No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road, Plymouth, PL1 3LG
The BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel is a true Plymouth landmark, and provides a great base from which to explore Devon, Cornwall and the Eden Project.

The hotel's Victorian Gothic architecture sets the tone for the magnificent food, standards and service you'll find inside. While away from this wonderful building, there's plenty for families, couples and business travellers to enjoy.

Just minutes from Plymouth's historic waterfront, the hotel offers as much convenience as it does comfort. Only when you stay here will you fully appreciate the hotel's central location!

*All public areas non-smoking*
One AA rosette for fine food served in our elegant restaurant. All bedrooms individually designed. Closest hotel to cross channel Ferryport.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service and Quality
Excellent Service and Quality

Reviewed by
Darren-Jack Broad

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plymouth experience
Good comfortable hotel, will stay again.

Reviewed by
S Eames

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic accommodation
The room we were allocated was 409, it was a large twin room with a separate lounge area. It was spotless with good décor, the bathroom was a good size with shower and bath. The food in the restaurant was excellent, however the choice is not very large. The staff were great, at check-in, the bar and the restaurant, they made you feel very welcome and nothing was a problem.

Reviewed by
G Lloyd

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Duke of Cornwall hotel plymouth
Very impressive, clean hotel.

Reviewed by
Roger D

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend trip back home
Service was excellent, rooms were va,ue for money. An old hotel with original features that has been well maintained and kept up to date.
Car parking only issue as limited especially if function on when staying.

Reviewed by
John D

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact
Staff were fine, friendly and efficient, we were not expecting a massive room but it was described as superior.......well yes but no because the room 211 is very small as it is reduced by the lift.
We were only there for two nights so not a big deal, there simply isn't enough space or drawers.
If we had been staying longer storage would have been a problem, so room 211 is not for a long stay.
It can be solved easily by getting a chest of drawers into the room and standing the television on that instead of a unit designed for holding recorders and sky boxes etc which had nothing on it.

Reviewed by
J Hawke

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
A beautiful hotel, staff friendly and very helpful. Although our room was a little dated it didn't matter the views made up for it. Breakfast was excellent local and very fresh.
Ideally located to explore plymouth. Would/will book again

Reviewed by
Elaine w

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected wake up call !
Despite arranging a slightly later check out for 12 noon, as Mr partner had just come off night shift .... We were woken at just before half ten, by a maid who didnt knock ! And this was even before the normal checkout time of 11! So the catch up
Of sleep planned, was ruined entirely !! :( not impressed !!

Reviewed by
K Mayhew

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, very noisy!
The Hotel itself was lovely! The reception staff were very kind, friendly and helpful. The room we were allocated was very small, and it was right next to the lift. We had a great view of the venue (Plymouth Pavilions) across the road - perfect for our stay as we were watching a concert there. Sadly they spent nearly 3 hours after the concert packing all the equipment into the lorries out the side and this kept me awake til nearly 2am! And then at 615am this awful noise started, which sounded like a pneumatic drill!! Not the best nights sleep ... we went home more tired than we arrived

Reviewed by
Tammi C

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room/suit, very helpfull staff and the decor was very nice.
I wish there was a safe in the room, because I hate to bother stafff to open and close security boxes in the reception area etc.

Reviewed by
S Dimech

From Malta
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next