No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The New Inn, , , Halse, TA4 3AF
At the New Inn, a stunning country inn nestled between the Quantock Hills and Exmoor National Park, a warm welcome awaits. Roaring log fires all through winter and a sunny beer garden to be enjoyed all summer. The new inn is perfect for all types of patron, from the business person to the couple looking for a romantic weekend getaway or for a family looking to escape during the summers break. We serve food 7 nights a week in the bar from our rustic menu as well as serving a more sophisticated style of cuisine that would tempt even the most discerning palate in our romantic candlelit restaurant. Great Wines, four real ales from within a mile of the inn as well as some great local cider!
Picture of New Inn, Halse at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Inn old world charm
The New Inn Halse offers a friendly welcome to everyone with a cosy bar, complete with deep cushioned sofas and a log fire (when the weather is cold) where you can stretch out and enjoy your favourite tipple. New visitors are made to feel just as welcome as the many regulars, and their dogs, in this traditional village inn. The menu for evening meals is an interesting one with lots of traditional British favourites and innovative Mediterranean and Eastern variations. The staff are keen to promote their menu so don’t hesitate to ask about the ingredients and style of cooking, or ask for a recommendation we did and were not disappointed with either the King Prawn and Chorizo risotto or the wine to accompany it. Then after a long day on Exmoor feeling contented and relaxed, without the need to drive, we retired to a comfortable bed in a cosy room, with all the basic facilities, for a quiet night (after last orders). Breakfast was cooked to order with cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast etc available to serve yourself, which meant that we only needed a light snack at lunch time.

Reviewed by
D Carrick

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unassuming find.
Very quiet and tucked away location. Good beer. Friendly staff. A comfortable room with a nice shower. Great food including an impressive breakfast. What more could you want.

Reviewed by
Colin C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Inn in a lovely location.
Really cant find fault this Inn. Staff courteous and friendly. Room very clean and food lovely.
A beautiful Pub in a lovely village

Reviewed by
Charles Todd

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food Excellent, room good...
Clean, tidy room, a little smaller than I had thought it would be. Everything worked - kettle, lights, shower etc. Milk cartons were 2 and 3 months out of date but were ok. Food and service in the restaurant was excellent as was beer and bar and breakfast in the morning. The room felt a little grubby round the edges (cobwebs, crumbs etc) but the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V friendly, good food. Towels were a bit old and threadbare and room overall could do with updating but clean and relatively comfortable.

Reviewed by
Michele O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend at the new inn Halse
this is the fifth time we have stayed at this pub the food as always was excellent,
however the condition of the rooms has deteriorated since our first visit and we now feel the need to comment on them .The room we stayed in needed painting and the bedding looked tired and in need of replacement ,the curtains had rings missing and looked shabby.
The shower room /toilet had a blackened ceiling in the shower cubicle and the shelf that should be above the sink was on the floor.
For the money we payed this is unacceptable and will not be returning next year which is a shame as otherwise it is a nice local inn with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
stephen m

From Hayle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome with excellent food
A real Inn with a friendly welcome, a selection of beers,cider and wine with excellent food and a great breakfast to set you on the way.

Reviewed by
mark s

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbeatable. Excellant value for money
Had a wonderful stay. The New Inn is full of character and the food was fantastic. The evening meal was wonderful and excellant value. Service with a smile and nothing was to much trouble. Definately worth another visit.

Reviewed by
Kim W

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Inn Halse
Very comfortable one night stay. Fantastic full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly B&B
We stayed at the New Inn following a day trip out on the GWR, the owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and tidy and breakfast was more than adequate. We stayed at the inn for our evening meal and both the food and the service was excellent. I heartily recommend this as a cheap, clean and comfortable overnight or weekend lodging for anyone.

Reviewed by
V Murray

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next