Reviews - The White Horse Inn


The White Horse Inn Compton Bassett, Calne, SN11 8RG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (56)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen M

  • October 2015

Lovely old pub with excellent food and good rooms

A very warm welcome when we arrived, pleasant room, excellent food and all we h ad hoped for.

Strongly recommended.

  • Andrew H

  • September 2015


What a fantastic place.

Beautiful little village and very quiet. The room was great, well equipped and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food was exceptional. We stayed for dinner and the meal was fantastic and good value. Unfussy service made it even better in my opinion. This is a great place to stay, I'd definitely return.

  • Mark I

  • August 2015

Wonderful room in a very peaceful and picturesque setting.

Staff were very friendly & accommodating

  • Vivienne G

  • August 2015

Elegant and friendly

Very tastefully arranged.

Helpful and attentive reception. Lovely situation.

  • David M

  • July 2015

Lovely place to stay

Really enjoyed the location and setting.

The food was excellent and the staff super friendly.

  • ALEX B

  • July 2015

A great find.

Found this pub purely by chance, as was attending the International Air Tattoo and all the accommodation closer to that was booked up.

We stayed for one night, great welcome from the staff. Room was excellent, food was marvellous, though not cheap, but was all home cooked.

  • Sharon S

  • July 2015

Superb stay

What a wonderful stay.

The welcome, the room, the food, all were exceptional. We had pre-booked a table in the restaurant (recommended) where the food was delicious, as was breakfast the next morning (local, high-quality ingredients superbly prepared). The room was characterful, the bed really comfortable and all the attention to detail made it a wonderful stay. I can't rate it highly enough.

  • M Skinner

  • July 2015


Friendly welcome a fantastic room, very clean and very comfortable and good beer, what more could a chap want.

Food in the restaurant was excellent but just watch the prices; my food was too good and I spent way to much. All-in-all I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • g harris

  • June 2015

White Horse Inn, Calne

great location, lovely pub and staff

  • E Cambridge

  • May 2015

Lovely peaceful setting, fantastic food

We stayed for 2 nights to be in the area for a family party.

The room was clean, warm, stocked with everything we needed (including some yummy crisps) and looked out onto their animals - sheep, pigs and geese. The bed was particularly comfortable and the location was very quiet which meant we had a really good nights sleep. Breakfast was a good selection of continental and cooked, definitely set us up well for the days. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food deserves a special mention. The service was very efficient and our meals were amazing, we managed 3 courses each and couldn't fault any of them. We have now stayed here (and eaten) twice and wouldn't hesitate to book again.