little more respectfully as paying customers.

Reviewed by
Jim F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next