You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Wessex Royale Hotel


32 High West Street, Dorchester, DT1 1UP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Garside

  • September 2016

Wessex Royale Hotel

Good central location for town and surrounding attractions

  • Philip V

  • August 2016


Noisy room, dated interior in a poor quality conversion

  • Julie M

  • April 2016


The hotel service was great until check and they tried to take money from a card when in fact told i had cash.

And no notes had been left. The room was ok apart from noisey people in the next suite. And shower curtain smelt fusty.

  • John W

  • February 2016


Hotel is very conveniently located.

Very comfortable room, full of charcter. Excellent breakfast.

  • Alun R

  • February 2016

Nice hotel in centre of town

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were very friendly & helpful.

Two slight downsides, we stayed on a Monday & Tuesday breakfast was only 7-9 am. we were on a relaxing break so that was too early for us. Also the shower wasn't very good, hardly any pressure. but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • C Jones

  • February 2016

Wessex Royale Hotel


  • S ELD

  • December 2015

Being a blue badge holder I was promised a car space but none was available - my husband had to drop me and search around the town for a car park.

We found a space the 2nd night. I was told this shouldn't have happened and wouldn't in future. I managed the stairs - just but the shower was over the bath and I couldn't manage that - disappointing. Breakfast was really nice and all staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. I would give this hotel 1 more chance.

  • Stephen Booth

  • December 2015


Very helpful,bed was most comfortable

  • J E

  • November 2015

Friendly and nice place but room was noisy

The staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

The main problem was that the corridor outside the room was very noisy so I was woken up a few times during the night by people walking along it.

  • sarah w

  • October 2015

Ideal location to explore Dorchester

Exceptional breakfast after a good night's sleep.

Lovely room overlooking front of hotel. Some noise from street but understandable as busy road. Free parking onsite. Good quality room. Would recommend the Thai restaurant 2 doors away.