No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Royale Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
32 High West Street , Dorchester, DT1 1UP
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break. The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.

Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested. All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with "home away from home" comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome.

The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.
Picture of Wessex Royale Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Nice stay with friendly staff, breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
D Carter

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
What a joke. Not enough room to park in the car park so I had to park on the road. The receptionist informed me that if I put a ticket on the car over night it would be fine for the Sunday morning, only to find a £50 ticket on my windscreen on Sunday morning. What a joke. Sort the parking out or offer alternative parking elsewhere.

Reviewed by
W Maslin

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay.
Cosy hotel in centre of town, with very pleasant and helpful staff. Was able to park opposite (free on Sunday).

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
The staff were very friendly, and very helpful. It was a shame that we were only staying one night. Our only criticism was about the food - once again somewhere that had too much choice on the menu, which means the chef wasn't able to concentrate on getting fewer dishes just right!

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was an overnight stop over that was so pleasant we want to visit again. The staff were courteous and very friendly and the room was delightful

Reviewed by
Colin James

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend stay
Our 2 criterea when booking a hotel are, parking and dinner. On our first night the car park was full, on the second night the restaraunt was closed. The receptionist recomended I park in the council car park a few minutes away for free until Monday. We booked a dinner for Saturday but were told that we would have to eat out on Sunday. There is no mention on the web page in fact it gives the dinner times for Sunday. The bed room was large, comfortable and clean. Being on the front is was noisy especially on Monday morning with trafic starting before 6 am. The staff were very helpfull and knowledgable especially in the dining room. The shower, despite what other comments say, was hot and controllable. The dinner we had and both breakfasts were excellent.

Reviewed by
john allaway

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel very clean and excellent breakfast,
Small room at top of hotel in the loft area with no view

Reviewed by
Neil L

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eat well
Parking at a premium, get in early as tight and few spaces,although public parking not too far away.
Walls a bit thin, dont snore or speak too loudly....
Food and staff outstanding

Reviewed by
A Goldsworthy

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend
We were a party of four. We found the hotel staff were to be very friendly and very accommodating. The cleanliness of the room was also excellent. We only had breakfast, with all of us having a very well prepared and well cooked full English. The service again was of a high standard making our short stay in Dorchester a very pleasant one and all of us would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
G Wilkinson

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 1 night stay
Lovely place to stay, tastefully decorated bedroom. All staff very friendly. Had an evening meal
which was quite nice and a good cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
t clark

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next