You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

4

Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 67.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (139)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Pickernell

  • July 2016

Exactly what we needed...

Overall happy with the 1 night stay...

Room was nice, and staff were helpful. We were really happy that 2 fans were left in the room for us, as the temperature was really hot due to the weather. The only feedback I would give is upgrading the bath facilities, quite dated and damaged.

  • N Horrell

  • July 2016

Overnight stay

Lovely clean large room.

Power shower a nice surprise and reasonably priced food available. We had lunch and breakfast and were very happy with quality quantity and price. Room great value for money close to shops seafront and not too far from butlins where we were our grandchildren. Would definitely recommend.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest, thank

you for your review. We are glad that you were happy with the quality and price and that you fo un d the food to be reasonably priced.

We look forward to welcoming your back soon

Stephen

Night Shift Leader

  • Carole B

  • June 2016

Central location

Nice big rooms, clean and comfortable with everything you need for your stay.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, And we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Night Shift Leader

  • Paul Tregillis

  • June 2016

Duke of Wellington

On the whole the room was very nice clean and tidy and spacious but the room was extremely hot (fan provided but little effect) and none of the descriptions told us about the nightclub direct underneath the hotel which until 2am you heard the bass of the speakers and people screaming and shouting very tired the next day through lack of sleep

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review,

We are glad that you found your room to be nice and clean, The building does get hot due to its stone construction which is why we provide fans in all the rooms. Our Lloyds No1 is mentioned on the website and it is open every Friday and Saturday night and is situated next to the Hotel. Next time you book please ask for a quiet room away from Lloyds No1 We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Night Shift Leader

Regards

Stephen

Night Shift Leader

  • Michelle V

  • June 2016

Cheap and cheerful

We used the hotel as we were staying in butlins that week.

It's clean and near to everything but it's also old and very noisy. Staff on reception are great bar needs to be organised better way too slow. We've booked again so overall pretty good.

  • L Fowler

  • May 2016

Not a good night!

Me and my teenage son had booked for a Saturday night.

Unfortunately the room we were allocated was directly above the smoking/drinking outside the nightclub (which isn't mentioned in the blurb!). I had to shut the window to try and reduce the noise, but as this was only single glazed it didn't do much good and only made the room hot. Everyone eventually went about 2.30am, but then there was the noise of the staff cleaning up (chairs scraping etc). I managed to get to sleep at about 3pm. NOT HAPPY. After talking to the very helpful Duty Manager I was given a 50% discount (I would rather have had a good nights sleep!). We also didn't eat here as the interior of the hotel looks nothing like the photos. It's all in need of a refurb and all looked rather tired and grubby. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in walking distance so this wasn't a problem. Apparently the nightclub is only open on a Friday/Saturday, so probably best to avoid these nights.

  • Deb G

  • May 2016

The Room with a ...

The room was lovely, large and spacious.

Big Comfortable Double bed, wish I could have used it for longer. Shame about the problem with pigeons, so windows could not be fully opened, but weather was not warm/hot enough luckily to warrant it. Everything you required was provided - The Greeting on first arriving and leaving was not the friendliest, but a cheap room for the night and just what we needed. Would happily use again and would readily recommend to friends and family.

  • B Dickson

  • May 2016

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Friendly staff value for money, nice room, only negative mattress.

Hard to sleep on, Lovely,old building, location good for shops and ect. We enjoyed Our weekend break, would book again.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review,

Sorry you found the mattress as a bit hard to sleep on, we will look into it. We are glad that you found us friendly and value for money, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Night Shift Leader

  • K Gagnon

  • May 2016

Small rooms

Rooms very small and no drawers to put anything away, if you book a single room you will get a single bed.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review,

We are sorry that you found the room a bit small, you can book a double room for one person should you wish but a single is indeed a single. Your comment on draws I have passed this to the Management team to see what we can do.

Regards

Night Shift Leader

  • M Edmonds

  • April 2016

Excellent Exmoor base

Customer service was first class and our room was very comfortable, well equipped and had a generous en-suite.

Only problem was the bank of air conditioning units at the back of the hotel which made an unacceptable volume of noise, though blessedly were turned off between about 11.00 pm and 07.15 am. Another, though fairly minor, irritant was the need to unlock the door to the corridor leading to the bedroom which led to a frequent struggle to find the right key when loaded with bags.

Breakfast was most disappointing: No continental breakfast option; far too much ice in fruit juice; a chopped up banana and half a sliced apple does not constitute fruit salad to my way of thinking; and toast was made with poor quality of bread. Fortunately the excellent town centre location of the hotel gave us access to a Costa Coffee shop across the street for a satisfactory breakfast on morning 2.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review,

The need to unlock the door to your corridor is for security and for your selves, the receptionist may be away from the desk and not see who is going upstairs, with the door locked they cannot get anywhere. In regards to breakfast I have Passed your comments to the team that deal with the menus so that they can look into it. We are glad you like our location and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Night Shift Leader