Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 282 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!!
Booked as a spur of the moment last minute decision to take the kids to butlins for the day! Googled b&b in mine head and this was only option available! Reviews looked ok so thought we'd give it a go. After a very busy & fun filled day down the road at butlins we headed to the hotel around 6pm. After a warm welcome, carted the kids & bags up 2 flights of stairs (no lift) to a clean, spacious & excellent value for money room! On a par with a Premier Inn or Travel Logde I could not fault the room for £49! Topped off with Good food & excellent service in the pub downstairs! Anyone looking for a great day out with the kids & a cheap overnight stay I would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
C Penny

From Gwent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

execellent stay
Our experience of staying at the Duke of Wellington Hotel Minehead,Somerset was very good and would recommend this hotel.we would stay again. the rooms were nice,staff very helpful and polite,meals were nice good on price as well as drinks.very nice hotel of historical charm and character enjoyed the stay

Reviewed by
David R

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Pro's: Nice hotel room, good bathroom facilities and I was pleasantly surprised to see a large and small fan were provided. Whilst I did not make use of the opportunity, I was impressed that wetherspoons food and drink could be purchased to the room.
Con's: No breakfast included in price of room, toothpaste was not provided and the room was quite costly.

Reviewed by
D Bodley

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel fantastic venue fantastic price.

Reviewed by
J Critchley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
Great location, great price, would def stay again

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
I was very impressed with my stay. The room was excellent - a good size , comfortable beds , very clean, very helpful , friendly receptionist

Reviewed by
june h

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent efficient staff food and accommodation really good value
All round good value

Reviewed by
Glyn P

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks impressive from the outside. . . .
A lovely old building that really looks impressive and inviting but once inside my heart started to sink. It just all felt a bit jaded, dull, characterless and "un-special" with long depressing corridors, locked fire doors on each level and a room with no view. At least the bed was big and comfortable(quite hard though, which suited me!) with clean sheets. The outside of the toilet was dirty and the carpet had a few bits here and there but other than that it seemed fairly clean. So if you're literally needing a bed for the night it's ok but I definitely would not stay here again- I would rather pay a bit more for somewhere nicer.
In the restaurant a had a Caesar Salad which I can honestly say was the Vilest substance I have ever willingly put in my mouth-Never again!!!!!

Reviewed by
n hedden

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Minhead
A lovely stay, nice looking room however its position right by a fire escape somewhat spoiled the view. Quite hot room too, unable to open the window far but two fans provided.

Reviewed by
H Nurse

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was one of the smaller rooms we have stayed in bigger and better rooms in this hotel

Reviewed by
thomas w

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next