Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Uffculme Hotels > Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Uffculme , Cullompton , EX15 3ES
The Waterloo Cross is a rural inn, located away from the main town and perfect for visiting the local attractions which include Sheppy`s Cider Farm, Diggerland and the Donkey Sanctuary. The quaint town of Cullompton is a few miles away and the Blackdown Hills offer some beautiful walks for those who enjoy the outdoor life. A charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms, offering generous lounge, dining and drinking areas, both inside and out. Situated on the Devon/Somerset border the Waterloo Cross is the perfect location to relax and unwind. Just five minutes from the M5, it is most conveniently positioned to enjoy exploring these picturesque counties. Enjoy one of our mouth-watering freshly, prepared meals in the intimate restaurant, or if you prefer a more relaxed environment, the bar also serves an extensive snack menu and some of the finest cask ales ever tasted. Find us: At Junction 27 of the M5 take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstable. At the roundabout take the first exit onto A38 heading to Wellington/B3181/Uffculme.
Picture of Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns, Cullompton  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff
We had a few problems when we arrived but the staff were great and helped to sort us out in every way they could. We could not have wished for a more friendly or helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Jean H

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom so small you couldn't sit straight on the loo. How someone over 6 foot would manage I don't know !!!

Reviewed by
William O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I've stayed here soo many times now, it has to be the nicest hotel in somerset for the price range, so clean and friendly, really modern, comfy bed, there's nothing bad about this place, I will continue to stay here when I'm around this area

Reviewed by
R Arthur

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break, excellent value!
We stayed for one night, a Saturday, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and spacious and there were even 2 bottles of mineral water waiting for us! Very comfortable and warm. Super breakfast with great service. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
L Sumner

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This was a great place to stay en route to Cornwall. The rooms are independent of the hotel and are private and the one we had was quiet. We didn't hear our neighbours which is always a plus! The staff were friendly and the food was good. We had b and b, and an evening meal in the pub; all for less than £50!!

Reviewed by
yvonne h

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
This was our 4th or 5th stay at Waterloo Cross. We arrived on Saturday, to discover our room hadn't been made up. Everyone was very apologetic and quickly sorted a new room for us. They moved us again when we had lost our room key as they didn't have a spare. (However, we were able to retrieve the key from a supermarket and return it, so are not too embarrassed to stay there again.) The food is always very reasonable, and the young staff always very helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison R

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and clean good value hotel

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Leyland, England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money for a budget hotel
For the price of a Travelodge, the Waterloo Cross delivered so much more. Very spacious room with shower room. Bottled water a nice touch as well as usual tea making facilities. Restaurant good for young children. Good children's menu and drawing materials. Highly recommended for travelling with children. Very friendly.

Reviewed by
Maria H

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterloo Cross Hotel, Cullompton
We couldn't fault our stay at The Waterloo Cross. Large well equipped room (number 9). Comfy bed. Helpful staff. Meals served all day. Don't have to vacate room till 11am. Large car park.

Reviewed by
Graham Davenport

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value stay
Only down side was that the shower had some mould in the grout & the heater didn't have a thermostat, so was either too hot or too cold.
Apart from that we both had a very comfortable stay & food was excellent.

Reviewed by
K Wood

From Torquay, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next