Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Uffculme Hotels > Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Uffculme , Cullompton , EX15 3ES
The Waterloo Cross is a rural inn, located away from the main town and perfect for visiting the local attractions which include Sheppy`s Cider Farm, Diggerland and the Donkey Sanctuary. The quaint town of Cullompton is a few miles away and the Blackdown Hills offer some beautiful walks for those who enjoy the outdoor life. A charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms, offering generous lounge, dining and drinking areas, both inside and out. Situated on the Devon/Somerset border the Waterloo Cross is the perfect location to relax and unwind. Just five minutes from the M5, it is most conveniently positioned to enjoy exploring these picturesque counties. Enjoy one of our mouth-watering freshly, prepared meals in the intimate restaurant, or if you prefer a more relaxed environment, the bar also serves an extensive snack menu and some of the finest cask ales ever tasted. Find us: At Junction 27 of the M5 take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstable. At the roundabout take the first exit onto A38 heading to Wellington/B3181/Uffculme.
Picture of Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns, Cullompton  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnight stay perfect location
just perfect all the staff were very nice and helpful, our room was spacious and warm, breakfast was lovely. we also had an evening meal which was lovely too. we hope to return in the future as our stay was faultless.

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed this time
This is a hotel we have stayed at previously both individually and as a couple and as a family. On all other occasions, we have been satisfied with the standard of the accommodation and the food. This time, the food was ok but, we were really disappointed with the room which, looked very tired, it was initially cold and the bathroom was extremely disappointing. This did not make for the best of stays and probably means we will think twice before we stay there again which, is a bit of a shame because the location of the place is excellent in it's proximity to the motorway.

Reviewed by
Gary Kent

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
I can wholeheartedly recommend a stay at the waterloo cross. The food was delicious and highly recommended. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. Only slight blots on an excellent stay were the low level of lighting in the room,( I had a lot of paperwork to complete ) and no real bar area where you could just sit and have a drink. In the summer you could sit outside but in this weather there's only really seating for food.

Reviewed by
B Taylor

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome
Room and facilities excellent. Customer service excellent with very helpful and cheerful staff. Food in the bar very good. All in all a very good experience,

Reviewed by
David B

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
This was a great find and the staff were really friendly and happy to be there we had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent.

Reviewed by
sally j

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Very friendly staff. Excellentvalue for moneey. Great food. Highly recommended,.

Reviewed by
K Gibbs

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy access to the motorway
Bearing in mind that our stay was at the peak holiday period we could not fault the accommodation or the service from the excellent staff

Reviewed by
J Grant

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation
Very nice room and pleasant surroundings. Only negative comment I would make is that the room has a glass door and the blind is opaque so early morning sun really shows through.

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunshine Break Away
Accommodation was ok , don't see why Fri, sat is more expensive to stay here !! Was expensive for a very basic room and the only complimentary item was water !!! Towels were not changed throughout our stay , dusty in places and no welcome pack . And if you came back later no external light to see to put the key in the door !!

Reviewed by
zoe demosthenous

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient overnight stop
We expected a country pub but it was more like a motel. Although the room was large (room 3) it had no character and was gloomy and unwelcoming. Small high set windows overlooked roof tiles from main building. Bed was comfortable though. Rooms are to the side of the main building meaning a walk through the external area (where smokers congregate) and along a narrow passageway. Bathroom modern and at first glance clean but inside shower was black mould. Also, flush button missing from loo making it difficult to operate.
Average pub food in evening and breakfast was quite nice, although we had to wait for some time before being served as there seemed to be a shortage of staff.
Having said all that it was reasonably priced and very convenient for M5 and overnight stop to Cornwall.

Reviewed by
SHEILA C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next