No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Millbay Road, Plymouth, PL1 3LG
The BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel is a true Plymouth landmark, and provides a great base from which to explore Devon, Cornwall and the Eden Project.

The hotel's Victorian Gothic architecture sets the tone for the magnificent food, standards and service you'll find inside. While away from this wonderful building, there's plenty for families, couples and business travellers to enjoy.

Just minutes from Plymouth's historic waterfront, the hotel offers as much convenience as it does comfort. Only when you stay here will you fully appreciate the hotel's central location!

*All public areas non-smoking*
One AA rosette for fine food served in our elegant restaurant. All bedrooms individually designed. Closest hotel to cross channel Ferryport.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Comfortable, clean and spacious accommodation. Well situated for centre and theatres. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Cockle

From Martock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
stayed here for 2 nights for the british firework championship, good central position, nice room but a bit dark as fire escape was right outside our window but nice bright bathroom. lovely breakfast and catered well for gluten free diet. this is second time we have stayed here and would do so again.

Reviewed by
anne paddon

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise--no double glazing
The hotel is a bit tired and dated , our room 101 was on the front, there was no double glazing and the road outside was very busy so there was a lot of traffic noise, the room was quite warm and having the window open was not an option. We would not stay again but would recommend with a reservation.

Reviewed by
John E

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
bedroom was spacious, clean and tidy. could look at updating shower. hotel itself is kept in an immaculate condition, keeping its traditional appearance

Reviewed by
leighton j

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable weekend
We had a lovely room with view over the city, which was very clean and comfortable.
We liked the table service and the freshly cook breakfast.

Reviewed by
j Hankins

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Much Help
The room was perfectly satisfactory - reminiscent of 1940s furnishing - but quiet and comfortable. What let the Hotel down was when I went down to Reception in the evening to ask for train times from Plymouth to London the following morning, and was told that they did not have these. I asked if they could phone the station and enquire about the times and was told that they were too busy doing their hotel paperwork.
To save on a £10 return taxi fare I walked to the station the next morning and found out the departures I needed. On my return we were charged £21 for two 'continental' breakfasts of toast and coffee!

Reviewed by
Michael Joyce

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced for quality of room. furniture was very dated, sort of stuff you would find in a cotractors bed and breakfast. Really not what I expected. Veiw was good and room was clean.

Reviewed by
rob b

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic hotel
Imposing hotel with good food and friendly staff. Bed a bit bouncy but otherwise fine for short stay - oh and if you need one, take a hair dryer with you!

Reviewed by
Judy P

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Our experience was outstanding. Everything we could have wished for, exemplary service and the breakfast was superb. We have recommend this particular hotel to friends and family as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah-Jane Senese

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay and lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew Bryant

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next