New Inn

4

The New Inn, ,, Halse, TA4 3AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Julia C

  • September 2014

Stopover in Halse

The New Inn provided a welcoming and comfortable overnight stay, and a delicious evening meal in relaxing and convivial surroundings.

It was just what we needed after a long journey. Breakfast did not match the standard of the evening meal however, and the mattresses were a bit soft and the water temperature in the bathroom a bit erratic. However, Halse is a delightful village and the New Inn was a very friendly venue.

  • D Carrick

  • August 2014

New Inn old world charm

The New Inn Halse offers a friendly welcome to everyone with a cosy bar, complete with deep cushioned sofas and a log fire (when the weather is cold) where you can stretch out and enjoy your favourite tipple.

New visitors are made to feel just as welcome as the many regulars, and their dogs, in this traditional village inn. The menu for evening meals is an interesting one with lots of traditional British favourites and innovative Mediterranean and Eastern variations. The staff are keen to promote their menu so don’t hesitate to ask about the ingredients and style of cooking, or ask for a recommendation we did and were not disappointed with either the King Prawn and Chorizo risotto or the wine to accompany it. Then after a long day on Exmoor feeling contented and relaxed, without the need to drive, we retired to a comfortable bed in a cosy room, with all the basic facilities, for a quiet night (after last orders). Breakfast was cooked to order with cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast etc available to serve yourself, which meant that we only needed a light snack at lunch time.

  • Colin C

  • August 2014

Unassuming find.

Very quiet and tucked away location.

Good beer. Friendly staff. A comfortable room with a nice shower. Great food including an impressive breakfast. What more could you want.

  • Charles Todd

  • June 2014

Lovely Inn in a lovely location.

Really cant find fault this Inn.

Staff courteous and friendly. Room very clean and food lovely. A beautiful Pub in a lovely village

  • Chris H

  • April 2014

Food Excellent, room good...

Clean, tidy room, a little smaller than I had thought it would be.

Everything worked - kettle, lights, shower etc. Milk cartons were 2 and 3 months out of date but were ok. Food and service in the restaurant was excellent as was beer and bar and breakfast in the morning. The room felt a little grubby round the edges (cobwebs, crumbs etc) but the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Recommended.

  • Michele O

  • April 2014

V friendly, good food.

Towels were a bit old and threadbare and room overall could do with updating but clean and relatively comfortable.

  • stephen m

  • October 2013

weekend at the new inn Halse

this is the fifth time we have stayed at this pub the food as always was excellent, however the condition of the rooms has deteriorated since our first visit and we now feel the need to comment on them .The room we stayed in needed painting and the bedding looked tired and in need of replacement ,the curtains had rings missing and looked shabby.

The shower room /toilet had a blackened ceiling in the shower cubicle and the shelf that should be above the sink was on the floor. For the money we payed this is unacceptable and will not be returning next year which is a shame as otherwise it is a nice local inn with friendly staff.

  • Kim W

  • September 2013

Unbeatable. Excellant value for money

Had a wonderful stay.

The New Inn is full of character and the food was fantastic. The evening meal was wonderful and excellant value. Service with a smile and nothing was to much trouble. Definately worth another visit.

  • mark s

  • September 2013

Friendly welcome with excellent food

A real Inn with a friendly welcome, a selection of beers,cider and wine with excellent food and a great breakfast to set you on the way.

  • Patricia S

  • August 2013

New Inn Halse

Very comfortable one night stay.

Fantastic full English breakfast.