Reviews - BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel


Millbay Road, Plymouth, PL1 3LG

Price From 166.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (77)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C T

  • October 2015

BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Lovely hotel, clean and smart with character.

Very impressed.

  • Carol T

  • September 2015

Only 1 night, but great

The television didn't work, but a call to reception and the duty manager came straight up and fixed it.

Room cool (which was wonderful because they're usually too hot) and bed cosy. Amazing old place with lots of history and grandeur.

  • Paul W

  • September 2015

Room 509

We travelled to Plymouth for one night as we were going to the theatre royal.

After having seen a previous review I was a bit sceptical, as they had done exactly the same. We stayed in room 509, a superior double room, it was a lovely double room with a separate seating area, two large TV's, one in each room and a great en-suite with a bath and separate shower. It was excellent. The only downside for me was the bed was hard, but that is personal preference and no reflection on the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Rachel S

  • August 2015

Old hotel, needs some much need TLC

My husband and I recently stayed in the Best Western Duke of Cornwall whilst on holiday in Plymouth and were very disappointed.

On our first night we were woken up at 5.30am with creaking floorboards from the upstairs room. The hotel very kindly moved us to a different room, however that also had creaking floor boards and a very creaky bed, again another bad nights sleep. For a Best Western hotel we would of expected a much better standard of hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and needs some well deserved TLC to bring it back to life.

  • Gillian M

  • August 2015

Satisfied customer

My husband and I were accompanied by our son and his partner.

Both rooms were fine. Theirs in particular was excellent as it was very large. We all thought the breakfast was really good and the bed and breakfast deal was excellent value. We loved the traditional atmosphere and old fashioned sense of service. We are already talking about a return visit.

  • A Middleton

  • July 2015

Overnight in Plymouth

Staying overnight - room good but net curtains on window horrible and duvet very thin.

Bathroom very good and shower excellent. My nights sleep was severely limited due to the snoring of the guest next door..... Breakfast very good

Would come back

  • jean w

  • July 2015

excellent hotel just a shame that laterooms had photos of another hotel attached to this hotels dscriptions so thought it had a pool and gym


  • July 2015

Hopefully Fair Comment

The overall experience of staying at the hotel was very good, the location was excellent for the Hoe.

The food and service at the hotel were very good, helpful friendly staff were also an asset to the Hotel. The room we had on the 5th floor was showing its age, and the lack of a fridge and doors to the wardrobe made it seem very tacky, and not having anywhere in the bathroom to put tooth brushes etc. except over the toilet was definitely a put off. We have stayed at about 5 or 6 of the companies hotels, and this was the first that we had problems with the accommodation (not the staff the room). But even with the problems with the room we had an enjoyable time there.

  • Robert B

  • July 2015

Faded Grandeur

Fine old hotel, but scrubbing the front steps would improve first impression.

Worst pillows I've ever had in an hotel. For elegant but portions tiny.

  • Sarah B

  • June 2015

Plymouth vacation

The room was spacious and clean.

The windows need replacing, but if not that then at least mended and painted.