Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

4

Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 106.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (307)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Lobley

  • April 2015

outstanding

having travelled extensivily over the pastfew years,both on pleasure and business I rate this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in.

The staff were very friendly and aways had a smile on their fave which was a pleasure too see. The food was good and cost was very good. Overall an outstanding break in an outstanding hotel

  • julia c

  • April 2015

No breakfast!!!!!

A Weatherspoon pub and no breakfast included in price come on.

  • T kirby

  • April 2015

night at the duke in minehead

2days before we arrived the staff gave us a call to confirm booking etc.

on arrival we were greeted by the receptionist she was very polite and gave us an upgrade. The room itself was large clean and very bright. The security into the sleeping areas was also good, a key into the hallway and a key into the room. Good tea and coffee making faculties. We had a great night and would go again.

  • Carole R

  • April 2015

WSR Spring Steam Gala

We came to Minehead for the steam gala and have done so many times before and stayed at the hotel, so we knew what the rooms were like.

We were disappointed that our room was more like a single than a double, as the bed was against a wall and there was only one bedside table and a very small shower room. My husband enquired with the reception staff if we could be moved the next day and they were so helpful and almost immediately said that we could and to pack our luggage and leave it in our room the next morning before we left the hotel. When we got back our cases were in a double sized room with a bathroom. So much nicer and comfortable. Many thanks to the reception staff, who were quick to ask if we were happy with the new arrangement.

  • D Ware

  • March 2015

Be warned!

The room was clean and comfortable, shower was excellent.

The hotel is rather old fashioned, compared to other hotels we have stayed at recently.

But be warned. We had a room at the front above the area where all the smokers congregated. The boisterous noise went on till 2am and sleep was almost impossible. Okay, we should have complained, but was too tired. When booking ask for a quiet room!!

  • Andrew Corbett

  • March 2015

OK for the price but looking very tired

Spent three nights at this hotel.

The rooms were OK for the budget price and not as small as I had expected, although as is common with budget hotels there is never anywhere it keep more than a day's worth of clothes unpacked so you tend to live out of your suitcase. The room was also VERY hot, even in a cold March. The window could only be opened for 8 inches (apparently to stop pigeons getting in???) and it took a day and a half for the room to cool down to a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was quite roomy but the shower was slightly faulty which made controlling the temperature difficult. Our room was at the top of 2 very steep flights of stairs - not recommended for those of us with dickie tickers but I'm hoping the exercise did me some good. The hotel does not have a lift but there is a stair-lift to the first floor for the disabled. Not as convenient as a lift but OK for access. The pub itself is looking very tired. Worn out carpets and furniture, and very dark in some areas. To make up for it they do have some very nice beers and the food is OK for the budget - A typical Wetherspoons. The £2.99 "Full English" breakfast is not bad value at all and will keep most going. Don't expect cordon-bleu

  • J Betteridge

  • March 2015

Street noise quite noticeable at night but otherwise reasonable value for the money.

Would stay there again

  • Violet rose N

  • March 2015

room

the room was very small

  • Phil C

  • March 2015

stay in minehead

we had a great time.

Could not fault our accommodation -thank you very much.

  • Mike A

  • March 2015

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Pub.