Wessex Royale Hotel

3

32 High West Street, Dorchester, DT1 1UP

Price From 142.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Hodges

  • May 2015

Good location and friendly staff

The reception staff were welcoming and very helpful.

I would suggest that a closer watch is kept housekeeping. The king-sized bed had a double bed sheet was didn't stay on the mattress whilst we slept and the bathroom bin hadn't been emptied. Minor points but these marred what otherwise would have been a perfect score.

  • Graham C

  • April 2015

Accommodation suitable for requirements and well serviced.

Staff were efficient and friendly making a short stay very enjoyable.

  • April S

  • April 2015

Broken lightbulb in bedside lamp with wires hanging out, biscuit wrappers behind bedside table, sticky marks on table, no welcome/information folder in room, very uncomfortable bed you could feel the springs, cold showers on both days, very noisy room, could hear everything from next door room.

  • Ian Digby

  • February 2015

lovely hotel

This hotel is good value for money and very clean.

Friendly staff good service and i will be staying again.

  • PETER H

  • December 2014

GOOD FRIENDLY HOTEL AND VERY GOoD VALUE FOR MONEY

Found the Wessex Royal Hotel to be perfectly placed in the centre of Dorchester.

It's an old builing with plenty of character, very clean and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.The room was

comfortable with all the facilities I would have expected. The breakfast was great and the hotel price was very competitive. I would most certainly book to stay there agin

  • Rae N

  • December 2014

Lovely Hotel

Wessex Royal Hotel is ideally situated with the centre of Dorchester within easy walking distance.

Others have commented on the restricted parking but when we arrived at aprox 4pm, there were spaces available. I had booked a Deluxe room and we were upgraded to a Fourposter. What a delightful room, It made my partners evening complete. The room had everything we wanted, unfortunately we did not have the time to luxuriate in this very spacious and comfortable room. I cannot comment on the quality of the evening meal as we had prior commitments but the hotel dining room was fairly well utilised and there was a christmas party in another area. The breakfasts were very good, a help yourself buffet for cereals, fruit, etc and main dishes cooked to order. Ours were cooked perfectly using mainly local ingredients and were delicious. The hotel was spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. I look forward to returning here the next time I visit Dorchester.

  • T Thompson

  • December 2014

Wessex Royale Hotel

lovely hotel.

  • V Rowe

  • December 2014

Disappointing room

Welcome, service and breakfast very good but room pokey- too small for two, too hot and no window would open.

Looked out onto fire escape and could hear the chef getting ready from 6 am. Room price was a 'special offer' but that shouldn't mean you get the smallest and poorest room in the hotel. I was working and needed a good night's sleep which I didn't get. Disappointing.

  • Stuart B

  • November 2014

A very nice stay

We only stayed the one night but it was very nice.

The hotel was very tastefully decorated and our room was very spacious. The staff were very helpfull and attentive, only had breakfast which was very nice. Both of us had the full English.

  • W Maslin

  • November 2014

Parking

What a joke.

Not enough room to park in the car park so I had to park on the road. The receptionist informed me that if I put a ticket on the car over night it would be fine for the Sunday morning, only to find a £50 ticket on my windscreen on Sunday morning. What a joke. Sort the parking out or offer alternative parking elsewhere.