No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wood Lodge Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
10 Manor Road, East Cliff, , Bournemouth, BH1 3EY
Relax and unwind in elegant comfortable surroundings, letting your affable hosts provide you with all you require to ensure a truly wonderful stay. This rare gem of a hotel offers the distinctive appeal of a country manor house in the heart of one of the South’s most popular resorts. Whether you are in town for business, a short break, or a longer holiday, Wood Lodge is your ideal base. Our principle aim is to make sure every one of our guests feels well looked after and comfortable. Enjoy a drink in our cosy bar, relax in our 2 spacious lounges, watch TV on the 42" screen, play pool or darts, or simply take the time to sit and read, enjoying the warm peaceful atmosphere here. We have fifteen bedrooms, ranging from singles, large family rooms and a beautiful romantic deluxe bedroom, with 4 poster Jacobean style mahogany king-size bed. We offer a wide range of breakfasts, from Full English to Continental, pancakes, and smoked haddock. Breakfast is served in our elegant dining room overlooking our lovely back garden. Just 2 minutes walk to the clifftop, and 5 minutes to the beach. A 15 minutes walk along the promenade, the clifftop, or through the town itself, takes you to The Square in the centre of town. We are just 2 minutes in a taxi from Bournemouth Travel Interchange (the main coach and rail station), and 10-15 minutes drive from Bournemouth International Airport. Easy to visit from here are so many attractions... Poole quay, the harbour, and Brownsea Island, the New Forest, Beaulieu, Christchurch Priory, Christchurch Ski Centre, the Oceanarium, Monkey World, Lulworth Castle, the list is endless. Wood Lodge is a rare gem in amongst so many large chain hotels. It is a home from home for many guests, a place to feel comfortable and important. Please be aware when booking that although we warmly welcome every type of person, we do not accept groups under the age of 30 Lastly the prices online DO NOT INCLUDE breakfast, but it is bookable.
Picture of Wood Lodge Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay, March 2014
Room large, clean and comfortable, Perfect for our short stay needs. Ideal location. Only let down was a poor en-suite shower...... water flow rather feeble. Otherwise no complaints.

Reviewed by
A Sanders

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
A nice friendly atmosphere, ample sized room, clean & well furnished.
I would recommend & definitely look to stay here again - great location, short walk from the beach via a cliff path or 10 min walk to town centre

Reviewed by
Keith Saunders

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When stand at the door it immediately felt like someone's home. It was comfortable and the double bed was out of this world it was difficult to want to get up in th morning. But when we did the good was worth it. And not badly priced. I would re book again for more nights.

Reviewed by
H Lambourne

From Kidlington, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for East Cliff
An enjoyable one night stay in this lovely guest house close to East Cliff. The staff are friendly and helpful and accommodation is good.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Newnham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel will stay again.
Well on arrival we were impressed with the b&b, we were met by the owner, very nice gent, who showed us to our room, those who have made comments about squeky floor boards, this is a character house and any house I have visited of this age will have the odd squeak, so you guys get a life. Anyway back to the house, it is very large and very well kept, the lounge areas and bar are very pleasant, the restaurant is pleasant too, we had the lux room which was very well priced for one nite and was lovely inside, nice four poster, room was great. if there was any niggle, it would be the lack of shower, it does have one but attached to the taps so a bit tricky to keep the right temp wilst in there, but on saying that it really is no hardship for the odd nite. Breakfast was good and well priced too, I have stayed in quite a few hotels in my time and I would def put this one in the top 5. If you choose this you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
andy h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all round excellent..if i had to make a necative comment it would be the choice of menue...if your there 3 nights you can run out of choice.not good

Reviewed by
philip g

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't believe it's a four star room - peeling wallpaper and damp!
recently stayed at Wood Lodge in Bournemouth, booked via Late Rooms. I've stayed in quite a few hotels both on leisure and with work and I was shocked and disappointed with what I found there.

The hotel was listed as four star, so we didn't expect what we found when we got to the room.

The wall paper was peeling off, the coving was cracked, there was damp coming down from the ceiling down the walls.

On top of that we were told it was an en suite, it was a cupboard with a toilet and a stand up shower. The sink was actually in the bedroom and the toilet had black damp spots all over the wall top and ceiling. Even the hook on the back of the door was broken.

The bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the breakfast was the cheapest, nastiest ingredients.( It was so bad we only had it once, even though we stopped for two nights. We went in search of a breakfast on Bank Holiday Monday and found a lovely place called Café Boscanova).

The hotels was evidently full so we couldn't move rooms. However, when I raised this with the staff member/manager/owner ( I am not sure of his position or even his name) he said that the room was admittedly dated. I told him dated wasn't the issue but the state of disrepair was an issue and as this was our family break away it had been truly disappointing and upsetting. At this he waived the breakfast charge.

To pay £130 a night for a room in such condition is shocking and appalling

Reviewed by
Pamela N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
The bedroom could have done with a facelift. Ihave a back problem and struggled to climb over the bath to enable me to have a shower. The shower was quite dangerous as there was no thermostat and the hot water was very hot,and difficult to control,also the pressure seemed very low. The owner was very friendly and helpful with our two year old grandson.

Reviewed by
angela shenstone

From ATLESBURY, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed dtay
Stayed for weekend ,,, staff very friendly , room small but good and clean ,,, breakfast was very good ,,, would stay again

Reviewed by
Darren N

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Having left booking a little late we found all the larger hotels were fully booked. So we looked on late rooms and found Wood Lodge, the reviews were fair and we got what we were expecting. Upon arrival the building looked well kept and had nice gardens to the front and rear. We were given a warm welcome and the lady who spoke to us showed us where everything was and what time the bar opened and what time breakfast was served, I showed her my booking form and said that we had booked bed and breakfast and she said 'yes that is fine' and she didn't need to take the booking form. The downstairs areas were all clean and tidy and were very well looked after. We stayed in room 8, it had a lot of wardrobes in it!! and a double bed with two single beds for the children. There was a sink in the room, a small separate shower room with toilet. The shower was a trickle and the cold tap had hot water and the hot tap had scalding water (not good with small children) be aware of this. The sockets were overloaded with double plugs and extension cables, and the 3 very large wardrobes were not attached to the wall and looked a little unstable to say the least. The beds felt like you were sleeping on cobble stones, very lumpy and uncomfortable. One of the children's beds had a massive stain on the valance, which was either water or something similar? There was also a large amount of phlegm on the wall behind one of the children's beds which I guess someone coughed up and didn't bother to use a tissue. Both Issues were dealt with and an apology given, but the over all cleanliness of the bedroom would be a 1 as there was lots of dust and small flies in the bathroom and on the window sill which could have done with a lick of paint.
The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant area was lovely and clean and overlooked a nice garden which was used for sitting and having a drink in, however again the little bits for the children were covered in bird poo, (attention to detail).
On the day of departure we went to settle the bill, only to be told we had to pay for breakfast??? I had read this in others reports which was why i reiterated this on my arrival. I queried this and the owner Rob said he would take the Fri and sat off but the Sunday was not included in the deal we had booked so we would have to pay for this?? clearly there is some confusion over what is and what isn't included as when I booked with late rooms it said bed and breakfast?? So if you want somewhere to stay and there are no alternatives then this is ok if you don't mind the above said things..

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next