You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

3

Millbay Road, Plymouth, PL1 3LG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Matthews

  • July 2016

Duke of Cornwall

Our room had significant damp patches especially in the bathroom - the walls between rooms were thin with all parties being able to hear and almost partake in one another's conversations

  • A Hickey

  • June 2016

BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

pleasant clean friendly hotel.

  • Laura D

  • May 2016

Lovely hotel but could do a bit more to impress

Was really impressed by the grandeur of the hotel on its website and when arriving.

We were staying to attend an event and a romantic night away, so we were slightly disappointed that our bottle of prosecco wasn't waiting for us as requested. It also took thre attempts to get through to reception to have it brought up. We also felt the room could have done with sprucing up,particularly as it was a superior room- perhaps some cushions on the armchairs and a bedspread. So unfortunately we didn't feel it was worth the £117; but nonetheless the cooked breakfast was very nice and you really got a sense of the old world charm of the building; the staff were also very polite and friendly. Just one final point-There were window boxes outside that were a bit of a disappointment as they were pretty much unplanted. At this time of the year these really could have been cascading with flowers to create the wow factor and curb appeal. We therefore thought, the hotel had so much potential, but just didn't quite hit the mark I'm afraid.

  • toby f

  • December 2015

room size

very small for the price charged

  • C T

  • October 2015

BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Lovely hotel, clean and smart with character.

Very impressed.

  • Carol T

  • September 2015

Only 1 night, but great

The television didn't work, but a call to reception and the duty manager came straight up and fixed it.

Room cool (which was wonderful because they're usually too hot) and bed cosy. Amazing old place with lots of history and grandeur.

  • Paul W

  • September 2015

Room 509

We travelled to Plymouth for one night as we were going to the theatre royal.

After having seen a previous review I was a bit sceptical, as they had done exactly the same. We stayed in room 509, a superior double room, it was a lovely double room with a separate seating area, two large TV's, one in each room and a great en-suite with a bath and separate shower. It was excellent. The only downside for me was the bed was hard, but that is personal preference and no reflection on the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Rachel S

  • August 2015

Old hotel, needs some much need TLC

My husband and I recently stayed in the Best Western Duke of Cornwall whilst on holiday in Plymouth and were very disappointed.

On our first night we were woken up at 5.30am with creaking floorboards from the upstairs room. The hotel very kindly moved us to a different room, however that also had creaking floor boards and a very creaky bed, again another bad nights sleep. For a Best Western hotel we would of expected a much better standard of hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and needs some well deserved TLC to bring it back to life.

  • Gillian M

  • August 2015

Satisfied customer

My husband and I were accompanied by our son and his partner.

Both rooms were fine. Theirs in particular was excellent as it was very large. We all thought the breakfast was really good and the bed and breakfast deal was excellent value. We loved the traditional atmosphere and old fashioned sense of service. We are already talking about a return visit.

  • A Middleton

  • July 2015

Overnight in Plymouth

Staying overnight - room good but net curtains on window horrible and duvet very thin.

Bathroom very good and shower excellent. My nights sleep was severely limited due to the snoring of the guest next door..... Breakfast very good

Would come back